We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
GlobeTrotting361871

Rooms are overpriced for what you get.

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Apr 27, 2024
My room was extremely basic for a $200+ room. Hotel doesn’t even offer bottled water for guests. The bathroom very small and was configured in such a way that made it hard to move around. The room was extra hot and the heater wasn’t even on. Had to sleep with both windows open to make the temperature comfortable so had to deal with street noise and a heat pump right outside the window that kept going on and off for the entire night. I had a horrible sleep.
Date of stay: April 2024
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$223
C$209
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$209
  • Expedia.com
    C$209
  • Hotels.com
    C$209
0.1 km from Best Western Dorchester Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Double Kitchen Suite at the Buccaneer Inn
C$250
C$230
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
    C$230
  • Hotels.com
    C$250
2.2 km from Best Western Dorchester Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$209
C$179
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    C$179
  • Hotels.com
    C$179
  • Vio.com
    C$179
0.8 km from Best Western Dorchester Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$225
Fully refundable
Join Wyndham Rewards Free
  • Priceline
    C$212
  • Booking.com
    C$212
  • Hotels.com
    C$213
1.2 km from Best Western Dorchester Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$229
  • Expedia.com
    C$199
  • Hotels.com
    C$199
  • Priceline
    C$229
8.2 km from Best Western Dorchester Hotel
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
C$189
Fully refundable
Join Wyndham Rewards Free
  • Booking.com
    C$189
  • Algotels
    C$149
  • Priceline
    C$189
2.2 km from Best Western Dorchester Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our Great Room - lounge, fireplace, library, FREE wi-fi, computer kiosks, dining and more!
C$119
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
    C$119
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$69
  • Hotels.com
    C$69
0.1 km from Best Western Dorchester Hotel
Free Wifi
C$256
C$219
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$219
  • Expedia.com
    C$219
  • Hotels.com
    C$219
10.6 km from Best Western Dorchester Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior View
C$205
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$205
  • Vio.com
    C$198
  • Priceline
    C$205
8.3 km from Best Western Dorchester Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Courtyard
    C$203
  • Booking.com
    C$215
  • Hotels.com
    C$215
0.3 km from Best Western Dorchester Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Nanaimo
Reviews (876)
Filter reviews
877 results
Traveller rating
264
300
164
87
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
264
300
164
87
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews harbour view downtown nanaimo location is great front desk staff nice view worcester bw ferry port conference walkway shampoo bc bastion
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 877 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2024

We like break up our road-trip on the Island with an overnight stay at this place. It provides a a great pit stop and rest from a long driving. Nanaimo is sometimes hard to find a reliable spot, but this one works for us. Would recommend if you're not looking for anything fancy,

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 10, 2024

This Hotel is at a great location. The restaurant is great. Lots of burgers on the menu:) Parking is no issue. Enough coffee shops around the area. Room was good with a small mark that the bathroom was a bit dated.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank V600RNpeterk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vani Sharma, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2024

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you found our location convenient, our restaurant delightful, and our parking facilities to your satisfaction. Your feedback about the room is greatly appreciated as well. We understand your comment about the bathrooms, and we want to assure you that we take your feedback seriously. We are currently in the process of upgrading our rooms, with close to half of the hotel already completed. We are confident that these upgrades will enhance the overall experience for our guests, and we can't wait for you to see the improvements on your next visit!
Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your thoughts. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 1, 2024

This hotel was clean, and centrally located in the downtown area by the harbour.. The restaurant (The View) was wonderful and the lounges were great. Staff were personable and flexible. My requests were immediately tended to and overall it was a great stay in Nanaimo.

Date of stay: January 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank jtonski
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vani Sharma, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2024

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive experience with us! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our clean and centrally located hotel. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another great stay in Nanaimo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 27, 2023

Stayed in downtown Nanaimo at Christmas while visiting family. Have done this several times before. Staff at the Dorchester are lovely and helpful as always. Comfy room. Perfect location, close to everything, including the beautiful waterfront. We’ll be back

Date of stay: December 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank VictoriaBCtraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vani Sharma, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2023

Thank you for dedicating your time to share your valuable feedback with us. We are thrilled to learn that you found the hotel's location convenient, the staff helpful, and the rooms comfortable. Your positive review is truly appreciated. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 17, 2023

Everything from check in to check out was easy and the staff at this location are very friendly. The room was clean and very comfortable and had a gorgeous view. There was no continental breakfast at this location but I recommend trying Top Notch because it was really good food

Date of stay: December 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Loveandlive81
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vani Sharma, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2023

Thank you for taking out time to write this review. I am glad you found everything up to your liking. In regards to the breakfast, each Best Western has the option to have either continental breakfast or an attached breakfast restaurant, we have the attached breakfast restaurant at this location. We hope to see you back in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews