We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
““ROMANCE on the BAY””
Stunning custom designed home & private gardens on the ocean in Departure Bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning custom designed home & private gardens on the ocean in Departure Bay
Oceanfront with views on both levels
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Stunning custom designed home & private gardens on the ocean in Departure Bay
Oceanfront with views on both levels
Front door to main house and access to the ocean front patio
Enjoy your morning coffee from the upper deck with a gorgeous view
Your sunrise as the house faces east
Your beach directly in front of the house
Your view from the kitchen into living room, dining room and the ocean
The convivial gourmet kitchen and bar seating for 4 people
The open kitchen has views of the ocean. The dining room has seating for 8 to 10 people.
A large gas fireplace warms the living room. Gorgeous views from every angle.
This is Octavia the octopus, our house mascot. This picture was taken by our guest Michelle.
The dining area can easily seat between 8-10 people
The main floor master bedroom has a king bed, large walk-in closet, huge private ensuite bathroom
The main floor master has views of the ocean while lying in bed
Main floor master ensuite bathroom with soaker tub and shower
Upper level family room & office - amazing views!
Upper level family room with a big gas fireplace and ocean views
Upper level master bedroom with queen and access to private deck
Upper level master bedroom with queen bed and private ensuite bathroom
Upper level master bedroom privatge ensuite bathroom with large walk-in shower
Upper level bedroom with two double beds and gorgeous ocean views
Upper level bedroom with two double beds, its own TV and lots of closet space
Upper level main bathroom - share by two bedrooms
Upper bedroom with queen bed and access to a private deck
Your protected private back deck for sunny afternoons
Large capacity Magtag washer & dryer
The house faces east so the sun rise is spectacular
Winter on the ocean is just a beautiful as the summer
A walk along Departure Bay in the winter - this was taken in February 2014
One of our resident otters after a successful fishing trip
Another gorgeous sun rise on Departure Bay
An incoming BC Ferry and a larger cargo tanker awaiting a mooring spot in Vancouver
There is great fishing to be had in the area. We can direct you to a good local fishing guides
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Andrew M
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
““ROMANCE on the BAY””
Reviewed February 16, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A Romantic Valentine’s escape from Victoria, BC to Departure Bay Nanaimo. This was a surprise getaway!
That is how I planned and executed it with the help of our host Su.
With the help of Su, I arranged beautiful flowers and a bottle of Champagne for my partner waiting for us at the house. There was spa music coming from all the monitors, both fireplaces were softly burning, and the soaker tub primed with bubbles. (Su had thought of everything!)
We went for great walks on the beach, two local parks, a short distance from our weekend retreat. We watched eagles in the bay, and otters frolicking in front of the house during breakfast.
I can only say that I scored BIG points this year.
We even went kayaking from the house with the kayaks that are available.
If you want to do it right next Valentine's Day, you better plan this place early.
This well maintained and meticulous house was a dream come true!

Thanks for everything … ;-))

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willyum
B.C.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“WOW ... a SWELL home away!”
Reviewed February 15, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was a brilliant home, so comfortable, clean, no details left undone, shampoo, soap, great linens, very good beds, tv's abound, video library, AND a view to die for, ferries coming and going, sailboats, wildlife, birds, stocked kitchen (we requested extras) fire places, BBQ etc etc groceries close by.
The photographs are actually good, but the property is better in person.
We will be back, we've actually booked!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace, the view, the well equiped kitchen, the cleanliness
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanne176...
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely stunning!”
Reviewed October 22, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stunning, spectacular, gorgeous... I don't think there is an adjective that really describes this place. We knew when we looked at the photos on the web site that the house was beautiful. What we didn't know was just HOW beautiful it is, or how comfortable. As great as the photos are, they don't do this place justice. We felt it as soon as we walked in the door. The view is breathtaking. I don't remember the last time I watched the sun rise, but I watched it every single morning while we were there, either from the upper balcony or while lying in bed.

The layout of the house is perfect for groups. Lots of space for gathering (which we did a lot of), but plenty of places to be alone, too, if that's what you need. Every time someone asked, "I wonder if there's a (fill in the blank) in the kitchen," someone else would reply "Yes!" The only thing we didn't find in the kitchen was a Keurig coffee machine. :-)

I can honestly say that this was the most relaxing vacation I've ever been on. Thank you, Su, for offering such a beautiful vacation home, and thank you for ordering in the beautiful weather! I've already recommended you and your vacation home to others, and we are also planning another trip next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous House for Our July 2014 Family Reunion!”
Reviewed September 10, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were a mix of ages from grandparents to young children - we all loved this house and its location.

The cooks among us took great delight in the well stocked and organized kitchen, which was big enough for several people to work in together.

The water babies had fun in the ocean, whether using the kayak (it comes with the house rental), swimming, or just and splashing around.

The movie buffs had a great time watching a video on the big screen one afternoon. And the bookworms found many quiet spots to retreat and enjoy the chance to read without interruption.

Most importantly, the members of our family who had yet to meet one another came together in this comfortable house, happy to be sharing the space. In addition to the usual amenities, we found a number of surprising touches, like cozy throws and plastic dishes and cups for young children.

The owner is really the icing on the cake. She is unfailingly cheerful, and available to answer questions and provide information by phone, email or text message.

Would I come back? By all means!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Family Retreat - Prepared to be Spoiled!”
Reviewed August 15, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We opened the front door, and while the adults walked through the house going "oooh!" the kids hightailed it out to the beach and squealed their own "oooh's" as they collected multicolored shells. Su has created the ultimate guesthouse, with top quality kitchen, linens and decor. Lots of spaces for our family of 9 to gather or read alone. Gourmet kitchen, bicycles and kayaks to use. Everything was labeled with instructions so there was no concern on our part. Su stopped by briefly a few times to see we had all we needed, and when she noticed we didn't have enough beach chairs, they arrived the next day. She was also very helpful even before we arrived, sending us updates on what's happening in the area. We loved the lapping of the water and the gorgeous sunrise/set over Departure Bay and hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality and attention to detail
Liked least: Had to drive for shopping
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2014
Dear Shirley & Richard, Thank you for the wonderful review. I loved having the opportunity to meet your family group. It delights me when families arrive at our beach house and instantly feel at home. You certainly did avail yourselves of the myriad adventures our region has to offer and I am happy we got to be your home-away-from home on this trip. All the best, Su G.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janeen S
Vancouver Island, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It was AWESOME - You'll have to experience it for yourself!”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We loved the beautiful view & the lovely garden had a calming effect on us. Granny & Grandpa were up early every morning sitting outside with their granddaughter sipping coffee - the sun was just starting to peek through the clouds with all the different shade of colours. The house beautifully set out - enough space for every person. The kitchen is so well equipped - you had everything a chef needed! Bonus was that Su had made sure we had something for our tea when we arrived…thanks so much. Bedrooms had comfy beds, towels & bedding was of best quality - not forgetting the newest member of the family - baby's cot was already set up in bedroom downstairs - all bathrooms had body wash & shampoo - sometimes one forgets to pack those little items. Even the laundry room had laundry soap - what more can we ask for. Thank you for this well-equipped cottage - it was really appreciated. We are planning for another family trip next year - so this will be the first cottage we will be looking at depending on our numbers. Also, thank you Su for mailing back granny’s sandals which she had left behind. We had a wonderful holiday and are really grateful to Su for everything!!! THANK YOU!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KP-Calgar...
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great house with a SPECTACULAR view!”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This was a great house and the view was breath taking! The layout of the house is just great, plenty of room for everyone. The house is equipped with everything, fully stocked kitchen, throw blankets in the sitting room, and umbrella and shopping bags in the front hall. The manager of the property Su, was always available to answer questions, make recommendations if asked and she has set up her own directory at the house with directions for shopping and restaurants. She made the rental as easy and welcoming as it could get. We are already looking to book her other property on the same street, as that house is pet friendly and we really missed having our dog with us. This is a beautiful property and you won't be disappointed about anything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view was the best!
Liked least: Expensive but worth it!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2014
Dear Kim & family,

Thank you so very much for your wonderful feedback on the house and amenities. We would most certainly love to have you back, and yes, this time please do bring the tiniest member of the family, and enjoy our dog-friendly house next door. www.bcbeachhouse.ca

Hope to see soon. Cheers, Su G.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing