We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Buccaneer Inn(Nanaimo)
US$123
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$221
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$172
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$193
US$166
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Painted Turtle Guesthouse(Nanaimo)(Great Value!)
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (313)
Filter reviews
313 results
Traveller rating
80
121
74
20
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
121
74
20
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightfront deskcontinental breakfastconvenience storewhite spot restaurantroom was cleangas stationdragon boat festivalyogurtno elevatorhard boiled eggsferry terminalclose to downtownbit datedcheck in was quickstayed here for nightswill stay there again
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 313 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2017 via mobile

The rooms are really small and some rooms have a really strange smell. Staff at the front aren't as personable as the staff serving the breakfast area...in fact when we checked in, this particular staff barely smiled.

We choose this place because most places were booked due the Show and Shine car show at Parksville...wouldn't go back...

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Beachbum9206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_TravelodgeNanaimo, Guest Relations at Travelodge Nanaimo, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2017

We appreciate you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We take our guest comments very seriously as it helps us address any areas of concern and improve our service and guest experience.

We have a variety of rooms here at Travelodge Nanaimo. We encourage guests to let our front desk staff know upon check-in if they are not satisfied with a room. We will do our best to accommodate you in a different room if possible.

We are sorry to hear you did not have a positive experience at check in. Our front desk staff are consistently rated very highly by guests for providing friendly and excellent customer service. We do hope you will choose to stay with us on a future visit to Nanaimo and enjoy our hospitality.

Best Regards,
Travelodge Nanaimo
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2017

We booked a king room with less than a week before travelling (on a long weekend) so we were not sure what to expect.

What we got was a gorgeous, 5* room (with slightly lower-star hallways/lobby, but heck I'm not sleeping there!), and a beautiful spotless bathroom. The balcony was a nice touch but unnecessary as we could walk to the water in less than 5 minutes, and by car we could get anywhere super fast!

The breakfast had everything you could need and then some, and while it was a little crazy-busy and crowded with the small space, the deck helped. The ladies manning that breakfast were incredible though, and we were very pleased (and full) both mornings. The front desk ladies were also incredible, even stopping us in the morning to check on what we thought of our dinner the night before so they could use our feedback for future guests - excellent service!

We went from here to the Travellodge in Parksville, and next time we will simply book a week in Nanaimo and visit Parksville for the day - I like the feeling of luxury I had in our room in Nanaimo more than anywhere else we stayed this trip

Room Tip: the top floor was quiet - only the room doors make noise (a lot, to be fair, but that's the guests' fault for dropping/slamming them)
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tpicone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2017

Chose the Travel Lodge for a one night stop over on route from Whistler to Victoria. Check in was a little but slow due to the fact that the nice man Gerald thought it was weird that he didn't have any paperwork from booking .com. In fact he said it was weird several times, regardless of that our trusty tour guide of JM Tours, had a copy of our booking and we were soon settling into our basic room. It was clean and tidy so what more could we ask for. Breakfast was in a small room along the corridor and was adequate.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2017

The friendly check-in clerk applied a CAA discount to reduce our daily rate, then provided excellent suggestions and directions to restaurants for dinner. For an older hotel, the rooms were well appointed, very clean and spacious and surprisingly quiet for being on such a busy street. The street was under construction, and the management had a lovely note in the room apologizing for any noise that may arise due to the construction, assuring us that construction hours would only be during business hours - but there were ear plugs provided, just in case we wanted a daytime nap. Nice, thoughtful touch. The complimentary breakfast had all the standard items. Overall, the hotel was excellent value. Marg T

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2017 via mobile

This hotel is awesome they have such big rooms and an awesome breakfast free wifi and I live on gabriola island so it's not to bad of a walk nice view of the ocean and there's a park just down the road I definitely recommend this place

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews