We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
108
50
11
9
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
108
50
11
9
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the managers hot tub mary's lake row boat free showers sandy private beach warm lake family vacation meteor shower hide a bed salt spring tall trees top bunk a great place to stay vancouver island comforts of home we've stayed
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 194 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2018

Gorgeous cabin, fully stocked for the family of 5. Well maintained grounds, daily upkeep is obvious. A lake, pool and hot tub as well as games to play on the grounds, what more could you ask for. The Managers truly went above and beyond to ensure our stay was everything we could ever hope for. Definitely hoping to go back every year.

Room tip: Cabin with 2 bedrooms, large sundeck, big bar-b-que, paved walk down to the pool and lake. Amazing site managers
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarBeachResort, Manager at Cedar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2018

Oh! We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is always a pleasure to share our little piece of paradise with our great guests.
We hope to see you again soon.
Shona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2017

Honestly, I was nervous about this placed based on some of the reviews I read. However I was pleasantly surprised, we stayed the weekend of Sept.16th and it was a great experience. It was a highlight of our vancouver island trip. We stayed in Cabin #12, it was myself, my husband and our 22 month old daughter. The place is not huge, but it had everything we needed, kitchen with utensils, dishes etc, a comfy living room and two bedrooms.
The beds were comfortable (minus the top bunk - but noone slept there). It had a nice deck (although could use some minor repairs - a bit worn). There was a tv in the one bedroom with a dvd player, but no dvd's so we just didn't end up watching tv. This was fine. Being on the lake is so beautiful, you don't need tv.

We didn't use the pool as it was cooler temperatures when we were there. However, we did walk around the grounds a lot, well kept, clean, and in the evening so quiet.

Everyone was very respectful even though there were lots of kids staying there. We loved visiting the cats that hang around (my daughter loves kitties). And just the peaceful serene of the area.

As for the staff, we met one nice friendly lady when we checked in who gave us the lowdown on the grounds, and then we didn't see any staff again, but we didn't have any issues or need to contact them.

All in all I would recommend this place for a nice couple or family vacation.

Room tip: I wouldn't book above the pool, I think that could get rather noisy especially in the summer (unless you are out all day).
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarBeachResort, Manager at Cedar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2018

We are so glad to be a "pleasant surprise" for new guests.
This is truly a beautiful piece of property and it's so nice to find others who
enjoy it as much as we do.
September is my favorite time here, the weather is not as hot but still nice enough to enjoy the beauty of it all.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Shona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile

A chance Google search for available full service campsites in the Gulf Islands saw us on the ferry to Salt Spring after 20 years...in the meantime with many vacays on all the other islands, so lots to compare. This is certainly one of the most popular, considerably more gentrified than others, but the casual, healthy, island vibe shines through loud and clear.

Ganges, the bustling core, offers every imaginable thing and service you may need on an island, along with a diverse selection of eateries, shops, galleries, marine pubs, hipster hangouts, organic markets, food trucks, and hippy havens. It's a large island so there are three ports depending on where you're arriving from, and a wide variety of options for accommodations.

I'm certain these 5 acres of beach, boats, pool, cabins and campsites at Cedar Beach Resort has been hopping all summer, if only because of the hot weather and perfection of the surroundings, but this week... after Labour Day... is bliss here on St Mary's Lake. Aside from several semi permanent RV units, the campsite and cabins offer lots to choose from. The assortment of different cabins overlook the warm lake on a light slope down to the clean sandy private beach. 1 and 16 are closest to the water. Our campsite 20 is quite large and set in among tall trees; it catches the filtered afternoon sun.

The resort is well maintained, a wee bit dusty with the dry summer but peaceful and immensely satisfying, whether lounging on the Beach House lakeside patio, fishing off the wharf, or exploring the lake in the courtesy boats and canoes. There are clean, free showers, pool and hot tub, two resident felines to feed, a tv/games room and an office with fishing gear and general supplies. Shauna and her partner have been helpful, friendly and accommodating. Dogs are welcome in listed cabins. The pool is cleaned daily but the bottom needs re-painting. Deck chairs don't match! All good! If you expect posh you may be disappointed but if you like authentic, comfortable, clean, serene, and laid back, like us we've found our happy place! Thanksgiving or Christmas here would be very special.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sparklemarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarBeachResort, Manager at Cedar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2018

Thank you for your kind words Marilyn!
We hope to see you two again soon, September is sneaking up on us again.
Travel Safely!
Shona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2017 via mobile

After traveling across Canada stopped in Cedar Beach Resort. Lots are small, Dusty, and not Pet friendly. After 56 campsites the first to charge for pets. Pets are not allowed close to beach. The most expensive place we stayed on our RV Trip.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarBeachResort, Manager at Cedar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2017

Thank you for your feedback Dana.
Yes, you made your displeassure quite clear upon check in when you were yelling and swearing at us.
I would say that we are probably the most expensive on Salt Spring, but we are also the only RV park on the lake. The only one with a pool, hot tub and boats, all free. Unfortunately these things cost money, which might be why our pricing is above the others. $50.00 per night isn't all that costly. Some of our sites are smaller and some are quite large. They are not exactly the same, the site you stayed in years ago is quite large. This one was smaller.
Unfortunately the dust is an issue, BC is dry. That is one of the reasons we ask that you drive slowly. Children and pets are the other reasons.
Yes we do charge a pet fee and are hoping to take that money and put it towards an off leash park for pets. The pet fee info is on our website under the "Pet" section.
Unfortunately the dogs are not allowed on the beach or in the water. That is Island wide. Fresh water lakes are the water source for a lot of Salt Springs residence, and that rule is mandated by Salt Spring Island Water Protection Authority, a government agency. That too is on our website.
We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay and wish you all the best in your future adventures Dana.
Respectfully,
Shona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2017 via mobile

What a great place to stay! Will definitely be back. Family had a great time. Cabin was very clean and well stocked.Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Pool near by and lake is almost at your door.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarBeachResort, Manager at Cedar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2017

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay Scott! Cabin 1 is definitely a gem. Great view & great location. There are mornings when I walk down the hill and I am just stunned by the beauty of the view! We hope to see you and your family again soon.
Kind Regards,
Shona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews