We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (623)
Filter reviews
623 results
Traveller rating
167
230
133
66
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
230
133
66
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschurch streetolder hotelharbour viewdowntown nanaimoparking lot isqueen bedgreat viewfront desk staffcentral locationone night stayvancouver islandworcestertheatreferryvictoriabcshampoo
Filter
Updating list...
566 - 571 of 623 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2010

my husband and i recently stayed at the dorchester for a little midweek getaway.booking in advance online brought the price down alot.i emailed and requested an early checkin and was given a room at noon when we arrived.the location is great,across the street from ocean walkway where you can walk for an hour.harbour view restaurants and coffee shops.you are right down town so there are lots of little shops.we had asked directions to walk the the keg eatery from front desk staff member and one of the employees joe said he was going home and would gladly drop us off on the way.what customer service, thanks joe. there is a lovely rooftop terrace with lots of seating areas and flowering plants.we took wine and glasses up and had a nice time enjoying the sunset.we will definately come again....

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peggy34bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Reserving by telephone was a bit challenging, speaking with a call centre agent who wasn't very familiar with the area. But eventually, she found us a great price and we were on our way. Unfortunately, it seemed she mis-heard the spelling of my email address, so i never received a confirmation.

But the front desk clerk was very friendly and helpful -- he found our reservation quickly. Check-in was quick and pleasant.

The parking lot was very small, but we were able to get a spot, and it was free. Our vehicle suffered no damage or vandalism in the lot overnight.

The room was very small, the queen-sized bed taking up most of the available floor space. Indeed, we had to almost turn sideways to walk between the bed and the furniture. The TV was a nice LG flatscreen, but we didn't use it. The air conditioning unit was wall mounted above the door and kept the room at a comfortable temperature. The washroom was very nice, new fixtures, including a shower head mounted high enough that i didn't have to duck my head under it.

Dinner in the restaurant downstairs was very good, even though we arrived very near closing time. Our meals were delicious, service was great, and value was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billandpatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2010

I found the staff very helpful, reccomended an amazing sea side restaurant the night we arrived on mothers day, on the day we left they printed a copy of the ferry services and helped explain how to get there excellent experience

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troyandnicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 3, 2010

This 'boutique style' hotel is my favorite because: the staff are fantastically pleasant and helpful; the rooms are comfortable and attractive, especially the ocean-view ones; the prices reasonable; the location is unbeatable - the sea-walk across the street, 'old town' heritage sites within 10 minute walking distance, a wonderful new theatre in the next block; shopping centre 2 minutes drive, or easy walk. The Dorchester rates 10 out of 10 in every category, including the restaurants where the breakfasts are amazingly good! I haven't tried the other meals there.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2010

I was weary to stay here because a previous review had mentioned bedbugs and I have become extremely anxious about bedbugs given BC's outbreak around the olympics. I checked a few rooms at the suggestion of the staff and was pleased to find no trace at all of any bedbugs. We also were able to get a good price based on staying a few nights.

Overall, the rooms were very clean, the staff--both at the front desk and in the restaurant--were exceptionally kind and hospitable (more than almost anything other place I have stayed). Funny how far that one aspect goes in an overall impression.

It is a beautiful location in the heart of a character part of the downtown.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eau2water
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2010

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay at our hotel. This historic hotel is constantly undergoing improvements with the new ownership. Currently all of our guest rooms are being installed with Air Conditioning and this should be completed by May 2010. We were also recently upgraded to a AAA/CAA 3 Diamond rating. We hope to be of service again next time you visit Nanaimo. Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews