We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Christmas Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake Okanagan Resort
Ranked #31 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Christmas Getaway”
Reviewed 20 December 2011

We stayed for a night in the Pointe Beach Villas. Beautiful, clean, spacious room. Gorgeous view of the lake. Dinner was delicious and the employees were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kelownafan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOS001, Director of Sales at Lake Okanagan Resort, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Thank you so much for the compliments on the resort and the staff!! We are working hard on our customer service, guest suite management and improving the resort all around, so we appreciate hearing the positives.

We wish you a wonderful New Year and hope you will join us again soon.

Best Regards,

Barb Douglas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    88
    73
    84
    89
See reviews for
158
130
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

I recently stayed in the three bedroom suites at Lake Okanagan Resort and didn't want to leave. The rooms were beautiful and very open. Each bedroom had a personal bathroom, the kitchen and sitting area was large enough to host a small party, and the view was amazing. We woke up to the sun shining on the deck over looking the lake and it was so peaceful and calm it was the perfect way to start a day. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to get just away for a night or weekend or even a week. It was great, and clean and new and an awesome place to stay

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the lake are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wilson075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We went to LOR in December 2010 and again in February 2011. The first time was an Anniversary/Birthday trip. Second visit was pre-Valentines.

The room was a little dated, but it was clean and came with a kitchen area, as well. There was a balcony off each room too, which overlooked one of the pool areas and out towards the lake. There is a small grocery store on the property for the items you may have forgotten to bring with you.

The drive to the resort can be a little hairy once you leave the main highway. The road is very old and gets very narrow, so don't forget your snacks or liquor. I would not recommend late night driving on the road during the winter season. It is very beautiful in the summer.

Each trip included dinner in the main dining room, as well as breakfast the following morning, which was great. The menu seemed endless, and the prices were surprisingly reasonable considering the resort. We were the only 4 people in the dining room and it was kind of a treat,feeling that we had the entire dining room to ourselves.

There is an indoor hot-tub as well as an outdoor one at the main resort building. It also houses steam rooms.

Room Tip: If you go during the winter season, ask for the Chalets near the end of the property, ie: Kokanee. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NotaHotelSnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabot, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

My fiance and I decided to take a little weekend getaway to enjoy each other's company. We could not have been more pleased with the resort! It is secluded and tucked away, about a 20 minute drive into town.... perfect for relaxation!

The views are breathtaking! Staying right on the lake was an added bonus and made for a wonderful sight to wake to each morning. We stayed in the jacuzzi suite room, and having our own private jacuzzi in our room really sealed the deal. Also having the balcony was great, as we liked to enjoy each morning sitting outside, drinking our coffee, taking the scenery in.

I would definitely recommend Lake Okanagan resort to any couple (or family) looking for a nice getaway!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sweet_kisses_xo2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, B.C. Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We had our third xmas party here last week-end. Have stayed in old section previously and it's horid and in bad need up updating / &/0r heavy duty cleaning. Newer sections have lovely room - plenty of space and nicely decorated. Main bldg is in need of cleaning, updating and a total overhall. Also....it is a common complaint that the little road from the room to the main dining areas is basically in total darkness. In the winter when walking that road you go blindly ahead hoping you don't stumple or trip. It's not a costly thing (I don't think!) to put some sort of lighting on that road!!

Room Tip: BOOK newer sections facing the lake - would be lovely in the summer and pretty spectacular in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Msdonna96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

If you are planning to use your RCI points don't bother - not only is the drive horrendous but so are the accommodations.

The resort was nearly empty - which was great but then we got to our room. We rented a 3 bedroom in 406 for 3 nights - which is is the old part of the resort. When you first walk in the space looks good, but very dated.

I called ahead to confirm we didn't need to bring anything other than our food and personal items - the resort confirmed however we did bring our sleeping bags and pillows thank goodness.

The beds were rock hard and the decor old. Spider webs in the kitchen and rooms. The blankets were in adequate to say the least, the pillows - flat and over used. There was no way I was letting my family sleep under the covers so we slept in our sleeping bags.

I called the front desk and asked for a new room and they denied us since we were RCI Members and not directly apart of their resort timeshare. They did say we could move for an additional fee of $150 per night (in the off season- seriously???) - No thanks.

When I booked through my RCI exchange points you have an exchange fee which I had already paid so we toughed it out. Our so called "cottage" which was more like a row townhouse straight out of the 60's with a deadbolt that wouldn't stop anyone from breaking in. We faced a bunch of trees which was fine for privacy but when you walked down the path there was a huge area which was full of Garbage. Old mattress's woodpiles and such from renovations - not something that you would expect to see at a resort.

The Photo's of the property are great and the amenities, hot tub is ok and the gym was nice but the 30 min drive from the main highway and all the construction is a travelers nightmare.

When I checked out of the Resort, I was then charged an additional $100 cleaning fee - which was not outlined when we checked in or when we made the reservation - we could have stayed in town, saved our gas and got better service anywhere else.

Save your money - Avoid this resort and stay in town.

Room Tip: Stay in the new area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank RainyEscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kelowna hotels

Jasper National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We booked our room thru expedia. The hotel pictures looked decent and the price wasn't bad, I read some bad reviews but figured they were just from picky or angry guests Were not picky travellers so we booked a room.

LOCATION:
It's secluded and tucked away. its about 20-30 minutes drive on a VERY narrow, steep and winding road to get to the nearest grocery and shopping areas. I was on the edge of my seat most of the time while driving. In many place there are no barricades so I especially would not recommend driving on these roads at night. I wanted to go out on our first night but we had to pass on that since I was too scary to drive back to the city proper.

THE HOTEL

This is an old hotel and it has some issues which will be immediately apparent on arrival such as a busted almost non working elevator. You'll be forced to take the old and rickety flight of stairs with all your heavy luggage.

The rooms are dull and the employees don't care. We were given a room that was exactly on the side of a hill. We had a full view of the PARKING LOT, the side of the hill, some trees and the side of another building protruding our supposed to be "FULL" lakeside view unit. The lady in front desk didn't seem to be so happy when we asked to be moved to a different room. Never smiled, seemed a aloof and robotic. It was October, a weekday and the hotel wasn't busy so I dont understand why we were given a room with the worst view on the resort. The second room was still on the side of a hill but had a better view still disappointing nonetheless. We didnt bother to ask for another room.

You have walk/ hike uphill to get to the pool and the restaurant. The pool side area had no maintenance. The water on the pool was merky and there were piles of used towels on the floor.

Over-all, its not up to the standards of a "resort." We will not be returning and I would never recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: save time. book a hotel room near the city proper instead of here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emma_Ohm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOS001, Director of Sales at Lake Okanagan Resort, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Dear Emma,

We are sorry you did not have a good stay with us. We would very much like to have a second opportunity to make it right for you.

You are correct the road can be daunting, most of us live in town, so we drive it twice a day. It is also a school bus road, so it is maintained. Unfortunately, it is a BC provincial road and we have no control over it.

Here at LOR, it is a very peaceful spot for those who want to "get away from it all" even though we are only 20 min to town.

I would like very much to have the opportunity to speak with you. I can be reached at 250-769-3699.

Best Regards,

Barb Douglas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Central City
Accent Inn Kelowna
Accent Inn Kelowna
#10 of 34 in Kelowna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Central City
The Royal Private Residence Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Eldorado
#3 of 34 in Kelowna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Comfort Suites Kelowna
#5 of 34 in Kelowna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Central City
Coast Capri Hotel Kelowna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Okanagan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Okanagan Resort

Property: Lake Okanagan Resort
Address: 2751 Westside Rd N, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Z 3T1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Okanagan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Okanagan Resort is located on 300 acres of mountainside parkland on the West Shore of beautiful Okanagan Lake, just 20 minutes from downtown Kelowna.Lake Okanagan Resort is the Kelowna's "true destination Resort. The resort has its own 9 hole executive par 3 golf course, lit tennis courts, hot tubs, resort store, renovated meeting space, restaurants, lounge, seasonal pools, spa, upgraded suites (all with kitchen facilities) and premier villas, beach and brand new marina.The resort welcomes families, couples, groups, conferences, retreats and is perfect for beach weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Okanagan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Okanagan Hotel Kelowna
Lake Okanagan Kelowna
Lake Okanagan Resort Kelowna, Okanagan Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing