We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It really does feel like coming home!”
Review of Coming Home Cafe

Coming Home Cafe
Ranked #23 of 292 Restaurants in New Westminster
Price range: US$7 - US$15
Cuisines: Cafe
Description: It's like coming home, we cook, we brew, the rest is up to you! Coffee and tea is self serve as is the rest. Come in and have KickAss Coffee and meet the cousins you never knew you had!
Restaurant details
Description: It's like coming home, we cook, we brew, the rest is up to you! Coffee and tea is self serve as is the rest. Come in and have KickAss Coffee and meet the cousins you never knew you had!
Reviewed June 19, 2017

What a wonderful little cafe! Do not be deceived by its size.....great things come in small packages. The food is mouth watering, must try the bennies and the waffles....to die for. Heck the homefries are too.... great atmosphere, wonderfully eclectic decor and very friendly staff. Not your regular type of resto, menu and instructions are posted on wall, you help yourself to the coffee/drinks, utensils and bring your dirty dishes to the "sink". Definitely worth the 20 minute drive from Vancouver. I will be back!

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Francine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 32 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2017

I will rate this on staff, service decor then food.

The staff was friendly enough and treated us well. Nice people! 5 out of 5

Service was pretty much none existent as this is an order at the counter, get your own beverage (coffee) type set up including getting your own napkins and cutlery. They do bring you your food though. 2 out of 5 as more service would be nice.

The decor is unique and funky with interesting bits here and there. The seating is tight and you need to get in early to have a good table. 3 out of 5.

We had the basic breakfast and asked for eggs over easy but were told they don't flip eggs. "Strange" The bacon was warmed up in a micro wave and the potatoes were nicely done. The food was warm but not hot. The toasted sour dough bread was nice. 3 out of 5.

All in all it was just okay but we won't be back soon. I know they have a good clientele and maybe it was just an off day.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brad N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guy B, Owner at Coming Home Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2017

Thanks for your comments, but yes our style is not for everyone, and that's ok. We use pre cooked bacon as it is with fire regulation rules. We use water for our eggs so we serve them basted. (Sorry we didn't mention it first). That's the rule of the land, that I must abide by. And the concept of Coming Home is the aspect of self serve and meeting people from the hood when you have to get up and get more things. Happy you came out to try. And I agree the staff is nice, thanks again for your support and I hope you have great breakfast experiences in New West as there are many places that suit everyone's tastes! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2017 via mobile

Do your family a favour and have breakfast here!
Very welcoming family-run cafe with no pretensions but an eagerness to please with good food and fair prices.

Date of visit: May 2017
2  Thank JOeMcB_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 21, 2017 via mobile

We live in the area and we love it. We also always look for places to eat real food that is not junk food and that tastes good. This place is charming, the staff is friendly, the prices are good. There is nice selection of food, drinks and dessert. We had breakfast option - eggs with bacon and toast, waffle and coffee and tea. Coffee and tea you take yourself and you also put the dishes away when you're done. We loved that because it really feels cozy and relaxing. We'll be back for sure!

Date of visit: May 2017
1  Thank Romana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 14, 2017 via mobile

Very friendly staff and great food await at this neighbourhood cafe. We were in the area and stopped by for a coffee and a fully customized grilled sandwich and we were not disappointed. We arrived after the morning rush around 1:30 pm and we got a table right away. Lots of menu choices and daily specials. We will gladly stop by again!

Date of visit: May 2017
1  Thank miba54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coming Home Cafe also viewed

New Westminster, British Columbia
New Westminster, British Columbia
 
New Westminster, British Columbia
New Westminster, British Columbia
 
New Westminster, British Columbia
New Westminster, British Columbia
 

Been to Coming Home Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing