We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (637)
Filter reviews
637 results
Traveller rating
169
236
135
67
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
169
236
135
67
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews older hotel harbour view downtown nanaimo queen bed location is great we've stayed front desk staff central location vancouver island worcester theatre ferry walkway victoria bc
Filter
Updating list...
552 - 557 of 637 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed for one night before taking the seaplane back to Vancouver the next day.

The staff were wonderful, and really went the extra mile, and the location was exactly what we needed - close to a car rental office so we could drop off our vehicle and handy for the harbour.

That said - despite a claim that the rooms had been recently refurbished, they looked a bit dated - and the slats on the (noisy) A/C unit were broken. There was an nuisance factor that the only lift was out of service during our stay - so I (as soneone who has knee problems) was grateful that we were on the second (UK first) floor, as we had to use the stairs - even when bringing up heavy luggage!

Overall, the hotel is clean and comfortable, and the staff take it to the next level - especially the wait staff in the dining room. We would be happy to stay here again

Room tip: ask for a harbour view room if possible - to see the seaplanes come and go (you will hear them anyway!)
Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolynUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2011

Thank you for sharing with others. Yes, unfortuantely a belt broke on the elevator door mechanism during your stay, however it was repaired the following day after the technician replaced some parts. It is great to hear that our valued staff made your stay enjoyable. Thanks again for sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This has to be THE smallest room that I've ever stayed in !

PLUS there were NO parking spots in the TWO parking lots that were supposed to be for the hotel, so we had to park on the street in a not so great looking neighborhood!

Would not stay here again!

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

Thank you for sharing your experience. The room type that you booked is our lowest priced guest room and reflects the historic charm of that part of the building dating back to 1887. I would suggest that on a future visit you may wish to book a Harbour View room or Suite. These are much larger, ( and higher priced) and may suit you better. Thank you again for letting us know about your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2011

The hotel has good value for money and good location.
The room was clean and the bed confortable.
The parking was full but they refund the price of the public parking lot across the streat.
Wifi is free and there are free internet computers in the lobby.
Breakfast was good.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefano1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Our first impressions of the hotel were a little shaky - from the outside , the hotel is a large yellow box. Parking is tight and limited and the loading zone out front is busy and awkward. Once we got past that, the rest of our experience was good.

The hotel is a heritage building, but looks like it was modified in the 1950s and renovated in the 1990s. The room we had was small, but it had a great view of the harbor. Air conditioning worked fine. Rooms were clean. The hotel has a guest laundry, a library, fitness room and rooftop patio.

Staff is friendly - what you would expect. The restaurant was okay for breakfast - certainly good value.

Date of stay: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bullmoose_Rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2011

Thank you for sharing your experience with others. The Dorchester Hotel dates back to 1887 and is a historic boutique style property. You're right, the outside of the building is not the most attractive architectural design and I'm glad to see that the rest of your stay experience was good. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2011

The hotel is well located right above the marina and with private parking. The room was well equipped with quite high end furnishings and a great bed even though we had only booked a basic room as we were only staying one night. Unlike other BWPlus hotels we have experienced in Canada, breakfast was not included. No help was offered with luggage and after we got the trolley to the 2nd floor we were faced with steps to get to the room and then the room key didn't work. The biggest issue was the room size. We are from the UK and accustomed to small hotel rooms but it would have been nice to be able to get a drawer open without having to stand to one side. It is a collection of older buildings which probably explains the changes in level and the room sizes but both of these factors could be important issues for some people and, of course, they are not mentioned in the literature.

Room tip: Ask about room size and location.
Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeswickTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2011

Thank you for sharing your experience. We strive to ensure that all of our guests are satisfied with their accommodations. The room that you booked is small and the architecture on that wing of the hotel dates back to 1887. We do however, have premium larger rooms and suites with beautiful Harbour Views that you might consider on a return visit. Thank you again for your observations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews