We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Erin N

Don't plan on finding a parking spot after you check in!

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Oct 27, 2023via mobile
Great service from Ian at the front desk, but other staff failed to mention that there was no parking available after charging me for space, were snarky - and when asked about parking claimed there were 300 spaces - despite knowing the hotel's portion were closed for resurfacing. Circled lot forever - finally parked to find a city issued ticket when I returned. Service sucked, closed access to lot required circumnavigating the region with luggage to find access., wifi was crappy and tv had no signal. Stay at the new Marriott across the street if you value time, service and a pleasant stay.
Date of stay: October 2023
Room Tip: Wait until the garage is repaired before trying to park here!
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David McQuinn, General Manager at Coast Bastion Hotel, responded to this review
Responded Nov 1, 2023
Erin

I am sorry that you did not have a great experience and can feel your frustration about the parking experience. As I mentioned, both downtown hotels share the same lot and are struggling with the city taking one floor out for resurfacing. We normally have been able to manage the parking experience without issue, the night you were here the VICC had a large convention, and the city lot could not handle the volume. On November 10th the lot will return to normal. Again, please accept my apology for the parking insanity.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$203
C$174
Fully refundable
  • BestWestern.com
    C$174
  • Expedia.com
    C$174
  • Hotels.com
    C$174
0.1 km from Coast Bastion Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Exterior
C$215
  • Courtyard
    C$188
  • Hotels.com
    C$215
  • Expedia.com
    C$215
0.2 km from Coast Bastion Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
C$225
Fully refundable
Join Wyndham Rewards Free
  • Booking.com
    C$212
  • Expedia.com
    C$213
  • Priceline
    C$213
1.3 km from Coast Bastion Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$229
  • Expedia.com
    C$211
  • Hotels.com
    C$211
  • Priceline
    C$229
8.2 km from Coast Bastion Hotel
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
The Double Kitchen Suite at the Buccaneer Inn
C$249
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$249
  • Hotels.com
    C$249
  • Priceline
    C$249
2.3 km from Coast Bastion Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$135
Join Wyndham Rewards Free
  • Booking.com
    C$135
  • Algotels
    C$133
  • Expedia.com
    C$135
0.9 km from Coast Bastion Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$166
Fully refundable
  • Wyndham
    C$166
  • Algotels
    C$149
  • Expedia.com
    C$166
2.2 km from Coast Bastion Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$256
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$256
  • travelup.com
    C$248
  • Hotels.com
    C$256
10.7 km from Coast Bastion Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our Great Room - lounge, fireplace, library, FREE wi-fi, computer kiosks, dining and more!
C$119
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$119
  • Hotels.com
    C$119
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$119
0.1 km from Coast Bastion Hotel
Free Wifi
Exterior View
C$205
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$205
  • Hotels.com
    C$205
  • Priceline
    C$205
8.4 km from Coast Bastion Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Nanaimo
Reviews (2,416)
Filter reviews
2,416 results
Traveller rating
1,462
666
174
68
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,462
666
174
68
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews minnoz restaurant great view front desk staff downtown nanaimo harbour view hotel restaurant great room business trip comfortable beds parkade conference elevator port theatre ian float ferry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 2,416 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2023

Recently did a road trip up island with a friend and the Coast Bastion in Nanaimo was by far the best hotel we stayed at! The staff were immediately so welcoming and genuine, we felt at home as soon as we walked through the doors. There was large water jugs in the lobby (one iced and one iced with cucumber infusion) which were well stocked through our stay which was great because it was a hot couple of days! The room was very clean and updated, gorgeous view of the harbour with our own little Juliet balcony. Very private, massive bathroom with tons of counter space (important for two girls travelling together). The beds were really comfy- not too soft as that always causes me to have back pain- we both slept great! The parking was easy and included, and I really can’t say enough about the staff, they were wonderful. Great location, easy to get to. Highly recommend!

Room tip: You can book this hotel through scene points! Great value and location
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David McQuinn, General Manager at Coast Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2023

Thank you for the kind words and the 5 star review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2023 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights at this excellent hotel so we could attend the local Blues Festival held in a park nearby. Our room 410 was spacious and had a lovely view over the harbour. It was clean and well equipped. The staff are helpful and have some nice recommendations for local shops and restaurants close by. The hotel’s restaurant serves delicious homemade soups and has an extensive menu. The wait staff are very friendly and efficient as are all the staff at this hotel
We would recommend it to all travellers including those with dogs
We would also recommend the Nanaimo museum and Seriously coffee and the Vancouver Island Military museum plus of course the Nanaimo Blues Festival which is very well run
So much to see and do in Nanaimo

Room tip: They have parking but we didn’t need it and used local taxis
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank dunmar9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David McQuinn, General Manager at Coast Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2023

Thank you for the 5 star review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2023

Friendly staff, comfortable beds and great view of water front. Rooms included telephone, TV, coffee machine, fridge, alarm clock, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, A/C and in-room safe.
The only down side was another guest who dog barked when they walked between the elevator and their room.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bcguy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David McQuinn, General Manager at Coast Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2023

thank you for the great feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2023

Great place to stay in Nanaimo. 6 minutes from ferry, perfect for a late ferry arrival ( got there at 9 pm and it was a quick drive to the hotel). Parking is only $9 and the room is great. View was amazing, great view of the harbor. Nice area to walk around. Can walk to the grocery store from hotel and also a nice walk around the harbor

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank joebobeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David McQuinn, General Manager at Coast Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2023

Thank you for reminding guests that we are a water front hotel with amazing views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2023

NOT DISABLED FRIENDLY. My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights last week (1 night & later 2 nights). On both occasions the small lift/elevator to move disabled people between the lobby and the dining room would not function without staff intervention. Basic design or installation error. ALSO: the showers in the bathrooms are UNSAFE as they lack both safety grab bars and stipled nonslip floors. POSITIVE NOTES: Dining room staff friendly & helpful; Great View from suite. BUT Management very defensive re safety problems with the attitude of "ho hum, we've heard all this before".

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DAVE_NIAGARA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David McQuinn, General Manager at Coast Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2023

I saw your notes and I am sorry that you felt your concern was not properly addressed. The lift is new and I'm disappointed that the unit did not meet your needs. We'll be following up with the installer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews