We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny ”
Review of Travelodge Nanaimo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Nanaimo
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Nanaimo
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

The rooms are really small and some rooms have a really strange smell. Staff at the front aren't as personable as the staff serving the breakfast area...in fact when we checked in, this particular staff barely smiled.

We choose this place because most places were booked due the Show and Shine car show at Parksville...wouldn't go back...

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Beachbum9206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_TravelodgeNanaimo, Guest Relations at Travelodge Nanaimo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We appreciate you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We take our guest comments very seriously as it helps us address any areas of concern and improve our service and guest experience.

We have a variety of rooms here at Travelodge Nanaimo. We encourage guests to let our front desk staff know upon check-in if they are not satisfied with a room. We will do our best to accommodate you in a different room if possible.

We are sorry to hear you did not have a positive experience at check in. Our front desk staff are consistently rated very highly by guests for providing friendly and excellent customer service. We do hope you will choose to stay with us on a future visit to Nanaimo and enjoy our hospitality.

Best Regards,
Travelodge Nanaimo
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Nanaimo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2017

We booked a king room with less than a week before travelling (on a long weekend) so we were not sure what to expect.

What we got was a gorgeous, 5* room (with slightly lower-star hallways/lobby, but heck I'm not sleeping there!), and a beautiful spotless bathroom. The balcony was a nice touch but unnecessary as we could walk to the water in less than 5 minutes, and by car we could get anywhere super fast!

The breakfast had everything you could need and then some, and while it was a little crazy-busy and crowded with the small space, the deck helped. The ladies manning that breakfast were incredible though, and we were very pleased (and full) both mornings. The front desk ladies were also incredible, even stopping us in the morning to check on what we thought of our dinner the night before so they could use our feedback for future guests - excellent service!

We went from here to the Travellodge in Parksville, and next time we will simply book a week in Nanaimo and visit Parksville for the day - I like the feeling of luxury I had in our room in Nanaimo more than anywhere else we stayed this trip

Room Tip: the top floor was quiet - only the room doors make noise (a lot, to be fair, but that's the gues...
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tpicone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

Chose the Travel Lodge for a one night stop over on route from Whistler to Victoria. Check in was a little but slow due to the fact that the nice man Gerald thought it was weird that he didn't have any paperwork from booking .com. In fact he said it was weird several times, regardless of that our trusty tour guide of JM Tours, had a copy of our booking and we were soon settling into our basic room. It was clean and tidy so what more could we ask for. Breakfast was in a small room along the corridor and was adequate.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

The friendly check-in clerk applied a CAA discount to reduce our daily rate, then provided excellent suggestions and directions to restaurants for dinner. For an older hotel, the rooms were well appointed, very clean and spacious and surprisingly quiet for being on such a busy street. The street was under construction, and the management had a lovely note in the room apologizing for any noise that may arise due to the construction, assuring us that construction hours would only be during business hours - but there were ear plugs provided, just in case we wanted a daytime nap. Nice, thoughtful touch. The complimentary breakfast had all the standard items. Overall, the hotel was excellent value. Marg T

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

This hotel is awesome they have such big rooms and an awesome breakfast free wifi and I live on gabriola island so it's not to bad of a walk nice view of the ocean and there's a park just down the road I definitely recommend this place

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

The hotel was dated, but clean with large room. The check in was quick. Clerk applied CAA discount and provided suggestions & directions for dining. Would definitely stay here again. Breakfast had all the usual fare.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pat155013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

So the area near the hotel is not too bad, the waterfront is close and very pretty and scenic.
Then you go inside the hotel...
Have you ever gone inside a hotel/motel where there is a bar in the building and the hallways smell like beer and vomit and maybe urine?
Well that is this place, except there is no bar just intoxicated people sitting in the lobby upon check-in. Yeah great first impression.
They don't have pics of the hallways and carpets on the website and not the over-made rooms they want you to think they have, otherwise you wouldn't choose this hotel -
let me tell you!
The only thing that gave this hotel one rating was the kitchenette in the room because I prefer making dinner than always eating at restaurants while traveling. I also wasn't impressed with the parking signage TAPED to the trees (see pic), extremely tacky.
You're probably wondering if it's so bad why did I stay right? There was no vacancy on the other hotels I like and this one said close to the waterfront so I thought "scenery = nice hotel"....yeah not the case here.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank kimberb8808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_TravelodgeNanaimo, Guest Relations at Travelodge Nanaimo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are sorry to hear you had a negative experience during your initial stay with us. We are glad however, that we were able to address your concerns and you returned to us for another three night stay. During this time Nanaimo was very busy with community events - Canada Day celebrations as well as the Dragon Boat Festival. Signage is not usually necessary, but on this occasion we felt it important to post something to ensure that our guests, like yourself, had a guaranteed parking space.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
0.9 km away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,467 reviews
0.4 km away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 18 in Nanaimo
300 reviews
0.8 km away
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
3.0 km away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 18 in Nanaimo
517 reviews
9.8 km away
Best Western Northgate Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Nanaimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Nanaimo

Address: 96 Terminal Ave N, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9S 4J2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Nanaimo
Price Range: $113 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Nanaimo 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes away from the BC Departure Bay Ferry Terminal and Nanaimo City Centre, British Columbia, this hotel features convenient amenities such as a free WIFI, parking and deluxe continental breakfast.Travelodge Nanaimo is within walking distance of the Harbour Promenade and Seaplanes. The Bastion Building Historical Landmark, Bowen Park and the Historical Museum are within 3 miles (5 km) of the hotel. The Morrell Bird Sanctuary is also nearby.Sauna, recreational facilities and 76 rooms guest rooms are newley renovated. Pet friendly rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Travelodge Nanaimo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Nanaimo Hotel Nanaimo
Travel Lodge Nanaimo
Nanaimo Travelodge
Nanaimo Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing