We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more than a comfortable pub”
Review of Nancy O's

Nancy O's
Ranked #1 of 233 Restaurants in Prince George
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$20
Cuisines: Canadian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: No Minors Allowed
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Much more than a comfortable pub”
Reviewed 23 November 2012

When traveling for business it's always special when I find a restaurant that immediately makes me relax. Not your typical business restaurant, Nancy O's atmosphere is that of a comfortably worn pub. The menu may look familiar but the care with which the food is seasoned and prepared is high quality. My associates had the ribs and mash. I went for the seafood angel hair pasta with a hugh slice of artesian garlic bread. Perfect after a long day. And don't forget desert. Two of us had the banana cream pastry bathed in chocolate, with a surprise inside. Insanely good!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 7472dn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    114
    32
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, fun in the evenings or on weekends for their famous brunch!”
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Becoming a regular customer... The last few months we were going for brunch every weekend. Their egg bennies are a must try! Also try their take on hot spinach deep... So rich and creamy. And get garlic mayo with everything if it's offered!
Delicious food that is always fast and hot out of the kitchen and worth the prices which are about average in this town! Portions are great, i always leave satisfied.
A huge beer selection!! Great fun to sample different types from around the world. They also have gluten free beers for those celiac or GI.
They often have events/artists come play on Fridays or Saturday's that require cover, and they have a small occupancy, so get there early! Great appy specials too which are mindblowingly delicious. They also have a student night! I have found that there is sometimes a dominating mature atmosphere during evenings; people in late 20s - 30s which is a nice change.
I like the decor which is very interesting with different types of seating throughout, kind of an open area with tables and chairs in the front.
The only thing that bothers me is the service. It's this kind of awkwardness. Servers sometimes seem not really invested in you or the amount you are enjoying your food/experience.. The owners are often there, so their cheeriness helps dilute the bored demeanor of many of the servers. But! I still go there often and nothing has deterred me yet! It's a great spot to casually dine in PG for good food and a different type of atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sochow13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Won`t return”
Reviewed 15 November 2012

With the place 1/3 full at lunch on Wednesday, we waited an extremely long time to get our sandwich and fries. To the point we were discussing leaving, until we remember we had already paid. That has always irked me, but it is there business model.
We eat all over Prince George, and look forward to coming here. The ambience reminds us of the 60`s. The speed of the service and the blah lunch presentation made us think of some pub food we had had recently.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Trendy with great food!”
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Nancy O's has the rustic charm of a Bistro, with absolutely wonderful food and generous portion sizes. So many great sandwiches to choose from, it's always hard to make a choice. We attended the Comedy and dinner night and the pasta was the very best we had ever had in a restaurant!!! Nancy O's is one of the few restaurants in town that I recommend to all my friends!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Magjik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George BC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Awesome food and service”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Great place to spend an evening out. Owners are present which make for a memorable experience. Great live acts....especially the comedy.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pgcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nancy O's also viewed

Prince George, British Columbia
Prince George, British Columbia
 
Prince George, British Columbia
Prince George, British Columbia
 
Prince George, British Columbia
Prince George, British Columbia
 

Been to Nancy O's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing