We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene and lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pacific Sands Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Vancouver,B.C
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Serene and lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I have travel around and amenities wise, it is probably not the best in the world. But if you are looking for the a place that boasts of serenity, one of the best views of nature, comfortable, clean , lovely and peaceful. (help me out here, I am running out of adjectives, lol) It is certainly by far a romantic place that meets up my standards. Very convenient to get around Tofino. When you get to the resort, it's like you're away from all the hustle and bustle of a noisy city. If you're coming from one and want this kind of getaway, this is the place to be. Caution though, bring your own food to cook as I recall we limited choices for food. They have a kitchen that has the necessary materials for you too cook. (Minus the ingredients, oil, etc).

Last but not the least, go for those whale watching trips. It's not a guarantee but we were fortunate to see two:) A mother and a baby. We were told by our guide:)

Lovely place!!!!

Room Tip: Request for a room facing the sea.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LonelyPTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,301
    362
    85
    30
    12
See reviews for
617
830
31
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here for four days and it was just amazing! We had a one bedroom with kitchen on the first floor, just steps away from the beach! We could constantly hear the huge waves crashing onto the beach, it was amazing! The beach stretches out quite a bit, I went for a run one morning and it was the best run I ever had. The rooms were clean and spacious, we could see the waves from our suite. You can rent movie from the reception and also have fires in the covered fire place area that has been set up. The resort allows dogs, so we brought our dog. There were a couple dogs actually, but not very many.

I would come back anytime!! We had an amazing stay!

Room Tip: Get close to the beach so you can go to sleep to the waves crashing onto the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twooutofthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights in January with a "storm-watching" deal. Unfortunately (or fortunately?) there were no storms to watch, but it was absolutely beautiful regardless. The weather was perfect - minus some snow that was happening. We were able to go on hikes and check out some tidal pools. It was a great weekend getaway from the city. The staff at the Pacific Sands Beach resort were amazing. Having the DVDs to borrow were great for the evenings. We stayed in a studio oceanfront suite in the lodge and it was great! Amazing views of the ocean to wake up to. They also have board games to borrow, but perhaps their selection needs a little updating. But that is the only negative thing that I can say for our whole time there! Overall - amazing. Thanks Pacific Sands!

Room Tip: Call or email the resort directly because some of their rooms are not available on their website or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taryn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacificsands, Manager at Pacific Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear Taryn77,

Thank you for writing a kind review of our property. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to enjoy some sunshine! I hope we can welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Lara Kemps Resort Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

We love staying at Pacific Sands Resort.. it is so layed back, peaceful, and a stunning ocean view! We stayed there about 18 years ago, and waited way to long to re-stay there.. we celebrated our 25the Wedding anniversary January/2012... and the resort was just as beautiful if not better!
The beach walks, the trail walks to the big rocks out on the ocean, just great!

Pacific Sands is my favourite place!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacificsands, Manager at Pacific Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear Susie M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a wonderful review on our Resort. We are very happy you enjoyed your time with us during your Anniversary...Congratulations once again! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Lara Kemps
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

We love going back to Pacific Sands. We stay in a studio suite with lovely views from the sitting area and the bed. And the lovely cozy fire. Anything you could need (even a teapot!), freidnly, clean and right on a lovely beach. If you want disco... go soemwhere else!!! A great spot for ANY weather - in mid january we had sunshine, hail, snow, wind & calm (but hey no rain!).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PHL-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacificsands, Manager at Pacific Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear PHL-Canada,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your wonderful review for us. We truly appreciate the feedback! I am happy to hear that you loved your suite over looking the pounding surf of Cox Bay and we look forward to welcoming you back to our little piece of paradise in the near future.

Kind regards

Lara Kemps
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

We visited Pacific Sands for the 4th time hoping for a BIG storm. We have been so lucky to have the best weather and even though we had bigger surf than we have had before we were told 'this doesn't classify as a storm!". We loved it anyhow! Everything. Walks on the beach, trails, trips to town, and planning our next visit! The suite was amazing. We enjoyed the wine, fireplace, endless supply of popcorn and coffee!
Hope to see you again soon!

Room Tip: Pick the closest to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursula61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacificsands, Manager at Pacific Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear Ursula61,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for our Resort. Looks like we have to speak to Mother Nature and provide you with a Storm for your next visit! Can't wait to welcome you back.

Kind regards

Lara Kemps
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Arrived the last friday of January and left Monday during a huge storm cycle! Stayed in a Villa suite with amazing ocean views all around but especially from the master suite while lying in bed or soaking in the 2 person jacuzzi tub ;)
The surf right out front in Cox Bay is great, if the swell is and being able to walk back to the villa and have a hot shower changes the game when it comes to these great northern surfing spots. There are even washer & dryers in-suite so you can rinse wet suits and such for the ride home.
The whole resort is VERY well taken care and clean. The staff are great and give you lots of privacy. The espresso bar in the lobby is very helpfull considering the closest cafe is a 10 minute drive lol! I brought my laptop and got free wireless from the couch, which surprised me as we had a villa at the end of the resort!
All-in-all this is a perfect resort for active couples and we couldn't find anything negative about it! Great job guys, we'll be back!

Room Tip: If you can get it, the last villa on the end, #41, has a newly added outdoor hot tub and Weber grill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Damon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacificsands, Manager at Pacific Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear Damon V,

Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review for our Resort, we appreciate the feedback...mmmm it is amazing soaking in the Jacuzzi tub overlooking the crashing surf isn't it? glad you enjoyed it and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Lara Kemps
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
2.7 km away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
4.0 km away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
3.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
2.1 km away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.2 km away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Sands Beach Resort

Property: Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Address: 1421 Pacific Rim Hwy. | Box 237, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Tofino
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#4 Family Hotel in Tofino
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Sands Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific Sands Beach Resort is located on 41 pristine acres of property and 2500 feet of ocean front on Cox Bay. Adjacent to the Pacific Rim National Park all suites and Luxury Beach Houses offer spectacular ocean or beach front views, mesmerizing sunsets and breathtaking storm watching. A walk to Pettinger Point is a must. Enjoy unrivaled culinary splendors at one of Tofino's many restaurants. Adventure tours of the Clayoquot Sound, beach combing and surfing are the most popular activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pacific Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Sands Beach Hotel Tofino
Pacific Sands Beach Tofino
Pacific Sands Beach Resort Tofino, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing