We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent crepes!”
Review of Le Cafe Francais

Le Cafe Francais
Ranked #2 of 349 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$37
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: French little bistro. Authentique home cooking
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

My boyfriend and I finally made it to this place earlier this month and it was totally worth it. The service was as good as the food and incredibly inexpensive! Make a reservation to score a prime booth.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Disney4Eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cafefrancaisnanaimo, Propriétaire at Le Cafe Francais, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Thank you so much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 408 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2018

Waiter service was excellent even if French influence was a bit overplayed. Food was fine but not over the top.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Pierre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cafefrancaisnanaimo, Propriétaire at Le Cafe Francais, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2018
Google Translation

Merci de votre opinion . Tres heureux du compliment fait a mon fils le serveur.
Passez une bonne fin de sejour a nanaimo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed our meal at Le Cafe Francais. The restaurant is small, and rather spartan, and the ambience is plain ... in short, authentic. While the menu is not extensive, it is more than adequate, and the preparation and presentation of the meals is acceptable. A nice touch is the opportunity to converse (however inadequately) in French with the waiter. Wine list is limited, but of acceptable quality. Would definitely go again.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Harry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cafefrancaisnanaimo, Propriétaire at Le Cafe Francais, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2018

thank you for your visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2018 via mobile

I wanted to take my friend out for dinner for his birthday and being new to Nanaimo, I checked trip advisor for a recommendation. This restaurant met all my needs. The food was tasty and the service very friendly but wow, slow service. I was there for 3 hours and found that the food took a long time to come out. Yes it was tasty but just slow. I actually had to go to the front counter to get the cheque because it was taking too long ( and the place was only a third full).

I like this place and will go back but I will make sure I give them a time limit as to when I have to leave.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank brads153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cafefrancaisnanaimo, Propriétaire at Le Cafe Francais, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2018

thank you for your visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2018 via mobile

Wonderful French cuisine - St. Jacques Mer and crepe Suzette savoured, sur la terrasse, perfect touch for my summer vacation in Nanaimo.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Dee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cafefrancaisnanaimo, Propriétaire at Le Cafe Francais, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2018

We are really glad that it satisfied you . thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Cafe Francais also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Le Cafe Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing