We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Met our needs” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Recreation Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Recreation Inn & Suites
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Met our needs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Yes, it's a bit run-down (from the outside) but it met our needs. We had enough beds for 5 people, it was clean and quiet. I liked that it had laundry facilities, and was close to amenities. There is a rec place next door if you wanted an indoor pool. Yes, you have to pay but I'm glad for that option. There is also a playground just 2 minutes away. Lots of restaurants around. There were a few things that I noticed, albeit minor. The coffee machine only made it to lukewarm and so did the microwave. No matter how high I put it, it was just warm. While we were given new towels, only 1 bed out of the three was made. If there was only one person on housekeeping, maybe it's time to hire another person? Another thing that made an impression was the way the manager/owner parked his car. Yes, I may sound picky but if you park your car, at least park it within the stall, not into another stall. These are not major things but it just made an impression. Would we go back? Most likely but it would probably be the second choice.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clabbots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WitmarGM, General Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We would like to welcome you back in the near future when visiting the Okanagan once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    34
    14
    16
    18
See reviews for
35
24
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

As we drove up to the motel, it looked run down and sketchy. My words to my husband were "I am so sorry!". Once we got to the room it was not too bad. Kelowna accommodations were all very expensive so this fit in our budget. The room seems to have been repainted and new carpets put in recently. They have BBQ areas outside if you want to make supper for you and your family. We did not use those areas, but they looked alright.

My husband found out our first night that he was allergic to feather pillows. We went to the front desk in the morning and asked if they could change out the feather pillows for non-feather. They said no problem. We got back to the motel at 5pm and our room still hadn't been cleaned or the pillows changed. My husband went to the front desk and the clerk was very condescending as he told my husband that they only had one person on to clean rooms. If you wanted ice, you had to get a key from the front desk, that was not convenient at all.

The continental breakfast was disappointing. It was for a very minimal breakfast at the attached cafe. We only had toast one morning and chose to eat elsewhere the next day.

If we go back to Kelowna, we will look into other accommodations, we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennOtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witmar, General Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 18 September 2011
Hello Iceyraven,
thank you for your comments. Since your visit in June the building has been painted, the ice machine has been moved to a more convenient location near the front desk and I purchased many non feather pillows.
We had a very busy summer due to the great value that we offer our customers. We will be investing those added revenues into further renovations and improvements.
I hope that you will come back and see for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kelowna hotels

saskatchewan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

Our room was clean and comfortable. Enough space for the family of four and was in our budget. Our room was quiet.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blacksheep2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WitmarGM, General Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We would like to welcome you back in the near future when visiting the Okanagan once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

After looking at this hotel online I called and booked a 2 night stay. BIG MISTAKE !!! when we arrived and checked in and were given the key to our NON-SMOKING room (what a joke!!) this room had obviously been occupied by heavy smokers in the past , the room was fairly clean from what we could see but the smell of STALE SMOKE was unbearable and I told the manager that there was no way we could sleep in it, he gave us the key to a different room that was very slightly better as the carpet had been shampood recently but the heavy smoking smell was still very very strong.
After once again complaining to the manager we had to book to stay at the Sandman Inn & Suites (I highly reccomend this hotel) for $40 more per night, what a difference spotless and no smell of smoking.
I went back to the Recreation Inn and returned the key to them, they had the gall to charge my mastercard for one nights stay $150 approx and said I could cancel the second night, What a bargain paid for a hotel room I was unable to use, so please beware of this awful property and manager with no morals !!! He has simply put up a "No Smoking" sign on the door and labelled the room as non smoking, but the whole hotel needs to be renovated. I will be contacting the BBB and Tourism BC to let them know.
I also asked my mastercard provider to reverse the charge and they were very unhelpful and refused so please BEWARE !!!! Please don't give away your hard earned money to this awful Hotel and it's owners.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Andreena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

Rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Fully stocked kitchen was a nice bonus but unfortunately no dishwasher which would be more sanitary between guests. Beds are very comfortable and have very nice duvets with the exception of the sofa bed which is the worst mattress I have ever seen and is completely useless. We had a one bedroom unit and the air conditioner was not adequate for the size of the room; my parents stayed in a one queen bed suite and the air conditioner was fine for them. Front desk staff was very friendly and tried to help us with this problem; after the third night of our stay the air conditioner did manage to do its job. Continental breakfast was a nice perk but it was a bit of a hassle to have to get vouchers at the front desk every morning, Overall this hotel was a good value as it was about half the cost of similar size rooms at other hotels.

Room Tip: Don't plan on sleeping on the sofa bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sherry73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witmar, General Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
thanks to your comments I have purchased some new sofa beds. We are trying to get better and better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

I stayed here for 5 nights with my children. Very roomy, great kitchenette, comfortable, clean and quiet. Would definitely stay here again. Perfect location and reasonable rates.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kt773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WitmarGM, General Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We would like to welcome you back in the near future when visiting the Okanagan once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

We had our dog on this trip and their are few hotels that will accept a large dog. The air conditioning for the room was inadequate and the room (upstairs) was roasting all day and night. The electric outlet by the "desk" didn't work, so we had no light and could either use the laptop or the TV, but had to share the outlet. The room was clean, but the hotel is incredibly run down, not like the photo advertisement at all.
So overall, the room and stay was bad, but the worst of it was that the door lock was broken and we had to get the desk clerk to deadbolt it for us when we wanted to leave.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spottyshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Central City
Kelowna Inn & Suites
Kelowna Inn & Suites
#17 of 34 in Kelowna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Central City
Accent Inn Kelowna
Accent Inn Kelowna
#10 of 34 in Kelowna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Central City
Ramada Kelowna Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Super 8 Kelowna BC
#12 of 34 in Kelowna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Howard Johnson Kelowna
#29 of 34 in Kelowna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Days Inn Kelowna
#26 of 34 in Kelowna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Recreation Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Recreation Inn & Suites

Property: The Recreation Inn & Suites
Address: 1891 Parkinson Way, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y 7V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Recreation Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-owned and operated motel in Kelowna that features a seasonal outdoor pool, barbeque and picnic area and are centrally located right next to Parkinson Recreation Centre. We are also within walking distance to a variety of Kelowna's finest restaurants and shops and just a short drive from the down town waterfront. Our guest rooms are equipped with in-room air-conditioning, cable TV, free wireless internet, microwaves, refrigerators and coffee makers. Rooms with kitchenettes and kitchen facilities are available. We are a pet friendly property and able to accommodate pets upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Hotels.com so you can book your The Recreation Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Recreation Inn And Suites
The Recreation Hotel Kelowna
Recreation Hotel Kelowna
The Recreation Inn & Suites Kelowna, Okanagan Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing