We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome day of stay-cationing with a friend.”

Paddlewheeler Riverboat Cruises
Ranked #1 of 1 Tours in New Westminster
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Board the MV Native, an authentic paddlewheeler, for an adventure on the mighty Fraser River! With live narration of facts and fiction about the Fraser and its history, you'll encounter all the activity of a busy working river as well as the ever-present sights and sounds of wildlife such as seals, ospreys, great blue heron, eagles and with luck, salmon and sturgeon. The lush Coast Mountain Range provides a breathtaking backdrop of BC from a "River point of view." The paddlewheeler Native and the 40 passenger catamaran Beta Star have a busy spring-through-fall schedule, which includes day trips from New Westminster to Steveston, Fort Langley and the back-county wilderness of Pitt Lake. We also offer shorter lunch cruises, fun-filled Wine-and-Dine sunset cruises and Friday/Saturday Pub Nights. New for 2015 are Fraser River North Arm Luncheon Cruises on the catamaran Beta Star and we will be starting our popular Pitt Lake Cruises earlier in the season and running them later than in previous years. Also watch for our amazing boat-bus Harrison Lake cruise on the Beta Star to be featured in August! With a group booking the Native is available all year round for cruises, weddings, special events, and private functions. Valentine's Day, Christmas Cruises and New Years Eve are a big favourite on the paddlewheeler Native as well! Check our website for our schedule plus other up-coming special events and theme cruises. For 2015 we are featuring a 15% discount on some of our scheduled cruises.
Reviewed 17 July 2017

What a wonderful day on the water. Great scenery, informative narration and great food. I would certainly go again. I will also bundle up a bit better as it was windy and cool on the water in spite of a cloudless sunny sky.
Our Captain/Guide was an incredible fount of information about the area, its people and its history.

Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helga L, Manager at Paddlewheeler Riverboat Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your kind words and are glad we were able to make your day a wonderful experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2017

Just one complaint: people shelling out up to $118 for a day tour shouldn't have to pay extra for coffee.

That said, this was a wonderful experience, cruising along the Fraser River, up Pitt River and to Pitt Lake. The Beta Star is comfortable upstairs and down, with outside seating available. The commentary, by Captain Mark, was the best we've ever heard on a boat tour. The picnic lunch was just fine. The service, by Louisa and Tara, was excellent. Having a stunning sunny day helped, of course.

You do need to know that buying through Travelzoo ($65 per person, up front) does not include GST and gratuity ($19.77), which are based on the regular $98 price.

The boat is docked behind the Inn at they Quay, reached by Front Street and a turn onto Begbie St. We used MapQuest, which gave us bad information. Parking for the day is available under the hotel for $11.50 or a short walk away, outdoors, for $7.25

In summary, a great experience, highly recommended.

Thank PeterGrant76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helga L, Manager at Paddlewheeler Riverboat Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you for your review. We appreciate it very much and hope you will come again, it is always appreciated. We used to supply coffee and tea for many years, however just like all other restaurants and other venues , it became too costly to supply for free.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

We took a group of 73 seniors on the three hour cruise. The staff could not do enough for us. It was well narrated-very interesting. Buffet lunch was great. Good time was had by all.

Thank Bette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helga L, Manager at Paddlewheeler Riverboat Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

We have booked the Paddlewheeler twice in the past year ;
Once for our sons wedding and most recently for my Husbands 60th birthday with family and friends .
Had a 4 hour trip up the river with a full dinner on Board
Food was excellent and the staff on the Boat were very gracious and accommodating .

Thank riverrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

This was not the enjoyable cruise tour we were hoping for. First of all when we called to reserve, they wouldn't honor the groupon which was advertised "as good for any Friday or Saturday cruising". We were told that they only take "groupons" on Fridays.
The boat is old and the poor layout does not allow you to enjoy any views from the inside. There are only 2 deck areas on each side of the are very narrow that it's hard to get around. Most people sat on the upper level expecting a better view (great disappointment) although there isn't a lot to see on that side of the river.
There was only 1 waiter to serve the whole upper level so we had to wait for over half/hour to order a drink and food. The menu was terrible, only offered single size pizzas which took forever to cook and when arrived came burned. Definitely not design for cruising.

1  Thank B1551YN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paddlewheeler Riverboat Cruises also viewed

New Westminster, British Columbia
New Westminster, British Columbia
 
New Westminster, British Columbia
New Westminster, British Columbia
 

Been to Paddlewheeler Riverboat Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing