We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Nanaimo International Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nanaimo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nanaimo International Hostel
1 review
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 1 July 2011

I can't say enough good things about Nicol Street Hostel It is set in a beautiful location in Nanaimo, overlooking the ocean. This Hostel is well maintained, clean and very cozy.  This Hostel has all the ammonites to make your stay rememberable including a outdoor shower, free Internet with use of a public computer, house phone, TV room with cable, great selection of books magazines and walking distance to some of the best food Nanaimo has to offer.  The staff are all extremely nice, friendly and helpful going above and beyond what they need to to make sure your stay excellent. I also want to mention the quality or the guests that stay there. The lady who owns Nicol Street Hostel, Moni Murray, consistently make sure that guests who stay  are good natured making Nicol Street Hostel very safe and comfortable place to stay. The cost to stay depending on how long your here is under $20 dollars a night. If your visiting Nanaimo and looking for a place to stay check out Nicol Street Hostel.......

Brian C

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwcherr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    8
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
5
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

So friendly! couldn't speak higher of the staff, had a grea stay there. A really nice clean hostel. Great vibe around the place. This is the only Hostel worth staying in Nanaimo.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brasy009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2011

I stayed there for one night, because in Nanaimo I couldn't explorer much things.
It is a small Hostel with 20 beds and a very friendly staff. There is free high speed Internet, a very great kitchen, with all staff you need and a clean bathroom. In the hostel you can do a lots of things, TV, playing games, reading books. You have to walk for 4 min to the next Mall and 15 min to the Greyhound Station. As you can see, the Hostel is near to the Citydistrict, but to stay a few more days in Nanaimo, the weather should be fine. When I came there, it was the whole time raining :(

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDave_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo. B.C.
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2011

This is my very favorite hostel and I have traveled by way of hostels for the last 40 years.
There is a lovely garden and a panoramic view of a working harbour. The hostel is quiet and clean with a serene feel to it. All essentials are here with a sweet open air shower and bathroom for the campers. It's homey and comfortable and that's the reason I return every year.
Robert Wilson, N. Jersey

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiaoragirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2010

One of the best , - Lynn, Karine,Jude, Kiara, will, David, Hanna. Thanks Mary Ellen, Moni & John.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynndutertre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2010

It's not my first time staying at the NIH on Nicol Street in Nanaimo. I find it great to have lots of clean towels, a tidy fridge, a quiet time all night, and great views of Nanaimo harbour with my morning tea. I like the mid-island climate, so I have stopped in Nanaimo a few times. Since 2007 I've been stopping at Moni and John's NIH, and I LOVE IT!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malcolmmccoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

Dirty, small, smelly, noisy the worst hostel we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowflake_jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
0.7 km away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
1,378 reviews
0.8 km away
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
1.3 km away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
295 reviews
1.5 km away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 19 in Nanaimo
494 reviews
0.7 km away
Painted Turtle Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nanaimo International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nanaimo International Hostel

Property: Nanaimo International Hostel
Address: 65 Nicol St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 4S7, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Nanaimo
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing