We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rugged Beauty, Top-Notch Amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Rugged Beauty, Top-Notch Amenities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Our room was beautiful, facing the rocks/ocean. Lovely bathroom. If you go as a couple and decide to use the spa services, please get a hot stone massage in the Ancient Cedars Spa's couple room. The Sea Flora products are excellent. The sound of the waves is simply delicious. A wee warning: if you're tempted to do something exotic, I would skip the "Hishuk Ish Tsawalk Awakening Treatment" and go for a straight hot stone massage instead. The ritual aspect of it was interesting (in a thematic and theatrical way), but the highlight was the massage and the rest of it seemed like entertainment.

Walks along the beach are unique (the sand is packed quite solidly, as opposed to "regular" sandy beaches) - the waves make a beautiful impression on the wet sand and bits of driftwood and seaweed seem like decorations strewn across the terrain. Bask in the smell of the trees, ocean and nature all-round. Take a little walk in Tofino - there are some great little stores with very reasonably priced souvenirs. If you're into natural body care, Sea Wench has some lovely products.

I would LOVE to return one day, hopefully sooner rather than later.

Room Tip: Face the ocean!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank migratorychic88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    974
    149
    54
    27
    15
See reviews for
185
807
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
167 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Wickaninnish Inn is truly a treasure on the Canadian hospitality landscape. The setting is second to none, with gorgeous, peaceful and calming views out to the ocean and beach. Being from Calgary, our family has many times been in the area as campers during the summer months. It has always been on my "bucket list" to spend a few days at the Wiki during the winter storm watching season. It certainly met and even exceeded our expectations for both a three day stress buster and a Romantic getaway all rolled into one: indeed, I will not simply cross it off my bucket list but rather, add a "do this again" memo. Yes it is pricey (with the unfortunately excessive BC taxes, the room rate was about $550.00 a night). Normally I am averse to paying those kinds of rates for accommodations as on typical holidays, one is out exploring most of the time and really using the hotel room predominantly for sleeping. However, this situation is certainly an exception in this regard as you do spend quite a bit of time in the room itself. As with the rest of the facilities at large, the rooms are beautifully appointed but without being ostentious (which we hate) and with obvious care and respect for the environment. All details are attended to and the staff are low key but extremely professional and helpful.

Do not come here, particularly in the wintertime, if you are looking for thrills, excitement and a lively night life. This is a very rugged area of the world (all the more reason why the existence of a world class hotel in this off beat neck of the woods is so very enticing!). Part of the charm and appeal, in fact, is that there is very little to do. We would recommend securing a rental car, however, as it gives guests more freedom to explore the coast and the nearby villages. Be aware that many of the businesses in both Tofino and Ucluelet are closed during the winter months and reopen on March first, according to the signs on the doors. Bring your own rainwear but if you don't, the Wiki provides rain coats, pants and boots. There is spectacular hiking both nearby and along Long Beach--these merit a whole separate review. Our days consisted of long daily walks, indulging in some spa treatments and yoga in the fabulous Ancient Cedars Spa, curling up with a blanket on the deck with a book or movie and listening to the surf, taking walks in the towns and enjoying dining both in the restaurant at the hotel and in the towns. All in all, a superb, low key relaxing break from the usual stressful pace of life.

On a final note, to optimize our time here over the short three day weekend, we opted to take a flight from Calgary to Vancouver and then the Orca airline which services the more remote areas of the west coast. The six seater flight was an adventure in and of itself but we left Calgary at 8 am and were in Tofino by 1 in the afternoon.

Room Tip: The Inn is built in such a way as to afford optimal views from every room. There is no such thing as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaireCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

My boyfriend and I went to the Wickaninnish Inn (strangely fun name) in May a few years ago. It was a trip to remember. The restaurant at the Inn was excellent, the room was very relaxing - five star hotel caliber with a priceless view, and the spa was unforgettable!

We flew from LAX to Vancouver and rented a car. We spent two nights in Vancouver and took the ferry from Horseshoe Bay to Nanaimo with our rental car. We drove to the inn and stopped along the way in Coombs at the Old Country Market (Goats on the roof).

We will return, this place was like heaven on earth. When checking in they give you a card with the weather forecast and the tide times, I thought that was a cute touch. If you like seafood this is the place to be. All the restaurants in the area have the freshest seafood I've ever tasted. Coming from Massachusetts I've had my share of great seafood. The oysters and the dungenees crab were to die for! We ordered a bottle of Domain Drouhin, Laurene Pinot Noir from Oregon at the Inn's restaurant, The Pointe and it was one of the best Pinots I've ever had.

We enjoyed a couples massage and a facial at the Ancient Cedars Spa, it started with a hot stone foot soak. We sat outside, were wrapped in hot blankets, while looking out at the water. The water was sooo hot, but it was quite chilly outside so it felt awesome. The views alone were breathtaking. I have to say the spa at the Bellagio, Las Vegas was my favorite until I came here. They carry Aveda products at the spa and they give you skin care regiment if you get a facial.

There was so much to do in the area and it was great to have an amazing place to unwind at the end of the day. The first two days were were there we mostly relaxed at the inn with movies, wine and cheese... We went whale watching, had great ice cream, went to the botanical gardens, rented movies from the movie shack, ate at the Schooner, and went to The Long Beach Lodge Resort (Amazing views at sunset).

On the drive back to the ferry terminal we saw a bear on the side of the road, which was the perfect ending to a perfect trip!

Room Tip: One with a view of the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobeTrotterCA11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationswick, Guest Relations Coordinator at Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Hlbebe11,
Thank you for taking the time to post a Review of your stay with us a few years ago on Trip Advisor and we appreciate you sharing your experience with our online community.
We are absolutely thrilled you enjoyed your stay at the Inn and that you also enjoyed the very scenic drive to Tofino. A stop to visit the goats on the roof at the Old Country Market in Coombs is always a must!
We truly appreciate and thank you for all of your very kind comments regarding our Inn, The Pointe Restaurant, our Ancient Cedars Spa and the service you received from our team. Our primary concern is for our guests' overall experience and we pride ourselves on quality service and outstanding room, food and spa products.
As you found our name to be “strangely fun”, we thought we would provide you, as well as our readers, with some interesting information on the name “Wickaninnish”:
One of the most enchanting things about this neck of the woods is that the area has remained largely unchanged for eons. Next time you’re on a beach contemplating the rolling surf, try and imagine the foreshore dotted with hand hewn canoes manned by First Nations fishermen or, as it turns out, warriors embarking on a raiding party.
Such was the case in the mid-16th century, when a “Tla-o-qui-aht” (anglicized to Clayoquot) chieftain led his warriors on a series of raids against his neighbours - the original inhabitants of Clayoquot Sound.
The architect of these rather unneighbourly acts was a chief by the name of “Wickaninnish”, which, depending on who you talk to means, “No one goes before him” or “He-who-no-one-sits-in-front-of-in-the-canoe.”
Clearly, no one dared to sit in front of him or his offspring, because by the end of the 18th century a Wickaninnish descendant had become the undisputed ruler of most of Vancouver Island, with territories extending from Estevan Point to the Straits of Juan de Fuca. Not that voting was a factor, but his riding consisted of over 13,000 First Nations people.
You may also be interested to learn that we share our name as well with Wickaninnish School, Wickaninnish Beach (located in the beautiful Pacific Rim National Park) and with the Wickaninnish Inn Restaurant.
On behalf of Charles McDiarmid and our entire Wickaninnish Inn team we thank you for your kind Review and sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to the Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant again!
Sandy Stocker
Guest Relations Coordinator
Wickaninnish Inn & The Pointe Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

I came here for my birthday as a surprise gift from my partner last september and it was nice. The hotel staff were friendly and the room was quite nice. We experienced most of the things they offered the hotel. The restaurant was very nice and the food was good and the spa was very relaxing as well. My only gripe was that certain things were quite expansive, considering what you get. Couples massage was well over $400 cdn(90 minute massage), that's pretty ridiculous if you ask me. I didn't find out until after the fact, i would have never let my partner book the spa had i known. I also felt the room was a bit overpriced too, but oh well...overall we had a good experience at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldtraveller604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
200 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

We have stayed at the wonderful Wikaninnish Inn for many years and love being in the heart of wilderness while experiencing luxury accomodations. The cliff hanging, northwest facing accomodations at the original inn are becoming a bit dated; but they are planning renovations in 2012. If you go, stay in the original inn for the best views and to be close to the bar and restaurant. The newer accomodations are much nicer than the originals; but have less spectacular veiws of the ocean. The best time to stay is in the summer for the true rain forest trail walks and the wonderful, long uninterrupted beach walks immediately south of the resort. However, if you are thrilled by giant, crashing waves on the rocks below as you dine, then definitely book when a storm is on the way. The food has always been excellent; the service staff very well trained; but with the addition of the larger, newer beach front building, the kitchen is frequently overwhelmed and takes a long time to get the food out. What used to be a great deal on room prices has gradually given way under the Relais and Chateau ownership, to an expensive stay, which now appears will preclude our annual stay at this wonderful place. There are numerous other somewhat comparable accomodations in the area that are much more budget friendly; though this spot is definitely worth putting on your bucket list for at least 1 visit. Getting there is fairly easy by commercial flight into the former airforce base at Tofino and then a taxi to the resort (or rent a car for exploring the area) which takes about 20 minutes If you like to drive, the Pacific Rim Highway from Victoria will eventually get you there. This is one of the most scenic drives in the northwest.

Room Tip: Stay at the original inn on the northwest corner, second or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CAPTAINCUISINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationswick, Guest Relations Coordinator at Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear Captain Cuisine,
Thank you for posting a Review of your September stay at our Inn and sharing your experience with our online Trip Advisor community.
We are truly pleased you once again enjoyed your stay but do apologize that you found our west facing guest rooms to be somewhat dated. We appreciate and thank you for mentioning the planned upgrade to our original Pointe building and in fact this comprehensive upgrade to all these 45 guest rooms began in earnest on January 2nd during our annual closure and will continue through our re-opening on February 10th. This upgrade will see enhancements throughout both guest room and bathroom areas that will raise their standard from the existing 4 diamond level to the same 5 diamond standards of our Beach building guest rooms and suites.
Despite this significant new investment to our Pointe building, we are very pleased to advise that our rates are not changing for 2012 and we will continue to provide the Relais & Chateaux product and service our Inn and The Pointe Restaurant have earned their reputation for providing to our guests. We would most certainly love to welcome you back to the Inn to experience our newly renovated guest rooms personally and would welcome any feedback you may have at any time.
While we truly appreciate your very kind comments regarding the service provided by our team, we were disappointed to read that you have experienced slower service at The Pointe Restaurant than previously enjoyed. Slow service is unacceptable and we would welcome the opportunity to receive further details in this regard as it is not a concern that we encounter very often. Please do contact us directly through Trip Advisor’s private messaging service or at sandy@wickinn.com at any time so we can conduct the appropriate internal follow up.
On behalf of Charles McDiarmid and our entire Wickaninnish Inn team we thank you for your Review and sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant again!
Sandy Stocker
Guest Relations Coordinator
Wickaninnish Inn & The Pointe Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar, Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

wonderful amazingly equipped room with excellent seaview and first class welcoming service from all of thier staff. Best encountered in 50 years of hotels. Expensive but well worth it for the above and the to see an eagle catch a fish during dinner was marvelous.

Room Tip: all rooms appeared to offer excellent views and all very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReeceForfar_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorado, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

If you are trying to make up your mind about whether or not to stay at the Wick, just do it. I am as jaded a traveler as there is, and I cannot remember the last time I was able to relax this much at a hotel. The rooms are not five star luxury suites by any means, but they are clean, cozy, comfortable, large and well-appointed. They are redoing many of the rooms, so by the time I write this, all of the rooms may have been upgraded. We took a peek at a renovated room before we left, and we look forward to staying in one on our next visit.

But honestly, forget the room for a minute because most people don't come to Tofino for the hotel room. The views from the rooms are stunning. You can walk right out onto the fairly secluded beach from the inn's location, and the views from the Pointe are unmatched. All of these things are well and good, but the reason that we will be coming back to the Wick is due to the service.

We ate every meal in the Pointe restaurant. We hadn't initially intended to do so, but after our first dinner we were hooked. Why? Well we have certainly eaten food just as good in Vancouver so while the food was great it wasn't the main reason. It was because we have never eaten anywhere where the chef was so willing to accommodate our dietary needs and requests. I think we may have driven the chef nuts, but he indulged our requests diligently and without balking. Our waiter dutifully and carefully relayed our requests to the chef, remembered our favorite beverages, gave us tips and advice for checking out Tofino, and generally just made sure every meal was completely to our satisfaction in every way possible.

As well during our visit we had a flat tire on our car. Without bothering us about it, the staff filled the tire not once, but three times before we left. Then upon leaving, they gave us directions to the best tire shop on our way back to Nanaimo. It felt really nice to be taken care of in such a genuine and unobtrusive way.

The food was great, our massages were great, the views were great, the rooms were great, and Tofino was great. But the reason we will keep coming back to the Wick is the one thing that cannot be easily duplicated or faked and that's their outstanding and genuine five star service.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lexie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofino
1.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
2.7 km away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
1.4 km away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
0.9 km away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
201.5 km away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant

Property: Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Address: 500 Osprey Lane at Chesterman Beach, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tofino
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#1 Family Hotel in Tofino
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wickaninnish Inn, a Relais & Chateaux property since 1997, overlooks the Pacific Ocean from a rocky point on Vancouver Island’s rugged west coast, near the eclectic town of Tofino and Pacific Rim National Park. Two contemporary cedar buildings, set against a backdrop of ancient rainforest, boast an extensive local art collection (complemented by the neighbouring wood carving shed), and all rooms and suites offer ocean or beach views, gas fireplace, soaker tub and individual balcony. Uncompromising service, including a Clefs d’Or Concierge team, is a standard. The sole resort on Chesterman Beach, Tofino’s longest at 2.5km/1.5mi, the Inn is home to refined West Coast cuisine at The Pointe Restaurant and naturally-inspired treatments at its intimate Ancient Cedars Spa. Tofino’s McDiarmid family welcomes you to this locally owned, world renowned sanctuary offering Rustic Elegance on Nature’s Edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wickaninnish Inn And The Pointe Restaurant Hotel Tofino
The Wickaninnish Hotel And Pointe
Wickaninnish Inn And The Pointe Restaurant Tofino, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing