We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From Terrible to Excellent Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I’ve spent some time researching on Hotels, esp. between Long Beach Lodge Resort & the Wick before finalizing on the Wick.

As I was concerned about possible construction noise on the Pointe Building, I called the Hotel & was “encouraged” to make use of their 3-night Beach Building promotion. The 2nd time I called, a lady named Karen assured me the construction was almost over and there’d be not much noise. When I said I’d make reservation on the internet, she told me it’d be $20/ night cheaper to book on the phone. So I made reservation with her for a south-facing room on the 3rd floor for 2 nights in mid-March. When she knew I was going to celebrate my birthday there, she assured me I’d have a really nice room with the best view possible.

We arrived the Hotel at 12:30 pm. Our room was not ready & the Hotel said they’d call us on our cell-phone while we went to have lunch at Shelter Restaurant.

When we checked-in at 2:30 pm, the Front Receptionist brought us to our Room on the 3rd floor, which was directly above the Hotel Lobby, together with our luggage. When the door opened, I was shocked. Instead of looking at the breath-taking Pacific Ocean, I could only see a row of trees completely blocking the windows. I expressed my utter disappointment to the Front Receptionist.

After a while, we were shown another room right next to our original room but on the 2nd floor. Despite being on a lower floor, the windows were at least not blocked and $30/ night cheaper. We agreed to switch rooms and waited for our luggage to be transferred.

Then the Front Receptionist called again and offered a complimentary upgrade to a Premiere Room on the 1st floor. Since it’s on the lowest floor, the south-facing balcony/ window were kinda blocked by the cliff (not accessable) and didn’t have much view, but the west-facing windows overlooked the Pacific Ocean & the view was breath-taking. That was indeed a very nice Room.

The bed was very comfortable. Also loved the hot chocolate apart from the usual coffee & tea in-room.

The Bathroom had temperature-controlled heated floor. The Bath was large and the Shower had good pressure. Also loved the high-quality bath amenities and the thick towels.

I brought my own rain boots but my husband didn’t. Unfortunately, the Front Reception was out of his size. Fortunately, we found one pair at the Reception at the Beach Building. Having read so many good reviews, we’d expect the Hotel to make some effort to check both sides but they obviously didn’t. Anyway, walking on the beach with rain boots was an experience not to be missed!

We had dinner at the Pointe Restaurant on the 2nd evening. We ordered the Fixed Dinner at $59/ person. Wine-pairing was an additional $30. Both food and service were top-notch.

Room Tip: The Hotel does not list all their rooms on the internet. Call for better rates and specify NOT to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lraep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationswick, Guest Relations Coordinator at Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2012

Dear Lreap,
Thank you for providing us with feedback on your recent stay at the Wickaninnish Inn. Feedback from you, our guest, provides us with the insight needed for continual improvement.
While we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, we were most disappointed to read that the view from the guest room initially reserved for you was not as you were expecting. It is our standard to clearly describe all room types and their specific views to guests during the reservation process. We apologize if this did not happen in your case. We were, however, pleased to learn that our team was able to offer you a guest room which met all of your expectations.
We were most pleased to read that you enjoyed dining at The Pointe Restaurant. It is our goal to provide each and every guest with a culinary and service experience that meets and hopefully exceeds their expectations. We are pleased you felt we had succeeded in this respect.
Thank you for advising you particularly appreciated the amenities provided, such as the guest room bath amenities, hot chocolate and rain boots. We try to anticipate our guests’ needs and provide items which we feel would enhance their stay, we do apologize however that the Front Office was unable to immediately locate boots in your husbands size but pleased that an appropriate pair were returned in time for your walk.
Again, we are truly sorry that your original guest room was not to your satisfaction and on behalf of Charles McDiarmid and our entire Wickaninnish Inn team we thank you for your Review. We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant again!
Sandy Stocker
Guest Relations Coordinator
Wickaninnish Inn & The Pointe Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

978 - 984 of 1,363 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

The view was beyond amazing! The bed was super comfortable. In room tea and coffee were delicious. Basically they thought of everything.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wvanthiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This is my favorite hotel in the world. Spent 4 nights here in April 2012. People think of the Wickaninnish as pure luxury, which it is, and absurdly expensive, which it isn't. Though my partner and I have only average incomes, we have stayed here 6 times in the past 7 years. The rooms are large, comfortable and beautifully appointed. The soundproofing is absolute, the only noise we could hear from our room was the sound of the sea when the door to the balcony was open. Unlike a hotel in a city where you are out all the time, in Tofino the hotel is a central part of the experience. Our entertainment consisted solely of walking miles and miles on the beach, watching surfers, reading on the balcony or next to the vast picture window, or bathing in the double soaker tub (also in front of an artfully screened picture window. Everything you could need is provided: a luxurious blanket to wrap yourself in if the sea breeze makes the balcony chilly, raincoats and boots so beachwalking is always possible, and binoculars for whale watching from the far side of nearby Frank Island (just 20 minutes walk from the hotel at low tide. I literally never feel more relaxed than I do when staying at the Wick.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VancouverViolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

If you're in the mood to spoil yourselves, the Wickaninnish Inn on the west coast of Vancouver Island near Tofino, BC, has got to be one of the best choices available. My wife and I spent a night there in mid-February and enjoyed virtually everything about the place. My only mistake was not booking two nights. The location is spectacular, the accommodations terrific and the staff exceptional. The rooms are big with a couple of comfortable armchairs in front of both the windows looking out over the open Pacific and the gas fireplace. Raingear and gumboots are provided for walking the beach, as are Hudson's Bay blankets to warm up with afterwards. And there are quite a few other nice touches that you don't often see: neat little reading lights, a Bose sound system to plug your IPOD into, a well stocked library of both reading and video material. They even take dogs (and provide a spot to wash them off after they've romped on the beach). We ate dinner and a late breakfast in The Pointe restaurant -- if there's a dining room with a more stunning view in Canada, I've not heard of it -- and found both the food and service to be excellent. There is just no downside here -- unless you're on a tight budget... it's not cheap, but it is worth every penny. We'll be back soon... for at least a two night stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We have never stayed at this resort, but dined here a very long time ago, last month we decided to have lunch at the Pointe and we didn't expect to have very mediocre fare with such skyhigh prices, i had a salmon over some greens that were still dirty, i expect them to wash their salads, the bill came to about $60, my better half had a sandwich which was cold over greesy buns, and that was all, skyhigh prices and low quality food. i should mention that our server was very kind, we felt bad for him. from experience i can say, don't ever get fooled by expensive restaurants that look great, the things i have seen in their kitchen would make you rank them like some fast food joint. i wanna come back, but probably for dinner, and i know i will be paying far more, but hope that it will be better.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank squampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationswick, Guest Relations Coordinator at Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2012

Dear Squampton,
We appreciate you taking time to provide us with feedback on your experience at The Pointe Restaurant for lunch last month.
We were most disappointed to read that your lunch was not to your satisfaction and certainly wish we could have had the opportunity to address your concerns personally with you at the time. Our goal is to provide each and every guest of The Pointe Restaurant with a dining experience that not only meets but exceeds their expectation and we are truly sorry that we did not meet this goal in your case.
We can assure you that your experience certainly is not the standard at The Pointe Restaurant as our culinary team prides itself on providing outstanding cuisine utilizing only the freshest, locally sourced food products available.
While we are confident that your experience was an isolated incident, we can assure you that we are following up internally with our culinary team. As our guests’ feedback provides us with the insight needed for continual improvement, we would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you personally to fully understand and learn from your experience. Should you have additional information you care to share with us, please provide your contact information to us through either Trip Advisor’s private messaging system or by emailing us at sandy@wickinn.com and we will arrange for a member of our senior management team to contact you directly.
As well, we certainly hope you will return for dinner and when doing so we would be delighted to provide you with a personal tour of our kitchen. Please feel free to contact our Director of Food & Beverage, Ike Seaman, at 250-725-3100 at any time should you be interested in a tour.
Again, we are truly sorry that The Pointe Restaurant did not meet your expectations and sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to address your concerns personally with you.
Sandy Stocker
Guest Relations Coordinator
Wickaninnish Inn & The Pointe Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

A very great experience ,location and service was one of a kind. I'm so glad my friend recommended this place as a Canadian getaway, not to be missed.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northbound33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This hotel is amazing. The ocean view and the warm luxurious rooms made for a fantastic few nights in Toffino. The staff was friendly everything was clean and there was a great beach only steps away. The only thing better than the rooms was the delicious food at the hotel restaurant. Expensive but woth it for a few nights of perfection.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazzy0066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.0 km away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.8 km away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
2.7 km away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
328 reviews
1.4 km away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,083 reviews
2.8 km away
Meares Vista Inn
Meares Vista Inn
#13 of 16 in Tofino
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant

Address: 500 Osprey Lane at Chesterman Beach, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tofino
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#2 Green Hotel in Tofino
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range: $298 - $753 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wickaninnish Inn, a Relais & Chateaux property since 1997, overlooks the Pacific Ocean from a rocky point on Vancouver Island’s rugged west coast, near the eclectic town of Tofino and Pacific Rim National Park. Two contemporary cedar buildings, set against a backdrop of ancient rainforest, boast an extensive local art collection (complemented by the neighbouring wood carving shed), and all rooms and suites offer ocean or beach views, gas fireplace, soaker tub and individual balcony. Uncompromising service, including a Clefs d’Or Concierge team, is a standard. The sole resort on Chesterman Beach, Tofino’s longest at 2.5km/1.5mi, the Inn is home to refined West Coast cuisine at The Pointe Restaurant and naturally-inspired treatments at its intimate Ancient Cedars Spa. Tofino’s McDiarmid family welcomes you to this locally owned, world renowned sanctuary offering Rustic Elegance on Nature’s Edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wickaninnish Inn And The Pointe Restaurant Hotel Tofino
The Wickaninnish Hotel And Pointe
Wickaninnish Inn And The Pointe Restaurant Tofino, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing