We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, mediocre resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Pacific Sands for three nights during a weeklong stay on Vancouver Island. First off, the resort is located on a gorgeous section of BC coastline, with a huge sandy beach and a rocky and rugged but accessible hike to a beautiful scenic point with tide pools and a mini rain forest. Those natural amenities are the draw to this resort, but that's where the beauty ends. For the price, Pacific Sands offers mediocre amenities. This is an all-suite facility -- there are no full service restaurants on the site (a rustic beach shack is the only meal option on the property), so cooking in or eating at a local restaurant are the only options and Tofino is a 10 minute drive. We planned to eat dinners in, but our unit was equipped with low end cookware and utensils. We attempted one meal in our unit and gave up. Housekeeping is spotty, and this is a repeated and common theme through all of the reviews of this property. The housekeeping staff actually skipped out unit on our final full day, which was amazing, considering the per night rate. Bikes are available for guest use, but there is a $15 or $30 charge, which seemed like a nuisance given the high cost of staying here. Although the beach is beautiful, this resort simply lacks the customer service and amenities of a high end resort. Construction of the new buildings continues and our unit was close to that noisy area. If we come back to Tofino, we'll try another option, and there are many to choose from.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Beverly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus M, Guest Relations Manager at Pacific Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Dear Beverly S,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at Pacific Sands. I wanted to start off by extending my sincerest apologies that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations.

As you stated we are an all-suite facility, and all of our units have fully equipped kitchens and living areas. Our kitchens have everything you would need to cook a full family meal, and in the rare case you need a specialty item, we have a gourmet pantry at the front desk that has everything you would ever need from garlic presses to panini makers. In my personal opinion our kitchens are very well equipped, with the majority of our guests during the holidays cooking Thanksgiving and Christmas dinners in their units.

However, if "cooking in" is something that you would like to avoid during your holiday (completely understandable), we do have a little take-away food grill on the property. Furthermore, within a 2-minute walk of the property there is a full sit down restaurant right on the beach called The Great Room at Long Beach Lodge. After that, as you stated there are 25+ amazing restaurants to choose from in the town of Tofino, which is 5km from our property.

In regards to your comments on housekeeping, I will be sharing these directly with the Housekeeping Manager as missed service is completely unacceptable and I do apologize for this. This is not representative of our housekeeping standards and definitely not the norm.

Unfortunately, I would have to disagree strongly with your final statement of our property "lacking customer service". There is a reason our Trip Advisor page has a 75% excellent review rating and the reason is because our staff are willing to always go above and beyond for our guests. I am sorry you did not get to experience this.

Tofino has become one of the most popular tourist destinations in all of Canada. The demand seems to be increasing at a rapid rate and we no longer have a quiet season. Our rates are quite comparable to our surrounding properties and reflect this high demand. Combined with the fact we have one of the best locations in Tofino, modern and clean units (your unit in particular was completely renovated one year ago), and a wide range of amenities, our rates do reflect this value.

I am very disappointed that you did not have a memorable stay with us, as the majority of our guests do experience. I urge you to contact myself directly at markus@pacificsands.com so that we can rectify this situation. Should you give Pacific Sands another chance I know that we will exceed your expectations and make up for this past experience.

Sincerely,

Markus McRurie
Evening Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,021)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 2,021 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Beautiful view of the beach /ocean from our rooms patio/deck. Loved having a hot tub on our deck. Cox cove suite was great - all the necessary amenities at hand. Little kitchen so able to prepare meals, and a kitchen table for meals. Bed in a great location so you can see the ocean/beach right out the large windows.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JoyMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

This place is just amazing. From the moment you book in you just know It's special. We were in one of the Beach Houses. Stunning simply undervalues the sheer opulence of it. Along with the view from the windows it just doesn't get any better. Modern kitchenette with all the necessaries, washing machine and drier, 3 floors, sitting room with comfy chairs and sofa, 2 bedrooms both with en suite one a master bedroom the second with 2 double beds, 3 TV's, 3 toilets, balconies, more than ample storage space and so on. The staff at the reception were so friendly and their is complimentary hot drinks, apples and the free use of 2 PC's and printing. The plusses just go on and on and on... Add to this the walk along the beach what more xould you want? I was quite happy to ditch the rest of our visit to British Columbia and stay here! Need I say more.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank CliveBickley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

We love it. We return as often as we can. Walk. Breathe. Walk some more. The rooms are comfortable and spacious. The view is beyond compare. Had the best burger ever right one site at the little takeout shack. There have been many upgrades on site since our last visit, all good. Surf Sisters is right there! Gorgeous gas fire pits . Hammocks to relax it. The beds.. super comfy. Wifi... great!! Will we come back? YES.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Elle009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We just stayed at the Pacific Sands for 4 nights last week & it was spectacular. The hotel property is beautiful & perfectly located right on the beach in Cox Bay. The staff were welcoming, courteous, & professional. We had no problems with check in or check out.

We stayed in a Lighthouse Suite- 2nd floor; it was perfect for us (2 adults & 2 kids- ages 8 & 11), The suite is modern, clean, well-stocked, & had great ocean views. It literally became a home away from home. The bedroom has a comfortable queen sized bed & the pull-out bed in the living room is actually comfortable; nothing beats falling asleep to the sounds of the ocean & seeing the moon/stars & sunrise from the huge windows. There's also a great deck to relax on.

This is definitely a laid back, casual place & there are no fancy frills about it. However, you do get clean, spacious, modern, & practical amenities. Like I said, if you're looking for a relaxing time with your family- this is the place.

During the summer, there are tons of fun activities available. They have a "summer camp" for 1.5h in the mornings for kids; we didn't get a chance to participate this time, but there were definitely fun activities offered. The s'mores pit is always something everyone looked forward to- dessert before dinner was the highlight for the kids' vacations. The staff members who run the pit are friendly & helpful; it's wonderful to learn about their backgrounds & experiences.

The main office is stocked well with games, puzzles, books, & movies; so, you have a lot to do after your days' activities. The office is also stocked w/ provisions such as basic milk, bread, reheatable meals, etc.

The beach is amazing- especially at sunrise & sunset. Huge, wide, beautiful classic Pacific Northwest scenery. There's also a great mini-hike to Pettinger Point where you can observe beautiful sunsets.

The hotel is also conveniently located- about a 10-15 drive into Tofino & an easy drive to/from the hikes/scenes of Pacific Rim National Park Reserve.

We loved our time here & look forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Arun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus M, Guest Relations Manager at Pacific Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Arun R,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at Pacific Sands. It sounds like you covered all the bases and took advantage of everything we had to offer.

We're thrilled you had an amazing time at our property, and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Markus McRurie
Evening Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Fantastic property right on the beach. High end furnishings. Relaxing environment. Gorgeous views. Love the staff and everything about this place. Wonderful welcome pack when you arrive. Thank you Pacific Sands.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely holiday at Pacific Sands and will think about returning.
Our beach house had the most stunning views of Long Beach and it was well equipped and comfortable for a family.

We arrived around 3pm and asked if we could check in the person on duty simply stated and re-stated 'check in starts at 4pm'. Not the warm welcome one may expect, but not really a problem.

We enjoyed cooking on the BBQ, made use of the kids beach toys, and hired boogie boards - the staff at the surf shack could not have been more helpful.

We were there with family and it became apparent a few days in, my Mother in Law had not been given the wifi code. Again, nothing major but a bit of a niggle. And finally with regards to housekeeping, the beds and towels were changed but no other cleaning throughout the week long stay. And this wasn't a huge issue either but the p/n rate for July is c830 CDN - so there is a mismatch in terms of service level and rack rate!

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed Tofino and will be back. In terms of the resort, it was well laid out, views and access to beach were perfect. We will think twice about Pacific Sands given the few niggles we had, but that would not stop me from telling others about it, and encouraging them to look it up if they wanted to stay somewhere in Tofino.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Trish5813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus M, Guest Relations Manager at Pacific Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Trish5813,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with Pacific Sands. We're happy you had a "lovely holiday" at our property.

I am very disappointed to here you did not receive a warm welcome upon arrival at Guest Services. You will see from the majority of the reviews on this page, that we are known for having amazing staff who are always willing to go our of their way to greet guests and give them a memorable experience. I sincerely apologize that this was not the case with you, and would state that this is not the norm.

With Tofino becoming the busiest hub on the West Coast, Peak Season has become extremely busy, with our property being 100% every night. This means on a daily basis we have a complete transition in terms or rooms in and rooms out. Therefore, the 4pm check-in time enables our housekeeping team the ability to make sure all of our units are completed up to our high standards for check-in. We try our best to get guests in before this time, but it is never guaranteed.

To touch on your comments in regards to housekeeping, they offered a daily basic stay-over service which you described as receiving. If you wished to have any additional cleaning, you simply need but as Guest Services and we would have made sure housekeeping took care of it right away. I do apologize that you were not made aware of this.

As mentioned above, Tofino is in high demand. As such, we are one of the only properties in Tofino that offers beautiful accommodation with a vast number of amenities, literally steps away from the sand. Our Peak Season prices do reflect this. However, after Peak Season our rates drop drastically, as well as in the off season we have numerous packages and discounts that can meet the budget of any traveller.

I'm glad you still enjoyed your time with us despite the few hiccups, and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Markus McRurie
Evening Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
3.4 km away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
3.2 km away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
2.1 km away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,088 reviews
0.2 km away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
0.1 km away
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Cox Bay Beach Resort
#9 of 16 in Tofino
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Sands Beach Resort

Address: 1421 Pacific Rim Hwy. | Box 237, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#3 Green Hotel in Tofino
#4 Family Hotel in Tofino
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range: $205 - $645 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Sands Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific Sands Beach Resort is located on 41 pristine acres of property and 2500 feet of ocean front on Cox Bay. Adjacent to the Pacific Rim National Park all suites and Luxury Beach Houses offer spectacular ocean or beach front views, mesmerizing sunsets and breathtaking storm watching. A walk to Pettinger Point is a must. Enjoy unrivaled culinary splendors at one of Tofino's many restaurants. Adventure tours of the Clayoquot Sound, beach combing and surfing are the most popular activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pacific Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Sands Beach Hotel Tofino
Pacific Sands Beach Tofino
Pacific Sands Beach Resort Tofino, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing