We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$144
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buccaneer Inn(Nanaimo)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$104
US$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$94/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$166
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Painted Turtle Guesthouse(Nanaimo)(Great Value!)
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$63
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
21
8
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
8
0
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 31 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2014

I stayed at the International Hostel in Nanaimo for one night. Especially the nice staff who was really helpful and could answer all our questions about Nanaimo was great.
The hostel is very clean (especially the single bathrooms). We stayed in a four bed dorm and there was a lot of space for all of us.
If you are looking for a nice place to stay in nanaimo and you don't want to spend much money, check out this place!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miamariaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Only stayed a couple nights there, but it was very peaceful and comfortable. From the back yard you can see the water, and there is a parking lots for guests as well.

If you bring a tent you can pitch it in the back for a small fee.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I've been to this hostel many times, it's my favourite in the world because of the bargain price and just the fact that I feel at home there and always have a relaxing time with interesting people. The owners are super friendly and chilled, at the same time the place is always clean and feels safe, so it's a perfect balance - often well-run hostels feel too uptight, and relaxed ones are filthy haha. There's a good kitchen which often has free bread or other random stuff, plus they sell organic eggs from their own chickens. The location is good, just 5 mins walk from the city centre, with a great view from the garden, where it's really nice to sit out in summer. This hostel attracts all kinds of people from European backpackers to construction workers to middle-aged tea-leaf readers, and something about the place seems to encourage interaction between all these disparate types - it's a place of great exchange!

Room Tip: Avoid the front of the building if traffic noise at night bothers you. If you're a couple, there are private double rooms which cost the same as 2 dorm beds, which is pretty unusual.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kato_suggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I have been to some hostels before, mainly HI-international hostels. Necol hostel is just like the HI-hostels in terms of safety and great amount of travel information offered, it is different from other hostels for its super cozy and homey rooms (the common room is just lovely)
I met great people here - sharing stories, cooking together, hanging out together....and It is also so affordable!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stayed one night with friends. Met nice tenants Moni. She gave us all the information we need in Nanaimo. Unfortunately, we only stayed one night, so did not have the chance to try everything.
with the price I paid for, the is the best place I can find in Nanaimo.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews