We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Boutique Hotel with New Renovations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Nanaimo
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 8 April 2008

This is a nice hotel located in Downtown Nanaimo with friendly staff. I love to stay there because of the location to my work place and new renovation. 32" LCD Tv is very nice in the room. If you are planning to stay in Nanaimo, I strongly suggest you this hotel for you with harbour view room.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LC6688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

548 - 554 of 584 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2008

Never Again! Avoid this hotel unless you are into bugs. Yes, I got bitten by bedbugs and had a rash for over a week. I complained to the manager but was told that it is not their fault guest bring them in. Very rude manager. I was late for the ferry and didn't bother to take it any further. The renovated restaurant floor squeaks like a rubber duck as you walk on it. The parking was horrible too. Next time I will listen to my friend and stay at the Bucaneer motel. Best rates, good quality rooms(not overpriced like dorkchester) and the staff is awesome!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank venger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2008

We just walked in to the hotel and they found a room for us. If I would have done some checking first, I probably wouldn't have chosen this hotel. For the price, the room was much too small. I guess it has a great location but I was just passing through and didn't care much for the location. The bed was very comfortable but it took up most of the room. The hallways were narrow and had to negotiate another flight of stairs to get to some of the rooms. That is a hassle if there are large suitcases. And we did have large suitcases.

Overall, probably won't go back even if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank KingWhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2007

This place was strange. I had the smallest room I have ever had in a hotel. You litterally opened the door, nearly hit the bed, crawled over the bed to the window and then there was a bathroom. The staff wasn't particularly help and did nothing about the drunk guy from their lounge hitting on women in the lobby(while he was still holding a drink). I'll go back to the Coast across the street next time.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank coffeechik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2007

I booked a two-night stay for a weekend getaway before a week of work in Vancouver. Having read the other reviews here, I was expecting a mixed experience, and that is what I got. Paid $110/night corporate rate (and got a comment at the front desk how "cheap" it was).

The check-in was inefficient, in that I had to wait several minutes to be served, as they were trying to explain everything in great detail to another guest.

My room was quite nice, but rather small. The bed was very comfortable, and most of the furniture was in good shape. It was surprising to see torn fabric on the two chairs, however.. The lamps were all new IKEA ones with CF bulbs. Lots of channels on the TV. No air conditioning (not sure if this is a problem in this particular location) but a fan was provided. The bathroom was standard, but again, relatively small.

I knew I'd be back in the early afternoon, and despite the "please make up room now" sign being out, my room had not been cleaned.

The wireless Internet is horrible! During the day and evening, the signal would drop to zero every few minutes, requiring a new connection.

There is only one small elevator, which could become an issue. I usually used the stairs. The hotel hallways are long and narrow, in keeping with the older building.

Breakfast is not included at this Best Western, but the restaurant downstairs serves a good variety of items at reasonable prices. The quality is very good.

For dinner I'd recommend Tania's right next door.

Parking is free and availability not too bad if you arrive early, but on the Saturday night I got the last spot in the two lots next to the hotel. They will gladly reimburse you for use of any of the other public pay lots in the area.

Overall, not an unpleasant place, but if you are more into modern hotels, then this is not for you. In that case, stay next door at the Coast Bastion instead.

Tip: do not park your car before unloading luggage. Go to the Church Street entrance, unload there, then go park.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank okazon69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2007

My partner and I stayed here last minute overnight on our way to Tofino and were pleasantly surprised. We booked through Priceline and paid $92 as opposed the $135 rate we were quoted directly through the hotel. It's in very quaint central Nanaimo in the 'downtown' area where you feel like you're walking through some historic scene. It's literally steps to several restaurants, shops and to the Marina which is quite lovely. Our room seemed to have been recently upgraded and we were impressed for a Best Western. The rooms are a little tight, seems the scale of furniture was too large for the rooms, although we got through it alright. The service was good and the rooms were clean and equipped with everything you could expect. We would definitely book the BW Dorchester again if in Nanaimo.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank vanessa83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2007

The Dorchester is a sound hotel. It is clean and roomy with all you would expect. The location is good in that it is yards from the harbour and the marina and dead handy for getting the ferry link over to Horse Shoe bay. Nanaimo itself is fairly quiet, there was a sprinkling of bars and restaurants and the "odd" club, and when I say "odd" I mean ODD! Some major development seems to be taking place in the town front this may or may not help the place as some of the buildings are out of place to the feel of the town, such as the 60 floor sky scraper plonked down at the harbour ? bizzaar! Anyway, getting back to the hotel, its fine, stff helpful and let us store our bags while we mooched around the half empty streets waiting for the ferry. Oh by the way the Nanaimo bar is great and a must with a coffee! Thats about it really, in summary good hotel in a convenient handily placed two bit town with some charm. Oh and the shopping centre is a throw back to the 70's but better than nothing! Good luck!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pompeypaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
0.1 km away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#2 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,589 reviews
1.2 km away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 18 in Nanaimo
310 reviews
10.6 km away
Best Western Northgate Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 18 in Nanaimo
346 reviews
8.3 km away
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
#12 of 18 in Nanaimo
182 reviews
2.2 km away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 18 in Nanaimo
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dorchester Hotel

Address: 70 Church St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 5H4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range: C$132 - C$221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Dorchester Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Dorchester Nanaimo Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Nanaimo over looking picturesque Nanaimo Harbour. Our charming heritage boutique-style hotel is decorated in a style that blends old world class with modern conveniences to make your stay at this Nanaimo hotel a comfortable and memorable one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Dorchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nanaimo
Nanaimo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing