We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (640)
Filter reviews
640 results
Traveller rating
169
238
136
67
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
169
238
136
67
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews older hotel harbour view downtown nanaimo queen bed location is great we've stayed front desk staff central location vancouver island worcester theatre ferry walkway victoria
Filter
Updating list...
523 - 528 of 640 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Front street loading - no vallet, no bellmen. 1 Little, slow elevator. Rooms are dated but clean. Great view of the harbour. radio provided - can;t get any radio stations on it.
It was a good hotel....just not 5 star.

Room tip: choose upper harbour view.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Thank you for letting us know about your stay at the Dorchester Hotel. You're right, we are not a 5 star property but a limited service hotel. We do not have a bellman or valet and it is a historic property dating back to 1887 with a lot of the charms of a bygone era. The elevator, although completely refurbished, reflects a historical charm when things were a little slower paced. I'm glad to hear that your room was very clean and our staff was welcoming and helpful. Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I actually usually stay at the Best Western Northgate in Nanaimo, and have always enjoyed my stays there - big rooms, all the amenities, wireless internet, nearby restaurants and shopping, clean, relatively soundproof rooms. But this time it was booked solid, so I took a chance on the Dorchester with a little hesitation because of some of the reviews. I would recommend this hotel to those with a specific interest in visiting/exploring Nanaimo because it's right in the downtown area close to the ocean. It's in what is probably an historic building for the area, so the rooms are very small (at least mine was - to walk from my room door to the bathroom, I practically had to turn sideways between the bed and dresser). Otherwise, the room was nicely decorated and clean with air conditioning, coffee maker, clock radio and mini-fridge. Walls were thinner than my liking when it came to hearing your neighbors, but luckily everyone kept relatively quiet after 11pm. The gentleman working the front desk was very polite and helpful during check-in and in helping me find places to eat afterwards. So, all-in-all, it was a decent stay. Would I stay here again? Probably not, I prefer the Northgate, and driving to Tofino is my usual interest, not exploring Nanaimo.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cloudbreaker39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience. Yes, the Dorchester Hotel is a historic boutique style property and reflects the charms of a bygone era with some of our rooms being smaller and lower priced. Many of our Harbour facing rooms are much larger as well as our executive suites. Thank you again for your feedback, we strive to ensure all of our guests receive a comfortable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This hotel is excellently located for costal walks, shopping and trips to Newcastle Island. The staff were average apart from Drew who was excellent, very attentive and friendly. The room was good and clean. It did have air-conditioning but this was a little on the noisy side. The room was lacking a fridge.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan-from-Doncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Thank you for sharing your impressions. It is good to hear that Drew from our front desk took such good care of you. We hope to see you again on a future visit to our City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The hotel kitchen,lounge are shut down.Unlike a lot of Best Western hotels,they offer no compimentary breakfast.The staff that was working was not very friendly.We felt like they thought they were doing us a favour having us there.

Date of stay: July 2012
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank twooldcreekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Thank you for your comments. I apologize that our hotel kitchen was closed during your stay due to a major renovation to our kitchen. We did offer a hot breakfast to our guests although on a limited menu. Not all Best Western Hotels offer a free continental breakfast since each Best Western property is independently owned and operated. In our case, we have a full service restaurant for all meals therefore as per Best Western guidelines we do not offer a free continental breakfast. Our kitchen is back in service and our full menu is againg available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We selected this hotel based on the Best Western name and a discounted coupon we ran across while in Victoria. The hotel and staff did not disappoint. We had an odd situation with the reservation (we had 2 1-night reservations instead of 1 2-night reservation). The staff was understanding, and accommodating in the situation. We had a harbor view room which was awesome! We lucked into staying there the weekend of the bathtub races and were able to see the fireworks on Saturday night. The hotel is very conveniently located near Commercial street which has restaurants and museums. Just up the road (an easy hike) is the old quarter with more great restaurants.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Talljoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Thank you for letting us know that we met your expectations and sharing your experience with others. Hope to see you again on a future visit to our city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews