We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$128
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$158
US$144
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$62/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$165
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$105
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$88/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Painted Turtle Guesthouse(Nanaimo)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$166
US$156
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (363)
Filter reviews
363 results
Traveller rating
216
103
29
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
216
103
29
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsferry terminalcorner studioseparate bedroomsmall kitchenno air conditioningvancouver islandfull kitchenroom was spotlesshorseshoe baybc ferriesstay there againstayed one nightwater viewfriendly hostseasy accessdowntown nanaimomarlene
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 363 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2018 via mobile

We only stayed here one night on our way back to Horseshoe Bay from Cormorant Island but my husband and I both agreed we’d have liked to have stayed longer once we saw the accommodation. A lot of thought has gone into the rooms and it has everything you could need. Very handy for the ferry too.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuccaneerDave, Owner at Buccaneer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2018

Thank you Rachel for your kind sentiments. We have indeed put a lot of thought into our rooms. We have tried to ensure that all the things we like to have when we are travelling are in our rooms. We do look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Vancouver Island.

Your hosts,

Dave and Marlene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 5, 2018 via mobile

We’ve stayed for two nights and we found it very clean and comfy. The kitchen is well equipped for travelers like us. The Buccaneer is perfectly located close to the ferry terminal and the marina. Marlene and Dave are great and friendly hosts.

Stayed: June 2018
1  Thank Josef and Birgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuccaneerDave, Owner at Buccaneer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2018

Glad you enjoyed diving the wrecks in Nanaimo Josef and Birgit! I was great to have met you both and we very happy your enjoyed your stay! We look forward to welcoming you back for more scuba diving in Nanaimo!

Your hosts,

Dave and Marlene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2018

I stayed one night in the King corner water view room. It was like being in a one bedroom apartment. I was very comfortable and definitely would have been happy staying longer. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. It's also super close to the ferry to Vancouver.

Room Tip: Can be some car noise during the ferry times.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chargergirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuccaneerDave, Owner at Buccaneer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2018

Thanks chargergirl66 for your kind words. Both of our King Suites are spacious suites with seperate bedrooms, comfy furniture. Our Fireplace Suite is the largest of the two and has 180 degree views of Departure Bay, Newcastle Channel and towards the Harbour in addition to a spacious living room with 2 couches and a wood burning fireplace.

And we are indeed close to the Departure Bay ferry, 30 seconds drive or 10 minutes on foot.

We look forward to welcoming you back chargergirl66!

Your hosts,

Dave and Marlene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 12, 2018

We had 2 nights in Downtown Vancouver after a 15 day Cruise from Japan to Vancouver
The Going Hotel Rate Was Very Expensive over $400 a night for a Modern Hotel .
We stayed in a old run hotel at $200 a night , then Caught the Ferry to Namaimo booked
the Buccaneer Inn and were so happy to find a huge room with everything one needs and more . Walk to The Irish Pub 5 min away from the Inn had a great meal and a few lagers . All So Good !

Room Tip: Suite with water View is best .
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuccaneerDave, Owner at Buccaneer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2018

We are excellent value especially compared to similar properties in Vancouver PhilJ and thanks for noting that! We try to have all that one needs for a comfy stay. Our convenient location near the ferry is also convenient to Beefeaters Steak and Seafood restaurant and Millers and Carlos O'Bryans pubs.

Thanks for your patronage and look forward to seeing you again.

Your hosts,

Dave and Marlene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 5, 2018 via mobile

When I made this reservation it was because we needed a kitchenette. We were very pleasantly surprised to find a spacious king suite with super comfy bed, awesome bath, every item making it feel like home. The road is a bit noisy. Across from marinas, water view, windows have awnings so no glare. They’ve truly taken every effort in making this place sparkle and it shows!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews