We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“might be ok, but don't try to cancel- omg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Recreation Inn & Suites
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“might be ok, but don't try to cancel- omg”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

With the bad weather on the connector I tried to cancel my reservation with this hotel. After over an hour of frustration and hangups, I am unable to get through to anyone who is willing to help. They transfer to a cancellation number that is NEVER answered. All they want is your money, they charge your card and won't even talk to you about a cancellation for a legitimate reason.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraWinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, Director of Sales at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Hello,
We would like to apologize for the frustrating event in trying to cancel your reservation. Since that time we have changed our management and would like you to give us a call at your earliest convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    35
    20
    16
    21
See reviews for
42
28
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Am sorry we did not check with T.A. before we checked in. Place was almost empty and can see why. We had upstairs room /carpet needs replacing on landings as it is filthy and stained
Once in room, one has to ask if the room had been made up without changing the bedding.
A white sheet/duvet cover was so wrinkled it looked like it had been well used. pillow cases( on pillows that should have been put in trash) where also wrinkled.Giving the overall presentation of
neglect. Bed skirt was all balled up again in need of a good pressing.
Carpet was filthy, Bathroom in very poor shape, ceiling above shower someone had tried to repair.
Soap dispenser was empty, so had to wash hands with shampoo,
No soap was offered in shower either.
Towels where thread barren and needed to be replaced as they where at the hard stage.
Towels/ sheets/pillow cases had little black tuffs of something on them as if washed with something dark that shed.
Owners/Management need to invest in a mangle/iron to press the bedding and dust skirts.
Curtains had same pattern just a different length on the window.
With all that needs to be done to bring it up to even 3 star it would be better to bull doze it
as it has run its course.All bedding and towels need replacing ...
Very neglected over time.
Breakfast offered was a joke, and check in even more so as one would think the place was packed rather than empty....
Extra was paid for my small dog and truthfully she would have been more likely to catch something
or be hurt than than they of her,

Room Tip: Look at room first then decide if you want to stay..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witmar, Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Hello Lovemydogz 3,

I was very sorry to read that your stay with us was not satisfactory. If you had checked with trip advisor you would have seen a great increase in positive reviews in the last year. Things are changing and getting better at the Recreation Inn & Suites. Many of our rooms have been or are being renovated. It is too bad that you did not mention your dissatisfaction to our reception agent, we would have been happy to move you to another room which I am sure would have been up to your standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kelowna hotels

southern BC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Got sent to stay here after the sister property "The Dillworth Inn" discovered they over booked our room. We were upgraded to the "Executive Suite". Too bad there was just 2 of us and not the whole family as the suite was huge. Full Kitchen, dining room, huge living room and 3 bedrooms with enough room to sleep 6 easy. They gave us a further discount for the inconvenience on our already great rate so not sure what the regular rate is. BBQ on the deck plus pool right outside the suite. Complimentary simple breakfast was very simple, coffee and muffins, but for the room rate we didn't mind. Great place for a family in the summer when the pool is open.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nexttripp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WitmarGM, General Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We would like to welcome you back in the near future when visiting the Okanagan once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver, canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Stayed 2 nights during business trip - Sept. 17, 18, 19 2011. Slept very well on the comfortable bed-no sounds of neighbours up or beside, or from parking outside-walls quite soundproof. Room had been recently redone with new carpets, paint, tile, bed linens. The swimming pool was alright, the dry cedar sauna very good. Microwave and fridge, coffee maker were in the room though you could get a coupon from the front office for breakfast at attached cafe. A grocery store (Cooper's) is within walking distance as well as a little mall. I chose the inn because of the low cost/night and it was situated directly across the street from my early morning business meetings so I was happy that it ended up being so nice. I will definately stay again for next set of meetings.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank drumset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WitmarGM, General Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We would like to welcome you back in the near future when visiting the Okanagan once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnigan Lake, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We were going to Penticton with another couple to check the wineries out but Iron Man was on and no hotels so decided to go to Kelowna instead. I found this hotel on line and when I booked on line they didn't have any more of those type of rooms but when I called they said we could upgrade to one with the kitchen for no extra charge because they could only offer us a contintal breakfast as their was no one to cook due to a family problem that had happened. The rooms were clean, big and the kitchen a good size as well. They have a pool which we used each night and even several BBQ's and tables that you could use. This place is on a dead end street so was very quiet and was walking distance to a great Japanese restarant and iHop too.

Room Tip: There is a pet side and a non pet side so you can let them know which side you would like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan201255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WitmarGM, General Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We would like to welcome you back in the near future when visiting the Okanagan once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Yes, it's a bit run-down (from the outside) but it met our needs. We had enough beds for 5 people, it was clean and quiet. I liked that it had laundry facilities, and was close to amenities. There is a rec place next door if you wanted an indoor pool. Yes, you have to pay but I'm glad for that option. There is also a playground just 2 minutes away. Lots of restaurants around. There were a few things that I noticed, albeit minor. The coffee machine only made it to lukewarm and so did the microwave. No matter how high I put it, it was just warm. While we were given new towels, only 1 bed out of the three was made. If there was only one person on housekeeping, maybe it's time to hire another person? Another thing that made an impression was the way the manager/owner parked his car. Yes, I may sound picky but if you park your car, at least park it within the stall, not into another stall. These are not major things but it just made an impression. Would we go back? Most likely but it would probably be the second choice.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clabbots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WitmarGM, General Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We would like to welcome you back in the near future when visiting the Okanagan once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2011

As we drove up to the motel, it looked run down and sketchy. My words to my husband were "I am so sorry!". Once we got to the room it was not too bad. Kelowna accommodations were all very expensive so this fit in our budget. The room seems to have been repainted and new carpets put in recently. They have BBQ areas outside if you want to make supper for you and your family. We did not use those areas, but they looked alright.

My husband found out our first night that he was allergic to feather pillows. We went to the front desk in the morning and asked if they could change out the feather pillows for non-feather. They said no problem. We got back to the motel at 5pm and our room still hadn't been cleaned or the pillows changed. My husband went to the front desk and the clerk was very condescending as he told my husband that they only had one person on to clean rooms. If you wanted ice, you had to get a key from the front desk, that was not convenient at all.

The continental breakfast was disappointing. It was for a very minimal breakfast at the attached cafe. We only had toast one morning and chose to eat elsewhere the next day.

If we go back to Kelowna, we will look into other accommodations, we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennOtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witmar, General Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 18 September 2011
Hello Iceyraven,
thank you for your comments. Since your visit in June the building has been painted, the ice machine has been moved to a more convenient location near the front desk and I purchased many non feather pillows.
We had a very busy summer due to the great value that we offer our customers. We will be investing those added revenues into further renovations and improvements.
I hope that you will come back and see for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Super 8 Kelowna BC
#14 of 34 in Kelowna
725 reviews
Central City
Accent Inn Kelowna
Accent Inn Kelowna
#9 of 34 in Kelowna
377 reviews
Days Inn Kelowna
#21 of 34 in Kelowna
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Kelowna Inn & Suites
Kelowna Inn & Suites
#18 of 34 in Kelowna
313 reviews
Central City
Holiday Inn Express Kelowna
Central City
Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Recreation Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Recreation Inn & Suites

Property: The Recreation Inn & Suites
Address: 1891 Parkinson Way, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y 7V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Recreation Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-owned and operated motel in Kelowna that features a seasonal outdoor pool, barbecue and picnic area and are centrally located right next to Parkinson Recreation Center. We are also within walking distance to a variety of Kelowna's finest restaurants and shops and just a short drive from the down town waterfront. Our guest rooms are equipped with in-room air-conditioning, cable TV, free wireless internet, microwaves, refrigerators and coffee makers. Rooms with kitchenettes and kitchen facilities are available. We are a pet friendly property and able to accommodate pets upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Recreation Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Recreation Inn And Suites
The Recreation Hotel Kelowna
Recreation Hotel Kelowna
The Recreation Inn & Suites Kelowna, Okanagan Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing