We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired decore and dirty rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Nanaimo
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Stayed here for one night in the executive suite, the lobby has a great historic feel and the location is great for walking in Nanaimo. The room was a big disappointment, thrift store decore with miss matched furniture and no thought given to layout. Tired dated and generally unclean with thick dust on the baseboards. Our room overlooked the smoking patio, air quality was terrible. The hotel location is very noisy at night with groups of people going to and from bars and traffic. We were woken up several times by screaming and a fight that had to be broken up by police on the sidewalk beside the hotel.

This location lacks the amenities one would expect at a Best Western Plus, there is very limited parking available for guests, no complimentary breakfast and while the lobby is lovely our room was tired and dirty. If location is what you value most then that can't be beat. Unless you are a really deep sleeper bring ear plugs.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear Brenda S,

Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate taking your time to letting us know how your stay was. On behalf of our entire team, please accept my sincere apology for not meeting your expectations during your recent stay with us. I'm also sorry to hear that the room décor and the cleanliness wasn't to our high standards, and I'll assure you to readdress the matter with our team. We value our guest's feedback and we'll use your feedback to enhance our service and amenities in near future.

If there's anything that I could be a further assistance, please feel free to contact me directly at any time.

Sincerely,
Julie Park
General Manager
Best Western Dorchester Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (554)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Dorchester Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2017

Location, staff, cleanliness were all 10+. We will be back next year and book this hotel. So far it is the best hotel we have stayed in (and there were quite a few) This hotel is located in the center of old Nanaimo. Quaint shops, lots of restaurants and art all within walking distance to the hotel. Our meal at the Thai restaurant 2 blocks from the hotel was incredibel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Bajadogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear Bajadogs,

It is with a great pleasure to learn that you've enjoyed your stay with us and our staff served you well and exceeded your expectations. There're quite nice authentic restaurants in the area and that Thai restaurant is one of my favourite as well and I'm glad that you were able to enjoy it.
Most of all, I'm glad to hear that you'll be coming back next year and will look forward to welcoming you then.

Wish you have a pleasant and safe trip back home!

Sincerely,
Julie Park
General Manager
Best Western Dorchester Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

My girlfriend and I took a few days to travel from the mainland to Vancouver island. We stayed at the historical Dorchester and requested a Harbour view which was very nice. I am familiar with the hotel being a former islander. Updates to the hotel have been
Completed but I will have to say that it has taken the history out of the hotel. Having said that, the convenience of the location being steps from old town and the beautiful Harbour walk across the street makes this hotel a great choice.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank searchinguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear searchinguk,

Thank you for staying at Best Western Dorchester Hotel. We appreciate your comment and I'm glad that you've enjoyed our location and the habour view. I'm sorry to hear that you've felt the classic look has been taken away with renovation. We'll consider your feedback for our future strategic plan for sure.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and hope you consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,
Julie Park
General Manager
Best Western Dorchester Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

Location is great for the inner harbour. Rooms are small but clean and quiet. Bed is comfortable and shower has a good flow. I stay here mainly because of location. Easy and friendly check in and out.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Garyinsalmonarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear Garyinsalmonarm,

We appreciate taking your time to write us how your stay was. I'm glad to know that you've enjoyed your stay, the location, and our staff served you well. We'll keep striving to serve our guests with best customer service.
We'll look forward to welcoming you again in near future.

Sincerely,

Julie Park
General Manager
Best Western Dorchester Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

the hotel location is good. the rest is not very good value for price. our room was a queen suite with harbour view. the room was very smelly..old and mildewey. the bed was terrible, pillows horrible. we had just come from a best western in Courtenay and it was excellent. time for an overall. we would be challenged to stay here again even though we like the location. there are other hotels in the area that we will now be looking to try out.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear Cheryl B,

Thank you for staying with us. We apologize for not meeting your expectation during your recent stay. We will use the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we provide a better experience in the future. Please consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with superior service. We do have some lower categorized rooms and hope we can accommodate your needs with better value next time.

Sincerely,
Julie Park
General Manager
Best Western Dorchester Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

We stayed here prior to catching a ferry to the mainland. The free parking was a nice feature. The breakfast was very nice though it was an extra charge. The views of the waterfront were nice. The waterfront park across the street was a great find.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear Dan K,

Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your time to letting us know how your stay was enjoyable. I'm glad to know that you've liked our free parking feature, the breakfast, the views from your room, and the location. The sea walkway at the harbour in front of our hotel especially in the summer is one of the unbeatable scenery that you can only experience in Nanaimo Downtown harbour front, and I'm glad to know that you were able to stroll around including Maffeo-Sutton Park.

We'll look forward to your next stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Julie Park
General Manager
Best Western Dorchester Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

Clean room but we had only 1 working plug in whole room. There wasnt enough parking so ended up paying to park elsewhere. The hotel restaurant/lounge was never open. The patio is ok but only 5 chairs and not decorated or anything. Wasnt a good hotel for a group. Especially a sports group.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 550shelaghb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear 550shelaghb,

Thank you for taking your time to write us your review. Please accept our sincere apology for not providing sufficient plug in's. Each room should have several plug in's including the night stand plug in's and desk top plug in's at our hotel. We'll look into the room that you've stayed in and reassure enough plug in's are supplied. Also, we're sorry for the inconvenience caused for limited hours for our restaurant and lounge. Our restaurant/lounge operation hours are from 7am to 10 am for breakfast and 5pm to 8pm for dinner. However, there're also several restaurants within walking distance from the hotel so, out of our operation hours, please ask for further information to our staff in the future and we'd be happy to guide you. With regards to the patio chairs, we're in the process of replacing them, and we hope you'll see newer patio furniture on your next stay. We appreciate all your comments and we value your feedback and will use toward enhancement of our service for our future guests.
I hope you consider staying with us again in near future so we can accommodate your needs better next time.

Sincerely,

Julie Park
General Manager
Best Western Dorchester Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
0.1 km away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,467 reviews
10.6 km away
Best Western Northgate Inn
1.2 km away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 18 in Nanaimo
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 18 in Nanaimo
332 reviews
2.2 km away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 18 in Nanaimo
516 reviews
0.6 km away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dorchester Hotel

Address: 70 Church St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 5H4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range: $134 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Dorchester Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Dorchester Nanaimo Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Nanaimo over looking picturesque Nanaimo Harbour. Our charming heritage boutique-style hotel is decorated in a style that blends old world class with modern conveniences to make your stay at this Nanaimo hotel a comfortable and memorable one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Dorchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nanaimo
Nanaimo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing