We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Maffeo Sutton and Swy-a-lana are the same thing

This is Nanaimo's waterfront park. It connects to the waterfront walkway, and has the ferry to... read more

Reviewed August 18, 2019
pennyfor
,
California
Crabbing

We live coming to the pier here to do some crabbing. We also like to buy fresh fish from the... read more

Reviewed July 30, 2019
teresamr2017
,
Spruce Grove, Canada
via mobile
Read all 25 reviews
  
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
17
6
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
17
6
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 25 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2020

I think one could argue – successfully – that Swy-a-Lana Park and Maffeo Sutton Park are one and the same. I mean, technically, they are. Swy-a-Lana is part of Maffeo Sutton. Whereas Maffeo Sutton Park is the larger ground, Swy-a-Lana refers specifically to a manmade lagoon/lake that’s connected to the ocean only during the highest of tides. In short, it’s an enclosed structure meant to offer the very young, or even those afraid of the big wide ocean, a chance to partake in a salt water swim or play at the small sandy beach with its self-contained tidal pools. It’s a lovely setting but doesn’t much compare to the larger Maffeo Sutton Park and the adjacent Harbourfront Walkway. Still, if you want to experience the park grounds in microcosm, Swy-a-Lana is as good a place as any.

Included within this space is a small children’s park, which is designed to mirror ferry routes. I think, as far as kids parks go, it’s a nice safe enclosure (completely fenced in). The various walkways, plankways, slides, and jungle gyms could provide for many an hour of entertainment. For the older audience, there’s even a zipline stationed on a nearby hill. Thus, with Swy-a-Lana’s fine synthesis of (protected) ocean fun and kiddie park, concomitant with its numerous trees and benches, one could easily bring the family here for the better part of an afternoon. It’s wholesome fun in one of Nanaimo’s most picturesque grounds.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank PookyCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 18, 2019

This is Nanaimo's waterfront park. It connects to the waterfront walkway, and has the ferry to Newcastle. (not the ferry to Protection - that's from the nearby harbour). It is not a huge park. there are a lot of events here, often hosted by the City. Lots of music. The kids playground is great, with a zipline as well. Dogs on a leash. there's a small swimming beach which is set up for safety. It's quite wheelchair accessible. It also has a pier.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank pennyfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 30, 2019 via mobile

We live coming to the pier here to do some crabbing. We also like to buy fresh fish from the fishermen.take it home and and cook over a open fire pit. Yummy. Lots of shopping along the boardwalk as well.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank teresamr2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 31, 2019

Beautiful park. Lots to see. Great for walking or a picnic with the family. Nice playground for the kids.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Kieko55
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 24, 2019

This park is definitely one of the gems of Nanaimo. It not only has a beautiful boardwalk to traverse, it has two amazing age appropriate play structures (toddlers & lets be honest adult size)to enjoy. Great place to spend the day. Also has a safe tidal beach for the small ones to get an opportunity to play in the ocean.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Katherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews