We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Buccaneer Inn(Nanaimo)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
US$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$114
US$56
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$168
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Painted Turtle Guesthouse(Nanaimo)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveller rating
80
120
74
20
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
120
74
20
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightfront deskcontinental breakfastconvenience storepetrol stationwhite spot restaurantroom was cleanyogurtdragon boat festivalboiled eggsno elevatorclose to downtownferry terminalbit datedcheck in was quickwill stay there againstayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 312 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2017

Chose the Travel Lodge for a one night stop over on route from Whistler to Victoria. Check in was a little but slow due to the fact that the nice man Gerald thought it was weird that he didn't have any paperwork from booking .com. In fact he said it was weird several times, regardless of that our trusty tour guide of JM Tours, had a copy of our booking and we were soon settling into our basic room. It was clean and tidy so what more could we ask for. Breakfast was in a small room along the corridor and was adequate.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2017

The friendly check-in clerk applied a CAA discount to reduce our daily rate, then provided excellent suggestions and directions to restaurants for dinner. For an older hotel, the rooms were well appointed, very clean and spacious and surprisingly quiet for being on such a busy street. The street was under construction, and the management had a lovely note in the room apologizing for any noise that may arise due to the construction, assuring us that construction hours would only be during business hours - but there were ear plugs provided, just in case we wanted a daytime nap. Nice, thoughtful touch. The complimentary breakfast had all the standard items. Overall, the hotel was excellent value. Marg T

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2017 via mobile

This hotel is awesome they have such big rooms and an awesome breakfast free wifi and I live on gabriola island so it's not to bad of a walk nice view of the ocean and there's a park just down the road I definitely recommend this place

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2017

The hotel was dated, but clean with large room. The check in was quick. Clerk applied CAA discount and provided suggestions & directions for dining. Would definitely stay here again. Breakfast had all the usual fare.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pat155013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2017 via mobile

So the area near the hotel is not too bad, the waterfront is close and very pretty and scenic.
Then you go inside the hotel...
Have you ever gone inside a hotel/motel where there is a bar in the building and the hallways smell like beer and vomit and maybe urine?
Well that is this place, except there is no bar just intoxicated people sitting in the lobby upon check-in. Yeah great first impression.
They don't have pics of the hallways and carpets on the website and not the over-made rooms they want you to think they have, otherwise you wouldn't choose this hotel -
let me tell you!
The only thing that gave this hotel one rating was the kitchenette in the room because I prefer making dinner than always eating at restaurants while traveling. I also wasn't impressed with the parking signage TAPED to the trees (see pic), extremely tacky.
You're probably wondering if it's so bad why did I stay right? There was no vacancy on the other hotels I like and this one said close to the waterfront so I thought "scenery = nice hotel"....yeah not the case here.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank kimberb8808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_TravelodgeNanaimo, Guest Relations at Travelodge Nanaimo, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2017

We are sorry to hear you had a negative experience during your initial stay with us. We are glad however, that we were able to address your concerns and you returned to us for another three night stay. During this time Nanaimo was very busy with community events - Canada Day celebrations as well as the Dragon Boat Festival. Signage is not usually necessary, but on this occasion we felt it important to post something to ensure that our guests, like yourself, had a guaranteed parking space.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews