We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time with Captain Al- Go With the Wind Cruises”

Go With the Wind Cruises
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Go With the Wind Cruises is the longest running cruise on Okanagan Lake. These are informative, personal (your party only and leaving at your convenience), with the option to power, sail, or both. The captain will relate history, geography, and show you wildlife. Enjoy the peaceful, relaxing waters of Lake Okanagan. Pickup is in downtown Kelowna beside the Delta Grand Hotel. Reservations recommended at 250 763 5204
Reviewed June 20, 2018

Our family went on the 2 hour sailing tour with Al yesterday. Great, relaxing time. Beautiful scenery enhanced by Captain Al's local knowledge and great stories. Highly recommend.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"captain al"
in 16 reviews
"hour cruise"
in 8 reviews
"two hours"
in 6 reviews
"wonderful morning"
in 3 reviews
"great sail"
in 2 reviews
"sailing trip"
in 2 reviews
"great stories"
in 4 reviews
"amazing adventure"
in 2 reviews
"okanagan lake"
in 6 reviews
"thank you so much"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful scenery"
in 4 reviews
"sailboat"
in 10 reviews
"motor"
in 11 reviews
"sailed"
in 10 reviews
"skiing"
in 29 reviews
"sails"
in 6 reviews
"wildlife"
in 8 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 86 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2018 via mobile

What an amazing experience on the lake with Al! It was fabulous to see his face light up as he told us some of the history of the lake.

Don’t let his humbleness fool you he is also an amazing photographer as well. If you have the opportunity ask to see some of his work!

We visited the Okanagan for the first time, during what appeared to be lake closures, flooding and icky weather. On our last full day we were looking for something to do, and trip adviser pointed us to Al and Go with the wind cruises. We called first thing in the morning and he could fit us in!

We are so happy he could.

Thank you so much Al for making what could have been a mediocre end of our trip into an amazing adventure.

Al you are a true professional and knowledgeable of the area!

We highly recommend you take a tour with Go with the Wind Cruises!

Date of experience: June 2018
2  Thank plgmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2017

Taking a 'ride' in a sailboat has been on our bucket list for sometime. We picked the perfect captain and boat to do this on. Despite the smoke in the area from the forest fires, we thoroughly enjoyed our sail with Al. He has been in the area since 1970 and had great stories and lots of history about the area to share. We thoroughly enjoyed our two hours on the water with him and look forward to sailing again!

Within a day of our sail Al had emailed us photos of our time on the boat - and you can tell by the grins on our faces how much fun we were having!

Thanks for the memories, Al - Warmly - Janice and Harry

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank janpan52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2017

We all had a wonderful time sailing with Captain Al on Okanagan Lake. Al is very informed and gave us a great tour of the area. We are locals and would highly recommend a sail with "Go With the Wind" to locals and tourists alike. Thx Al.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank 178cooperecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2017

This was a fabulous experience! For the two-hour cruise we had selected, Captain Al gave us a choice between (a.) sailing (which means he has to stay more or less centered in the lake), or (b.) motoring slowly along the shores so you can see things better. We chose the latter. Having now seen the shorelines up close, and having enjoyed the commentary on what we were seeing, I might choose to do the pure sailing next time, so as to luxuriate in the thrill and excitement of that wild ride! Both options are excellent! (Maybe if I had chosen a longer cruise, we could have done both.) Al could not have been a more generous and knowledgeable host -- who loves what he does. He has a very gentle kind of energy, which is perfectly suited to the intimate deck quarters on the boat. We learned A LOT from his talk about the people, wildlife, history, and current events of this area. As a souvenir of our delightful time with Al, I bought a copy of a book of his excellent photos of wildlife and scenery and historical events around the lake. I highly recommend Al Cotton and his Go With The Wind sailboat cruises!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Go With the Wind Cruises also viewed

Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Go With the Wind Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing