We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (632)
Filter reviews
632 results
Traveller rating
169
235
133
66
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
169
235
133
66
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews church street older hotel harbour view downtown nanaimo parking lot is queen bed great view front desk staff central location vancouver island worcester ferry victoria bc shampoo walkway bastion
Filter
Updating list...
593 - 598 of 632 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2007

The Dorchester is a sound hotel. It is clean and roomy with all you would expect. The location is good in that it is yards from the harbour and the marina and dead handy for getting the ferry link over to Horse Shoe bay. Nanaimo itself is fairly quiet, there was a sprinkling of bars and restaurants and the "odd" club, and when I say "odd" I mean ODD! Some major development seems to be taking place in the town front this may or may not help the place as some of the buildings are out of place to the feel of the town, such as the 60 floor sky scraper plonked down at the harbour ? bizzaar! Anyway, getting back to the hotel, its fine, stff helpful and let us store our bags while we mooched around the half empty streets waiting for the ferry. Oh by the way the Nanaimo bar is great and a must with a coffee! Thats about it really, in summary good hotel in a convenient handily placed two bit town with some charm. Oh and the shopping centre is a throw back to the 70's but better than nothing! Good luck!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pompeypaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2007

Stayed here several days while attending a conference. Room was fine, staff very friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DEAToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 5, 2007

Had a great experience. Friendly helpful staff and a great dining room with seafood specialty. Also had some shops such as a hair salon and oxygen spa on site. I read some of the reviews in past and was pleasantly surprised, apparently the building has new ownership and management. Great Job on the renovations that were just completed. I was told they spent $1 million on upgrades. They also have bicycles available free of charge for exploring the harbour paths. Wow, what a great feature, we enjoyed the bike ride and returned exhausted to have a drink in the nice lobby lounge. Very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank chimo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 12, 2007

We have been stay here once in 2005, we like this one mostly the view and convenience. The stuff was friendly at time and room was quite. So this time when we came back from Tofino we headed nowhere to this hotel, and guess what? The front desk stuff was rude, and he never smalls to no one. Finally we got the room 206 but it actually the 106 since the hotel were on renovation and the room number has been rearranged, but you know what? NO ONE told us as at check-in. And we were told the room has the 'ocean view' at check-in, but when we get into the room we realize that you can only see the ocean by put your head out the window. Plus, the complimentary WIFI was deadly SLOW, I can hardly get the full web page loaded before I get the timeout from the browser.
If you don't have anywhere to stay, pick this hotal, otherwise, avoid it.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Cipherworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 23, 2006

yes, the view on the harbour is excellent BUT you can get the same view from at least another major hotel in the same area of the city and without the inconveniences of this very small and badly serviced hotel.
forget the parking, it is a nightmare. From the parking, the access to the hotel lobby is another problem. You have to go around the block with your heavy luggages. Hopefully, it would not be by a rainy day.
Inside, it looks like a hotel of a below standard hotel, not at all what you would expect from a standard Best Western. It was my first bad experience with an hotel of this chain, mainly that this was the main reason to rent my rooms there.
The service at the reception was to say the least unwelcoming by someone who was... replacing someone who had left recently and who had enough on his plate and make you feel bad about that.
Nothing to make me come back and recommend this hotel. When l read the other reviews, l feel lucky though l did not get bitten by bed bugs....

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank gillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews