We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“This hotel has mice & bed bugs!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Hotel Nanaimo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Nanaimo
Chilliwack, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This hotel has mice & bed bugs!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

My family and I attempted to stay at this hotel a few days ago, within a half hour of turning off the lights we heard a mouse trying to get into the bag our dogs food was in. Upon turning on the light and looking for the mouse (which we did find) we turned up the covers of the bed our kids were asleep in and found bugs crawling all over the mattress. We packed up and left and have not heard from the hotel since. We were told the manager would contact us. Of course we were not charged and thankfully no bugs left the hotel with us. It was horrendous to say the least!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina250, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel Nanaimo, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
Although extremely uncommon, we take any report of bed bugs extremely seriously.  Even though there was no evidence when our staff carefully inspected it the following day, our guest experiences are of utmost importance.  The suspected room was immediately quarantined, and professionally sprayed, and inspected.  Rooms would never be put back up for sale until it was 100% certain the issue has been remedied.  

Despite finding no subsequent signs, we have decided to also remove the baseboards and carpets as a precaution. There will be no tolerance regarding this issue.

We are happy our night staff were helpful, and that you were not charged.  While focused on remedying the problem immediately, we were not informed that our staff promised you a call the next day. We regret the misunderstanding. Please know that we are always glad to personally address our guest experiences in a timely manner.

Christina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    28
    22
    19
    28
See reviews for
31
32
5
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

I went to this hotel with my family and I was very pleased with the service and quality of the hotel. The rooms were clean and a good comfortable size for all of us. The staff were very accommodative and very helpful in giving us suggestions for activities for the family. We will surely go back next time we visit Nanaimo.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina250, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel Nanaimo, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
Thank you for sharing your family vacation with us, and providing your feedback Bobby P! Our staff are always encouraged to hear the results of their exceptional service from a satisfied guest. We look forward to your next visit to the island!

Christina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

We were somewhat disappointed in this property. We booked one of the newly renovated rooms and I'm glad we did as I don't know if I would have enjoyed staying in one of the older rooms.

Regarding amenities, I found the hotel to be slightly below average.

Our room looked out onto a rock wall. The room was clean and relatively spacious. I have to agree with some of the other reviews that the hallways are dark and not inviting. The pictures on the website are somewhat misleading as they make you believe that the hotel is far more high end than it really is.

I also found the rate at $169 per night to be a little steep for the quality of the property. Bear in mind this was for the refurbished room so I don't know what one of the older ones may have cost.

We did get free Internet with the rate so that was a bonus.

All in all, it was adequate, but I certainly wouldn't rush back.

Room Tip: If you book, be sure to get a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OneOldSage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina250, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel Nanaimo, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience SageGuy.  

We are glad that you were happy with your room on the newly renovated club level .  The rooms at the back of the hotel overlooking the garden and rock wall are often requested by business travellers because they tend to be very quiet.  City view rooms looking towards Mt Benson are also available.

Nanaimo room rates tend to be higher during the summer season, but we frequently offer special promotions and offers on our website. We always recommend checking our website for the latest promotions, or being part of our email contact list so that we can email you our latest offerings. As the only hotel in North Nanaimo with an indoor pool, in addition to having air-conditioning in every room, our summer season is usually a busy time for the us. So be sure to book early to take advantage of special offers.

We welcome the opportunity to exceed your expectations next time you're in town!

Christina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Hardy, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

This hotel has the elegance that it deserves...It looks rich, feels rich and has very friendly staff that are attentive to every detail.

What a difference from your usual visit to a hotel.

We were tired and ready for a bed after waiting out BC Ferries and their two ferry waits common to the summer tourist and we had no reservation so we had to stop and ask here and there for a room...

We found this hotel off the beaten path just up the street from the highway and what a "find".

I would recommend this hotel from the rooms to the food.

Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripadviser15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina250, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel Nanaimo, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience Tripadviser15! We are glad you enjoyed your visit, and welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quesnel, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

This hotel was terrible... you book it thinking it's a great hotel due to the price, but it's NOT. Once they take your money for the room, they nickle and dime you to death with internet rates, parking etc.. NOT WORTH it. Don't book it. They claim to be the best, and they are NOT.. very cheezy place.. decor was out of date for the price, not nice at all.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nanaimo hotels

Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

Couldn't have asked for more in terms of the great service. Food was terrific - breakfast, lunch, tea, and dinner. Comfortable and clean rooms. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GLD_van
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort McMurray, AB
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights while visiting family. The only positives I can think of is the central location and the larger room. We booked the Maple Suite- supposed to be the nicest, but was very dissatisfied....
1. Cheesy 1991 decor; this hotel has not been updated since it was built. Gross worn out carpets (didn't want to walk around in bare feet), faded art prints and hard lumpy furniture.
2. Hall ways were dark and gloomy- so poorly lit I could hardly see anything
3. NO ICE MACHINE. We called the front desk and asked where it was. They said we could get some from the bartender downstairs. They offered to send some up, but it never showed up. My husband had to go down and get some after 20 minutes. Lame.
4. EAR WIGS infestation in bathroom. Ewwwwww
5. Disgusting bedding. Like thin, worn, stained sheets. Thread bare blankets. And the grosses polyester bed cover. Lumpy beds and pillows.
6. Incompetent staff: we checked out early (5 am) to catch a very and we had to wake up the desk clerk from the back room.

Please, please, please: don't be fooled by the Grand name or lobby. The rooms are gross and uncomfortable, and the staff uncaring and uninterested in making your stay decent. Save your cash and stay somewhere else!
Please, please

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SunPrincess9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
0.5 km away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
8.4 km away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
10.1 km away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#7 of 19 in Nanaimo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
2.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn
8.3 km away
BEST WESTERN  Dorchester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Nanaimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Nanaimo

Property: The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
Address: 4898 Rutherford Rd, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9T 4Z4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel Nanaimo 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Grand Hotel Nanaimo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nanaimo
Nanaimo Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing