We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Clean”
Review of Port-O-Call Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Port-O-Call Motel
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Nanaimo
Reviewed 1 August 2008

I checked into this hotel late at night. Although the staff was friendly, the room was quite dirty. The toilet was dirty and the floor had not been vacuumed. The bed was made but the sheets smelled like they had not been washed. Luckily I had a sleeping bag with me in the car. When I complained the next day, the office staff just laughed about it because they were looking for a new housekeeper anyway.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Colson713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for Port-O-Call Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2008

We were on our last days of our trip to Vancouver Island, and were for the most part staying with family. We decided that we needed a couple of nights to ourselves away from everyone and all the commotion to get some much needed rest as I live with fibromyalgia. We had stayed one night at another hotel just across and up the street that was very dirty and very noisy and had some questionable 2am male/female activities going on..(I think you get the picture). So we saw that this hotel had a pool and my daughters were bored and we booked a room for one night.
Well all I can say is thank god it was only for one night!
The room was VERY small and MUSTY, so it was difficult for me especially with my illness.
The pool was questionable as to cleanliness (bugs and leaves and such), although my girls did swim in it, as it was terribly hot and we decided it was no different than mother natures lakes. Besides the air conditioner did not work properly, and it helped cool them off enough to sleep.
Sleep, ah....There were renovations going on that woke us in the early morning.
I do want to say the new owner lady was very friendly and tried very hard. She seemed to be genuine in wanting to get her newly owned hotel up to par.
The rate was also very good (based on location only), but it would go a long way if the other things were better.
There were restaurants and such nearby including White Spot which is my personal favorite so that made things nice for breakfast in the morning.
Not the worst hotel/motel we have ever stayed in. (The one across the street was awful), but not the best (by price/type) either.

  • Stayed: August 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank reviews111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2008

Lets just say the hotel website is slightly misleading as to the look and comfort of this motel.

4 of us stayed at this "place" for 1 week as there was nothing else available in Nanaimo. We had booked a suite with a kitchenette and received exactly that. 1 Queen bed, 1 single bed, and one perfectly coat hanger equipped pull out couch. Its unfortunate the floor was more comfortable for my kids then the pull out.

Kitchenette = 1 plate, 1 fork, 1 spoon and a 2 burner hot plate where only one works, if you call on and off working. This was remedied by the hotel staff by stealing all the required items out of another room so they could be without.

I am thankful for my vanillorama air freshener, which made the living room bearable. I am not thankful for the moldy, musty smell in the bathroom as I was not able to cure this as it was the shower curtain itself that smelled.

Keep your shoes on in this place if you value your socks white or just wear black socks to cure the problem of cleanliness.

The room comes with a fantastic window with a view of the pool ( more on that later) The window is about 10 feet long and 5 feet tall and opens to allow plenty of air in. Oh, did I mention it also doesn't lock and allows anyone in that wants to be?

I highly recommend bringing some foldable chairs as the supplied mis-matched furniture is no more comfortable than sitting on a camels back for an extended period of time.

The "heated" pool. Well well what can I say. It certainly is heated by the sun as the heating system had a leak and was under repair. It is fantastic listening to a concrete cutter for days trying to repair this issue.

I recommend signing up on their room cleaning program since the cleaning service appeared to be optional - 2 days out of 7 no one even came to our room to make beds or bring towels.

I am certain I have forgotten a few mishaps but I think you get the idea.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Schmingie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2005

We were looking for a motel in Nanaimo to stay one night that
was relatively inexpensive and would accommodate a couple
and 2 teenagers who each needed their own bed.

Port O Call filled this requirement with a suite having a bedroom
with a queen size bed and a main room with another queen size bed and a fold out couch for $85.00 canadian. It also had a pool and a very small kitchen
area with fridge/hot plate/microwave/toaster and plates.

It was clean and very comfortable although a little worn.

On the downside there was no airconditioning and quite noisy on a warm
summer evening due to traffic noises.

I'd come again but probably prefer cooler days when you could close the
windows.

Very pleased with the suite arrangement.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank thunderingfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank plien2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank nataliesL6646LU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Federica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
0.9 km away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
1.5 km away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,467 reviews
1.4 km away
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 18 in Nanaimo
516 reviews
0.2 km away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 18 in Nanaimo
300 reviews
0.6 km away
Travelodge Nanaimo
Travelodge Nanaimo
#7 of 18 in Nanaimo
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port-O-Call Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port-O-Call Motel

Address: 505 Terminal Ave N, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9S 4K1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Nanaimo
Price Range: $76 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Port-O-Call Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PORT-O-CALL INN & SUITES is located in NANAIMO, British Columbia. 42 unit hotel / motel. Free parking, in-room Coffee, Tea. Close to Downtown Nanaimo, and Nanaimo Regional General Hospital. 7 minutes drive to Departure Bay to Horseshoe Bay Ferry Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Port-O-Call Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing