We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sherilee B
Duncan, Canada

Lovely relaxing weekend getaway!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Apr 29, 2024
We have stayed at this hotel several times. This was the first time we have stayed at it since the renovations. We were in a King OceanFront room. The room was stunning! From the moment we stepped of the elevator you could feel the difference. The blue/watery theme really captured the Island feel.

The check in process was easy. The room was spotless. The bed was comfortable. We chose to bring food in because why waste that amazing view. Parking was secure.

We would highly recommend the newly renovated suites.

Thank you for an enjoyable getaway!
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David McQuinn, General Manager at Coast Bastion Hotel, responded to this review
Responded May 1, 2024
Thank you for celebrating the renovation! Its been a 4 year journey to get the renovation completed. At this point we're looking forward to inviting people into experience the work we've completed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$203
C$174
Fully refundable
  • BestWestern.com
    C$174
  • Expedia.com
    C$174
  • Hotels.com
    C$174
0.1 km from Coast Bastion Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Exterior
C$215
  • Courtyard
  • Booking.com
    C$215
  • Expedia.com
    C$215
0.2 km from Coast Bastion Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
C$225
Fully refundable
Join Wyndham Rewards Free
  • Booking.com
    C$212
  • Priceline
    C$213
  • Expedia.com
    C$213
1.3 km from Coast Bastion Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$229
  • Expedia.com
    C$211
  • Hotels.com
    C$211
  • Priceline
    C$229
8.2 km from Coast Bastion Hotel
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
The Double Kitchen Suite at the Buccaneer Inn
C$249
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$249
  • Hotels.com
    C$249
  • Priceline
    C$249
2.3 km from Coast Bastion Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$135
Join Wyndham Rewards Free
  • Booking.com
    C$135
  • Algotels
    C$133
  • Expedia.com
    C$135
0.9 km from Coast Bastion Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$166
Fully refundable
  • Wyndham
    C$166
  • Algotels
    C$149
  • Expedia.com
    C$166
2.2 km from Coast Bastion Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$256
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$256
  • travelup.com
    C$248
  • Hotels.com
    C$256
10.7 km from Coast Bastion Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our Great Room - lounge, fireplace, library, FREE wi-fi, computer kiosks, dining and more!
C$119
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$119
  • Hotels.com
    C$119
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$119
0.1 km from Coast Bastion Hotel
Free Wifi
Exterior View
C$205
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    C$205
  • Expedia.com
    C$205
  • Priceline
    C$205
8.4 km from Coast Bastion Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Nanaimo
Reviews (2,416)
Filter reviews
2,416 results
Traveller rating
1,462
666
174
68
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,462
666
174
68
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews minnoz restaurant great view front desk staff downtown nanaimo harbour view hotel restaurant great room business trip comfortable beds parkade conference elevator port theatre ian float ferry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 2,416 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2024 via mobile

I needed an operation at the local hospital and as I live north of Nanaimo I decided to stay at the Coast Bastion. What really struck me was the comfort of the room and the amazing service from all staff who helped me considerably especially on my departure post op

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Cosmopolitan592282
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David McQuinn, General Manager at Coast Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2024

Wow, thank you for the amazing review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 19, 2023 via mobile

We did a staycation for two nights and it was absolutely wonderful. From the service in setting up the reservation to checking in, to the spectacular room with even better views, to an amazing meal at Minnoz, everything was outstanding. Parking is easy and convenient. The restaurant and lounge are tremendous and the chef obviously knows the best planning and execution for the menu, located downtown near the amazing waterfront for walkway and views, and the streets around have such interesting stores and options. Cannot recommend it higher. Renovations planned will only make it better!

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David McQuinn, General Manager at Coast Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2023

Thank you for the amazing recommendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2023 via mobile

Great service from Ian at the front desk, but other staff failed to mention that there was no parking available after charging me for space, were snarky - and when asked about parking claimed there were 300 spaces - despite knowing the hotel's portion were closed for resurfacing. Circled lot forever - finally parked to find a city issued ticket when I returned. Service sucked, closed access to lot required circumnavigating the region with luggage to find access., wifi was crappy and tv had no signal. Stay at the new Marriott across the street if you value time, service and a pleasant stay.

Room tip: Wait until the garage is repaired before trying to park here!
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Erin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David McQuinn, General Manager at Coast Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2023

Erin

I am sorry that you did not have a great experience and can feel your frustration about the parking experience. As I mentioned, both downtown hotels share the same lot and are struggling with the city taking one floor out for resurfacing. We normally have been able to manage the parking experience without issue, the night you were here the VICC had a large convention, and the city lot could not handle the volume. On November 10th the lot will return to normal. Again, please accept my apology for the parking insanity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2023

Recently did a road trip up island with a friend and the Coast Bastion in Nanaimo was by far the best hotel we stayed at! The staff were immediately so welcoming and genuine, we felt at home as soon as we walked through the doors. There was large water jugs in the lobby (one iced and one iced with cucumber infusion) which were well stocked through our stay which was great because it was a hot couple of days! The room was very clean and updated, gorgeous view of the harbour with our own little Juliet balcony. Very private, massive bathroom with tons of counter space (important for two girls travelling together). The beds were really comfy- not too soft as that always causes me to have back pain- we both slept great! The parking was easy and included, and I really can’t say enough about the staff, they were wonderful. Great location, easy to get to. Highly recommend!

Room tip: You can book this hotel through scene points! Great value and location
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David McQuinn, General Manager at Coast Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2023

Thank you for the kind words and the 5 star review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2023 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights at this excellent hotel so we could attend the local Blues Festival held in a park nearby. Our room 410 was spacious and had a lovely view over the harbour. It was clean and well equipped. The staff are helpful and have some nice recommendations for local shops and restaurants close by. The hotel’s restaurant serves delicious homemade soups and has an extensive menu. The wait staff are very friendly and efficient as are all the staff at this hotel
We would recommend it to all travellers including those with dogs
We would also recommend the Nanaimo museum and Seriously coffee and the Vancouver Island Military museum plus of course the Nanaimo Blues Festival which is very well run
So much to see and do in Nanaimo

Room tip: They have parking but we didn’t need it and used local taxis
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank dunmar9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David McQuinn, General Manager at Coast Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2023

Thank you for the 5 star review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews