We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stayed here for a little over a month in dorm and private room”

Nanaimo International Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nanaimo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nanaimo International Hostel
Reviewed 18 April 2015

Wonderful place to stay....very clean rooms and conscientious owners with a very, family like atmosphere....owners often shared food with guests and many guests shared food with each other...many travellors come here again and again. Private rooms available in the basement extremely reasonable prices....$30 a day.....lockers in basement available too.....overall one of the very best hostels I've ever stayed in in every way....beautiful view of harbor about 10 minutes away as well as ferry to Vancouver...couldn't say enough good things about this place. excellent Indian buffet nearby...tooo

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed at the International Hostel in Nanaimo for one night. Especially the nice staff who was really helpful and could answer all our questions about Nanaimo was great.
The hostel is very clean (especially the single bathrooms). We stayed in a four bed dorm and there was a lot of space for all of us.
If you are looking for a nice place to stay in nanaimo and you don't want to spend much money, check out this place!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miamariaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Only stayed a couple nights there, but it was very peaceful and comfortable. From the back yard you can see the water, and there is a parking lots for guests as well.

If you bring a tent you can pitch it in the back for a small fee.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I've been to this hostel many times, it's my favourite in the world because of the bargain price and just the fact that I feel at home there and always have a relaxing time with interesting people. The owners are super friendly and chilled, at the same time the place is always clean and feels safe, so it's a perfect balance - often well-run hostels feel too uptight, and relaxed ones are filthy haha. There's a good kitchen which often has free bread or other random stuff, plus they sell organic eggs from their own chickens. The location is good, just 5 mins walk from the city centre, with a great view from the garden, where it's really nice to sit out in summer. This hostel attracts all kinds of people from European backpackers to construction workers to middle-aged tea-leaf readers, and something about the place seems to encourage interaction between all these disparate types - it's a place of great exchange!

Room Tip: Avoid the front of the building if traffic noise at night bothers you. If you're a couple, there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kato_suggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I have been to some hostels before, mainly HI-international hostels. Necol hostel is just like the HI-hostels in terms of safety and great amount of travel information offered, it is different from other hostels for its super cozy and homey rooms (the common room is just lovely)
I met great people here - sharing stories, cooking together, hanging out together....and It is also so affordable!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I stayed one night with friends. Met nice tenants Moni. She gave us all the information we need in Nanaimo. Unfortunately, we only stayed one night, so did not have the chance to try everything.
with the price I paid for, the is the best place I can find in Nanaimo.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

A very welcoming environment, run by internationally experienced people. A little garden with ocean view, a small kitchen and a common room create a warm athmosphere where helpful and inspiring acquaintances are easily found.
While rooms and facilities offer very basic comfort, the place has the charm of a selfmade and creative hostel, ideal for backpacker on tight budget.
We enjoyed our stay very much, the landlady helped with our trip wherever she could. We'd definitely come back again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcoW443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
0.7 km away
Painted Turtle Guesthouse
0.7 km away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#2 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,562 reviews
11.3 km away
Best Western Northgate Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Travelodge Nanaimo
Travelodge Nanaimo
#7 of 18 in Nanaimo
297 reviews
8.8 km away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 18 in Nanaimo
343 reviews
1.9 km away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 18 in Nanaimo
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nanaimo International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nanaimo International Hostel

Address: 65 Nicol St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 4S7, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Nanaimo
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing