We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and cozy feel to this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Relaxing and cozy feel to this hotel”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I came here for my birthday as a surprise gift from my partner last september and it was nice. The hotel staff were friendly and the room was quite nice. We experienced most of the things they offered the hotel. The restaurant was very nice and the food was good and the spa was very relaxing as well. My only gripe was that certain things were quite expansive, considering what you get. Couples massage was well over $400 cdn(90 minute massage), that's pretty ridiculous if you ask me. I didn't find out until after the fact, i would have never let my partner book the spa had i known. I also felt the room was a bit overpriced too, but oh well...overall we had a good experience at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldtraveller604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,010
    153
    56
    27
    14
See reviews for
190
836
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
200 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We have stayed at the wonderful Wikaninnish Inn for many years and love being in the heart of wilderness while experiencing luxury accomodations. The cliff hanging, northwest facing accomodations at the original inn are becoming a bit dated; but they are planning renovations in 2012. If you go, stay in the original inn for the best views and to be close to the bar and restaurant. The newer accomodations are much nicer than the originals; but have less spectacular veiws of the ocean. The best time to stay is in the summer for the true rain forest trail walks and the wonderful, long uninterrupted beach walks immediately south of the resort. However, if you are thrilled by giant, crashing waves on the rocks below as you dine, then definitely book when a storm is on the way. The food has always been excellent; the service staff very well trained; but with the addition of the larger, newer beach front building, the kitchen is frequently overwhelmed and takes a long time to get the food out. What used to be a great deal on room prices has gradually given way under the Relais and Chateau ownership, to an expensive stay, which now appears will preclude our annual stay at this wonderful place. There are numerous other somewhat comparable accomodations in the area that are much more budget friendly; though this spot is definitely worth putting on your bucket list for at least 1 visit. Getting there is fairly easy by commercial flight into the former airforce base at Tofino and then a taxi to the resort (or rent a car for exploring the area) which takes about 20 minutes If you like to drive, the Pacific Rim Highway from Victoria will eventually get you there. This is one of the most scenic drives in the northwest.

Room Tip: Stay at the original inn on the northwest corner, second or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CAPTAINCUISINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationswick, Guest Relations Coordinator at Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear Captain Cuisine,
Thank you for posting a Review of your September stay at our Inn and sharing your experience with our online Trip Advisor community.
We are truly pleased you once again enjoyed your stay but do apologize that you found our west facing guest rooms to be somewhat dated. We appreciate and thank you for mentioning the planned upgrade to our original Pointe building and in fact this comprehensive upgrade to all these 45 guest rooms began in earnest on January 2nd during our annual closure and will continue through our re-opening on February 10th. This upgrade will see enhancements throughout both guest room and bathroom areas that will raise their standard from the existing 4 diamond level to the same 5 diamond standards of our Beach building guest rooms and suites.
Despite this significant new investment to our Pointe building, we are very pleased to advise that our rates are not changing for 2012 and we will continue to provide the Relais & Chateaux product and service our Inn and The Pointe Restaurant have earned their reputation for providing to our guests. We would most certainly love to welcome you back to the Inn to experience our newly renovated guest rooms personally and would welcome any feedback you may have at any time.
While we truly appreciate your very kind comments regarding the service provided by our team, we were disappointed to read that you have experienced slower service at The Pointe Restaurant than previously enjoyed. Slow service is unacceptable and we would welcome the opportunity to receive further details in this regard as it is not a concern that we encounter very often. Please do contact us directly through Trip Advisor’s private messaging service or at sandy@wickinn.com at any time so we can conduct the appropriate internal follow up.
On behalf of Charles McDiarmid and our entire Wickaninnish Inn team we thank you for your Review and sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant again!
Sandy Stocker
Guest Relations Coordinator
Wickaninnish Inn & The Pointe Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar, Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

wonderful amazingly equipped room with excellent seaview and first class welcoming service from all of thier staff. Best encountered in 50 years of hotels. Expensive but well worth it for the above and the to see an eagle catch a fish during dinner was marvelous.

Room Tip: all rooms appeared to offer excellent views and all very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReeceForfar_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorado, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

If you are trying to make up your mind about whether or not to stay at the Wick, just do it. I am as jaded a traveler as there is, and I cannot remember the last time I was able to relax this much at a hotel. The rooms are not five star luxury suites by any means, but they are clean, cozy, comfortable, large and well-appointed. They are redoing many of the rooms, so by the time I write this, all of the rooms may have been upgraded. We took a peek at a renovated room before we left, and we look forward to staying in one on our next visit.

But honestly, forget the room for a minute because most people don't come to Tofino for the hotel room. The views from the rooms are stunning. You can walk right out onto the fairly secluded beach from the inn's location, and the views from the Pointe are unmatched. All of these things are well and good, but the reason that we will be coming back to the Wick is due to the service.

We ate every meal in the Pointe restaurant. We hadn't initially intended to do so, but after our first dinner we were hooked. Why? Well we have certainly eaten food just as good in Vancouver so while the food was great it wasn't the main reason. It was because we have never eaten anywhere where the chef was so willing to accommodate our dietary needs and requests. I think we may have driven the chef nuts, but he indulged our requests diligently and without balking. Our waiter dutifully and carefully relayed our requests to the chef, remembered our favorite beverages, gave us tips and advice for checking out Tofino, and generally just made sure every meal was completely to our satisfaction in every way possible.

As well during our visit we had a flat tire on our car. Without bothering us about it, the staff filled the tire not once, but three times before we left. Then upon leaving, they gave us directions to the best tire shop on our way back to Nanaimo. It felt really nice to be taken care of in such a genuine and unobtrusive way.

The food was great, our massages were great, the views were great, the rooms were great, and Tofino was great. But the reason we will keep coming back to the Wick is the one thing that cannot be easily duplicated or faked and that's their outstanding and genuine five star service.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lexie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Go here. Very remote area and so far it is unspoiled. Just an amazing experience and they seem to have catered for every particular want and need.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and have views out to the ocean.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JakobLHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Stellar view from our room overlooking the beach. We loved the natural colors, stone and wood decor. Biking on the beach was a highlight (bikes provided). The location is remote but that is the point! Dinner at The Pointe was memorable with a window table. Everything is expensive so don't expect a bargain.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newtowners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

The Wick Inn is one of the world's great hotels located in one of the most beautiful places in the world. My wife and I have been coming for years. The location on a rocky point so close to Pacific Rim National Park coupled with the outstanding cuisine at the Pointe Restaurant make this hotel truly unique - a combination of wilderness and luxury that is difficult to match anywhere in the world. And the service is outstanding, as you would expect with a Relais and Chateau hotel. Expensive, but worth every penny !

Room Tip: Ask for a 'room with a view' in the original building ( it's being fully renovated in Ja...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindsay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,030 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,636 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant

Property: Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Address: 500 Osprey Lane at Chesterman Beach, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#1 Green Hotel in Tofino
#1 Family Hotel in Tofino
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wickaninnish Inn, a Relais & Chateaux property since 1997, overlooks the Pacific Ocean from a rocky point on Vancouver Island’s rugged west coast, near the eclectic town of Tofino and Pacific Rim National Park. Two contemporary cedar buildings, set against a backdrop of ancient rainforest, boast an extensive local art collection (complemented by the neighbouring wood carving shed), and all rooms and suites offer ocean or beach views, gas fireplace, soaker tub and individual balcony. Uncompromising service, including a Clefs d’Or Concierge team, is a standard. The sole resort on Chesterman Beach, Tofino’s longest at 2.5km/1.5mi, the Inn is home to refined West Coast cuisine at The Pointe Restaurant and naturally-inspired treatments at its intimate Ancient Cedars Spa. Tofino’s McDiarmid family welcomes you to this locally owned, world renowned sanctuary offering Rustic Elegance on Nature’s Edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wickaninnish Inn And The Pointe Restaurant Hotel Tofino
The Wickaninnish Hotel And Pointe
Wickaninnish Inn And The Pointe Restaurant Tofino, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing