We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Marriott Bonvoy member rate available
Autograph
C$149
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
Booking.com
C$149
Priceline
C$149
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Vicki A
Tom Price, Australia

Chill out on the slopes

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Apr 1, 2024
Right on the snow at Red Mountain The Josie it's a great spot for a drink, nibbles, lunch or dinner. Lovely friendly staff with great service. We'd go after a morning ski for a drink & lunch. Really nice rooms, with valet service for your skis & boots.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Twilight
Tripadvisor
C$117
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
2.9 km from The Josie Hotel, Autograph Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
C$186
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    C$205
  • Vio.com
    C$164
  • Hotels.com
    C$205
3.2 km from The Josie Hotel, Autograph Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
C$232
C$210
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    C$210
  • Expedia.com
    C$210
  • Priceline
    C$232
3.0 km from The Josie Hotel, Autograph Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
Rossland Motel Sunset
Agoda.com
No fees just great deals
  • Lol.travel
2.8 km from The Josie Hotel, Autograph Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
0.2 km from The Josie Hotel, Autograph Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
Autograph
C$149
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    C$149
  • Priceline
    C$149
  • Hotels.com
    C$149
0.0 km from The Josie Hotel, Autograph Collection
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
C$104
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$104
  • Hotels.com
    C$104
  • Priceline
    C$104
6.4 km from The Josie Hotel, Autograph Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
C$190
C$167
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$167
  • Hotels.com
    C$167
  • Expedia.com
    C$167
7.8 km from The Josie Hotel, Autograph Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior View
Booking.com
C$269
C$237
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    C$237
  • Priceline
    C$237
  • Expedia.com
    C$237
8.3 km from The Josie Hotel, Autograph Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
C$127
  • Hotels.com
    C$127
  • Expedia.com
    C$127
  • Priceline
    C$128
10.1 km from The Josie Hotel, Autograph Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Rossland
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
106
26
5
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
106
26
5
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski concierge velvet restaurant ski hill red mountain ski hotel slope side high end amenities amazing restaurant faced the parking lot staff were welcoming winter skiing every single staff member hope management hotel is nicely appointed inspired menu rooms are beautiful wine list
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 149 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2024

Hotel is lovely and the location is the best. I really want to say excellent, but we were grumpy from lack of sleep. The heating system kept our room at a minimum of 21.5 the whole time. It was too hot for comfortable sleeping. Our friends agreed that their room was also too hot. We requested help and were told to open the window and turn on the bathroom fan. Nothing helped, and I dislike wasting energy. Also no secure wifi. All staff were absolutely great and the hotel would be wonderful if the temperature controls worked.

Room tip: Beware overheated rooms.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 814bonniem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 24, 2024 via mobile

My husband and I had the most wonderful time! All the staff were super friendly and shout outs to Anne-Marie and Tim for going above and beyond. The beds were super comfortable, and we had many great meals at Velvet. The only down fall is there is no pool/hottub, but the slope side saunas were lovely!

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 16, 2023 via mobile

Another Nice stay …. Nice modern rooms and very attentive staff. I hope to see some sort of pool and/hot tubs in the future considering this is hotel is slope side and considered a luxury hotel. I did not use the restaurant on this visit as hours were limited due to it being off season.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank redredwine74
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robert Murray, General Manager at The Josie Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2023

Dear redredwine74,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience. We will be sure to share your feedback regarding a pool/hot tubs.
We look forward to welcoming you back for a stay in the near future!
Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2023

My wife and I had the wonderful experience of staying at the Josie Hotel in July 2023. The hotel is ideally located in mountains just across the US border. It is an easy 2.5 hour drive from Spokane's airport. The rooms are nice sized. The bathrooms are a very nice size.

The hotel restaurant, Velvet, is very good. The service was fantastic. we were fortunate to have Lynn as our server and she did an great job. We thought the food was great. There is an Italian restaurant in Rossland that we went to on our second night and I was so disappointed in that restaurant, that it made me appreciate Velvet that much more.

The hotel offers guided hikes on the weekends. On Sunday morning, we showed up at 8:00 a.m. ready for our hike. Unfortunately, the guide did not show up. Lucky for us, one of the front desk attendants pulled a "Superman" act. He slipped away, changed into his hiking clothes and lead us on a fantastic hike. The hike was the highlight of our weekend. Phillip took us to a viewpoint high above Rossland and the Columbia River. He was an exceptional guide.

The daily breakfast brought to our room was very nice, too.

My wife and I highly recommend this hotel. The staff is outstanding and the location is great. It is in such a tranquil location if you want to go to the mountains in the summer, but don't want to fight the crowds.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank briancS6817MR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robert Murray, General Manager at The Josie Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2023

Dear briancS6817MR,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Josie and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the service and menu offering at The Velvet Restaurant & Lounge. We apologize that our guided hike offering was not delivered seamlessly on Sunday morning, although we are happy that Phillip was able to turn your experience around and show you one of our favourite walks in the area.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future for an exceptional summer vacation.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2023

This is a tough review since it is hard to separate the hotel from the Redstone Resort experience, but I will do my best.

Hotel is very nice, right on the ski slopes with beautiful rooms, though a bit small. Staff was outstanding and was very responsive to any needs we had. Restaurant in the hotel is open for dinner only and we ate there twice, the slope side menu is a much better option that they serve from 4-5 PM, while dinner from 5-9 was OK and maybe a bit overpriced, though the staff and service were outstanding. Lots if construction going on around the hotel, so be aware, and not much is paved, so it is very dusty. finally, it has no hot tub. Very strange on a ski slope.

To understand the area, you have to realize that the ski area is a 5 minute highway drive from the town of Rossland, which is another five minute highway drive to the golf course.

The ski resort has the this hotels restaurant and one other (a bistro) that is only open for lunch/dinner Thur-Sun, The resort area has no options for breakfast other than an in-room option by the hotel for $16, and it is only available after 7 AM. So, you can't walk someplace to grab a quick breakfast. the ski resort area also does not have any type on little store to buy items.

The town has a couple of breakfast options (again, not really someplace you can walk to), but most of the town shuts down by 6 PM, so dinner options are limited as well. The golf course also, amazingly, does not have a breakfast option. the golf course is an amazing play, and well worth it if you are a golfer, holes 9-17 are some of the most fun holes I have every played.

This area has a desperate need for coordination between the ski area, the town, and the golf course. No shuttle exists so you have to be in your car constantly. They should be running shuttles in the summer every 30 minutes from 6am to 7 PM and this would make all tie together and allow a persons car to not move once you have arrived. But, since so much construction is going on, they may have plans for correcting some of these things.

We will be fascinated to come back in a couple years to see if they have addressed some of these gaps. Right now, it is really nice, but just too spread out with too many things hard to access.

Room tip: No hot tub and the hotel area has limited food options
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank familyprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robert Murray, General Manager at The Josie Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2023

Dear familyprince,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your golfing trip this summer. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review of your experience. We hear your concerns regarding transportation to Rossland and Redstone and can assure you that we are working hard to improve the transport options for guests from the hotel and resort. We apologize that our breakfast offerings fell short of your expectations. We are working hard to enhance our breakfast offerings and hours of operation. We hope that we are able to welcome you back in the near future and show you a true Josie experience.
Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews