We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location and set-up for a Nanaimo stay”
Seaview Beach House, Departure Bay Beach, Nanaimo BC
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Seaview Beach House, Departure Bay Beach, Nanaimo BC
Views on both levels and a huge wrap-around deck for entertaining The huge wrap around cedar deck is ideal for entertaining friends & family.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Seaview Beach House, Departure Bay Beach, Nanaimo BC
Views on both levels and a huge wrap-around deck for entertaining
The huge wrap around cedar deck is ideal for entertaining friends & family.
Private parking for two cars at the end of a quiet laneway.
The large cedar deck for relaxing days on the ocean.
Lots of seating for outside entertaining.
A long swath of beach awaits morning or evening strolls
Watch ferries come and go while eagles soar overhead
Views, views and more views
Winning top spot of the swimming platform in Departure Bay
The large open living room has lots of comfy seating, a wood fireplace and ocean views.
Lots of windows enhance the endless ocean views.
A very comfortable place for a glass of wine and good music.
A large open area kitchen, dining and living room make for convivial living.
A gourmet well-stocked kitchen awaits your culinary talents.
Open living and dining room make this house great for gatherings with family and friends
Get your grill on with a Weber gas BBQ
The master bedroom has wrap around windows, ocean views, private ensuite and a large walk-in closet.
The master bedroom has floor to ceiling windows with endless views
The master ensuite has a one-person soaker tub with views of the ocean.
The master ensuite bathroom has a large walk in tiled shower and a soaker tub
The main floor bedroom has twin beds which can be made up as a king if you chose.
The main level modern bathroom is located across the hall from the bedroom for easy access.
The upper guest bedroom has a queen, lots of closet space and its own bathroom across the hall
The upper level main bathroom was renovated in 2012/1013 and has a large walk-in tiled shower
A large capacity washer and dryer is on site for your use
Cooper the salty sea dog enjoying her time on the ocean at Seaview Beach House.
A quiet contemplative evening on Departure Bay Beach
Sea planes overhead.
We love dogs. Bring your best furry friend so they too may enjoy a holiday
Your private access to Departure Bay Beach is via stairs from your cedar deck.
A BC Ferry coming into Departure Bay passes a cargo ship awaiting mooring in Vancouver
Sunrise on Departure Bay
The Coastal Mountain range on the mainland of BC can be seen from Seaview Beach House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
WhatFarme...
Calgary, Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great location and set-up for a Nanaimo stay”
Reviewed 1 November 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Home was well equipped and wonderfully set-up for our family of 4. Great location on Departure Bay, close to the activities we wanted to do. We had our dog with us and she loved the place, with the water so close. The only negative, and not a negative of the home, is that dogs are not supposed to be on Departure Bay beach from May - Oct (?). Of course, so many other people broke that rule. But we did make use further down the beach.

There are bikes & kayaks for your use. We did use the kayak once. Everything was in great condition and the manager was extremely helpful for any issues you might have.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location on the water, pet-friendly
Liked least: Beach wasn't accessible for our dog
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RK M
Edmonton, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dosen't Get Any Better”
Reviewed 19 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This is an extremely well located rental home. The sunrises and sunsets over Departure Bay from the private elevated deck are a highlight daily. The house is very clean and well laid out with great views from every room, especially the master bedroom and the great room and adjoining open kitchen. The yard is immaculate and well maintained as well as very private. The house is well stocked with every conceivable appliance and item. We stayed in for dinner each night to enjoy the kitchen and the view. We've stayed in a number of similar rental homes over the past few years and none were as well stocked as Seaview is. We appreciate the opportunity to bring our dog along with us and she enjoyed the property as much as we did. We especially appreciated the effort Su made to give us information as to nearby off-leash areas and raw dog food suppliers for our little carnivore. The binder that is supplied with recommendations for stores and restaurants should be consulted daily as all places we visited were top-notch. We highly recommend this rental property to responsible parties as you would be hard-pressed to find anything better for a relaxing vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and privacy
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tasdevil4...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended property with EVERYTHING you could need!”
Reviewed 19 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We recently had the pleasure of a 2 week stay at Seaview Place, and cannot recommend it high enough. Having kids aged 4 and 2, we have been renting houses more lately rather than hotels for the convenience having kitchen and laundry facilities, and your own space. The thing that sets 1300 Seaview apart from other holiday rentals we have used though, is the attention to detail, which was amazing! The kitchen has EVERYTHING you could need, and I mean EVERYTHING! The bed linen is all white and new, as are the numerous towels provided - small touches, but appreciated. The cleanliness is impeccable, the house is furnished very comfortably and all the appliances are in excellent condition. A brand new BBQ was put to good use, and the new oversize dryer was amazing. Assuming the weather co-operated, the front deck is where we spent the most time - the kids loved watching the ferries and sea-planes come and go, not to mention the Geese and occasional Seal! We used the double kayak on a few occasions to paddle around Departure Bay, which was great! The last, but not least, thing worth noting is that the Property Manager (Su) is only a SMS or call away, and very friendly and helpful too! We were very sad to leave at the end of our stay, but certainly will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail and cleanliness
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie W
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top Notch Holiday Accommodation!”
Reviewed 11 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We had the pleasure of staying at Seaview Beach House for 2 weeks, this summer (2013). We wanted a place to celebrate a special occasion, and enjoy a much needed vacation with our 4 kids and dogs (YES it's dog friendly!!!). We absolutely loved our stay in this amazing home, on the ocean. Seaview has every amenity, and a few luxuries, to ensure a relaxing stay. The attention to detail, the care, and the expertise, put into this classy, and very comfortable home, were evident from the start. Booking and contracts were accurate, professional, and worry free. The house was spotless when we arrived, and the property is consistently well maintained. Staying at Seaview would be spectacular at any time of year.
Seaview provides many family and outdoor activities - walking and exploring the beach; kayaking; fishing; swimming, etc. Several activities, stores, and places of interest, are close by and all detailed in a binder in the kitchen.
We are all looking forward to returning next summer, and for years to come!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Most relaxing and stress free vacation ever!
Liked least: Leaving...
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colleen h
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular Home Away From Home!!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Amazingly Exquisite Views and a True Home Away from Home!!!
My husband and I, with our two children and two dogs were delighted to have taken time out to kick off our summer at this beach house on Departure Bay! We were all more than welcome! This child friendly and pet friendly home really is a 5 star in our books as sometimes when a child friendly and pet friendly place is offered, the accommodations aren't anything to boast about. This is the exception to the rule!!
The house is close to amenities and comes complete with all the information you need about the area to make your stay easy and fun on every level.
The attention to detail by the owner is like nothing I have every experienced! She has set the bar very high in our families view!
We will be back, we are really looking forward to booking our next stay! Better hurry and book yours as this beauty books up quickly!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was turn key, when on vacation you want it easy and simple and it sure was!
Liked least: I am hard pressed to find anything...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
das1349
Qualicum Beach, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a GREAT experience!!!!!”
Reviewed 9 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

When you are looking for a relaxing vacation that says "Forget about it! Don't worry about it!" 1300 Seaview Place is it. We had the pleasure of staying at Sue's Departure Bay home for two weeks in May. Our visit exceeded all our expectations. The floor to ceiling walls of glass facing the waters on both levels, provided breath taking views all day. The sound of the waves on the beach lulled us to sleep at night. Sue thinks of everything and this very large house is equipped with all the items you will need for a truly wonderful vacation. The spacious kitchen has every possible tool for preparing meals. Sue even provided items we don't have in our own home. The bedrooms and bathrooms are spacious and luxuriously appointed. The spa bath tub in the master suite was my wife's favourite! Early evenings were spent relaxing on the expansive deck with our glass of wine, watching the ferry boats and sea plane traffic. Sue left many very helpful suggestions for shopping and restaurant meals and shared a lovely welcoming treat of gourmet jam and artisan bread on arrival. Sue provides a great reference binder of reminders about the house amenities and has a wonderful library of maps and tour/information guides to assist with your sightseeing plans.The home is central to many special sights and as we toured the Island from end to end, Sue's place truly felt like "coming home" at the end of the day. We travelled with our little dog, and Sue provided a wonderful bed and other "home away from home" special items for him as well. We feel very fortunate to have found this wonderful home and would recommend it to anyone wanting to experience the Vancouver Island. Thank you Sue for your special hostessing skills and for sharing 1300 Seaview Place with us. We hope to see you again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location, location, location
Liked least: I cannot think of one single item
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane1992
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at this lovely home”
Reviewed 11 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

My family had the opportunity to stay at this lovely home while attending a volleyball tournament in Nanaimo. We decided to bring the dogs and have a little vacation at the same time. We prefer to rent houses when we vacation and have experienced many vacation rentals over the years. I have to say that Su and her beautiful beach home provided one of the very best holidays we have had. The house is spotlessly clean with recent renovations throughout the home. Everything looks fresh and new from the carpets to the bedrooms to the furniture. Su is a very thoughtful host, everything one could think of needing is at hand; fully equipped kitchen, luxurious bedding. The dogs thought they were in heaven! Su provided new plush dog beds, dog bowels and excellent directions to amazing hiking trails just up the road. Of course they had the beach right out the door and when they were too tired from all the hiking and beach walking they spent their days sitting on the deck watching the seagulls and Canada Geese swoop up and down the beach. The fully fenced yard was such a help with dogs and would be for younger children as well. We were all sorry to leave and we will definately try to rebook again for a longer stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful view, spotlessly clean, lovely new renovations
Liked least: Everything was great. You do need a car I think for travel around Nanaimo
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$219
/
Night
Week
Month
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing