We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Part of My Vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Graycliff Cottage Oceanfront B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nanaimo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Graycliff Cottage Oceanfront B&B
Ranked #10 of 32 Nanaimo B&B and Inns
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Part of My Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

This was a wonderful place! Clean, comfortable, fabulous view, and wonderful hosts. Jan and Warren made me feel "at home". Enjoyed a wonderful breakfast, and "picture postcard" sunset. This was the most enjoyable part of my week long vacation on Vancouver Island. I look forward to going again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dscottdoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Puyallup, Wa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

My husband and I came up here to explore the island and chose Graycliff Cottage to stay in. It's even better here than their website shows. The view out over the water is awesome! The rooms are clean and well-appointed, with separate entrances. We stayed in the Ocean Suite to get as much of the view as we could, but the other suites looked very nice, too. Breakfast was a full compliment of morning foods and they all tasted wonderful. The owners are friendly and interested (and interesting).

We had great weather, plus were here before the VERY local eagles and their offspring took off, so we got to see them. We spent our days exploring the island and our evenings at the B&B enjoying the view. This qualifies as a great vacation for us and we highly recommend Graycliff Cottage as a destination. Ambiance is one of my favorite words and this place definitely has it.

Room Tip: If you want to see the Georgia Straits from the comfort of your room, select the Ocean Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rianthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

The first thing that strikes you about this B&B is the amazing setting -- perched atop a cliff (as the name suggests) overlooking the Georgia Strait.

Our room -- a Garden Suite -- was on the smallish side, with a shower (no bath), but was well appointed and spotless, with an extremely comfy bed and a private entrance. Likewise, the breakfast area is small -- with a dining table that seats six -- so, when you come to eat, be prepared to socialize. This is an observation, not a criticism! (Our breakfast companions were charming as -- I hope! -- were we.) And the breakfast itself was superb.

The hot tub was scrupulously clean and well maintained, with that amazing view I mentioned. I started my Saturday morning with a soak, including a side trip down the looooong staircase for a plunge in the ocean.

As we continued our way down the island, I recommended Graycliff Cottage to everyone we met. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TallDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Great view, breakfast and hospitality. See other reviews.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljb2Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

Between the warm hospitality from Warren and Jan, the amazing view of the ocean, the 189 steps down to the waterfront, the delicious breakfasts, there is not much left to say other than welcome to paradise! This place was head and shoulders above any bed and breakfast we've ever stayed in (literally!). Even the little pub/restaurant just down the street in Lantzville had excellent food/service/view. Thank you again guys for helping to make our trip memorable. We wish we could have stayed a couple more days! We even got some great pic's of Warren feeding the Eagles.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlennSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

We absolutely loved our stay at Graycliff Cottages! Our room was very clean and comfortable, the view was spectacular, the hosts were very friendly and breakfast was great. The nesting bald eagles, stairs to the beach and the hot tub put it over the top for us. We are definitely going to recommend to others and hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nbkn8j6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

Thanks to Jan and Warren for a great place. You are right on the water with a view to die for. The breakfasts were great. We got to see Warren feed the bald eagles that have a nest in their back yard. Even got to see Orca whales. Very quiet and tucked away, but still very close to the main town. The vew from the hot top at night was superb. Again thanks the Warren and Jan for a great visit

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cattaraugus45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanaimo
7.1 km away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
15.3 km away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
4.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Maple View Bed & Breakfast
10.7 km away
Hammond Bay Oceanside Bed & Breakfast
0.6 km away
ELES ESCAPE B&B by the SEA
ELES ESCAPE B&B by the SEA
#1 of 1 in Lantzville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graycliff Cottage Oceanfront B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graycliff Cottage Oceanfront B&B

Property: Graycliff Cottage Oceanfront B&B
Address: 7550 Lantzville Rd, Nanaimo, British Columbia V0R 2H0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 4 star Canada Select Bed & Breakfast in its 20th year of operation. All rooms have private exterior keyed entrance,private en-suite bath, queen bed, Hi Def. Wide Screen TV with cable & movie channels, in room fridge & coffee bar with complimentary coffee, teas, hot chocolate and cream. Telephones for free local calls and wireless internet. We have an outdoor hot tub with panoramic views of Georgia Strait & the coastal mountains. Wonderful wildlife, nesting bald eagles, lots of humming and song birds. Staircase to a private beach. Near golf and lots of shopping. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing