We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelieveable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unbelieveable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed in the Premier room on the second floor and wow it was breath-taking. Every night we'd just stare outside and appreciate our panoramic view. It was expensive but more than we imagined. Even spotted a few bald eagles. Very nice staff, turn down service, and attention to detail. When we arrived on our first night, they had an outdoor cookout right on the beach. We enjoyed long walks along the beach almost daily and it was truly a tranquil experience. Total escape from reality. Very different from our normal 'warmer' beach vacations but this one had its own charm. The food was also delicious but we'd prefer to leave the hotel and try out the scenery in downtown Tofino.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChinaGuy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    974
    150
    54
    27
    15
See reviews for
185
808
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This was our 2nd time coming to the Wickanninish Inn, the first time being our honeymoon 2 years ago, and it was just as amazing this time around. Never in my life have I stayed at a hotel where the service was so amazing and yet not pretentious in the least. They remember your names, they remember what you like, you get calls to ensure everything is as you hoped it would be. They have trully nailed it with their description of "rustic elegance on nature's edge". Never have I stayed in a place that felt so luxury but so relaxed. The decor fits in perfectly with the surroundings. Our 3rd floor deluxe room at the Pointe building had amazing views from the deck and every window and we left the windows open every evening to hear the sound of the waves crashing in. I could go on and on about the building, the location and the staff and never know where to stop.

Two things you must try: A hot stone massage in the Cedar Santuary at the Ancient Cedars Spa and a vanilla latte made with their house made vanilla bean infused syrup at the Driftwood Lounge. You will never have a massage so amazing or a latte so delicious. They will ruin you for life!

Room Tip: Rooms in the Pointe building are more private as they don't have the beach in front of them. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Breathtaking views in the most beautiful comfortable room. Words are not able to describe you will not be disappointed. Our deluxe room featured ocean views from the bedroom and beautiful picture window to look out during a long soak in the tub. Easy access to the Chesterman beach right from the rooms. Great for surfing and walks.

Thank you for accomodating our electric vehicle. We were warmly greeted as soon as we arrived (Still in our car) to ensure we found our special parking spot. Exceptional customer service from everyone. Our pet loved her special dog basket and goodies. We ran out of time but have a look at the Spa new cave grotto steam room........guests can use for a nominal fee.....well worth it.

Highly recommend and we will be back!!

Room Tip: Second Floor Deluxe in the Point Building Facing West excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

our visit to Tofino/Ucluelet & the "WICK" as it is named by the Locals was nothing shy of spledid hospitality & genuine service. although we did not stay at the Wick we will next year on our trip. our family usually stay in what we assumed more affordable accomodations nearby. this time we decided to treat ourselves to "the point" and quickly learned it is actually only a very small amount more for what is far more impressive and luxurious. we are already dreaming of our next adventure to Tofino! a big thank you to all who made us feel so invited and cared for.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viktoria j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

This is first-rate accommodation, in a beyond beautiful and magical location. It is rustic luxury and we can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nurcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
287 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

I’ve spent some time researching on Hotels, esp. between Long Beach Lodge Resort & the Wick before finalizing on the Wick.

As I was concerned about possible construction noise on the Pointe Building, I called the Hotel & was “encouraged” to make use of their 3-night Beach Building promotion. The 2nd time I called, a lady named Karen assured me the construction was almost over and there’d be not much noise. When I said I’d make reservation on the internet, she told me it’d be $20/ night cheaper to book on the phone. So I made reservation with her for a south-facing room on the 3rd floor for 2 nights in mid-March. When she knew I was going to celebrate my birthday there, she assured me I’d have a really nice room with the best view possible.

We arrived the Hotel at 12:30 pm. Our room was not ready & the Hotel said they’d call us on our cell-phone while we went to have lunch at Shelter Restaurant.

When we checked-in at 2:30 pm, the Front Receptionist brought us to our Room on the 3rd floor, which was directly above the Hotel Lobby, together with our luggage. When the door opened, I was shocked. Instead of looking at the breath-taking Pacific Ocean, I could only see a row of trees completely blocking the windows. I expressed my utter disappointment to the Front Receptionist.

After a while, we were shown another room right next to our original room but on the 2nd floor. Despite being on a lower floor, the windows were at least not blocked and $30/ night cheaper. We agreed to switch rooms and waited for our luggage to be transferred.

Then the Front Receptionist called again and offered a complimentary upgrade to a Premiere Room on the 1st floor. Since it’s on the lowest floor, the south-facing balcony/ window were kinda blocked by the cliff (not accessable) and didn’t have much view, but the west-facing windows overlooked the Pacific Ocean & the view was breath-taking. That was indeed a very nice Room.

The bed was very comfortable. Also loved the hot chocolate apart from the usual coffee & tea in-room.

The Bathroom had temperature-controlled heated floor. The Bath was large and the Shower had good pressure. Also loved the high-quality bath amenities and the thick towels.

I brought my own rain boots but my husband didn’t. Unfortunately, the Front Reception was out of his size. Fortunately, we found one pair at the Reception at the Beach Building. Having read so many good reviews, we’d expect the Hotel to make some effort to check both sides but they obviously didn’t. Anyway, walking on the beach with rain boots was an experience not to be missed!

We had dinner at the Pointe Restaurant on the 2nd evening. We ordered the Fixed Dinner at $59/ person. Wine-pairing was an additional $30. Both food and service were top-notch.

Room Tip: The Hotel does not list all their rooms on the internet. Call for better rates and specify NOT to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lraep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationswick, Guest Relations Coordinator at Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Dear Lreap,
Thank you for providing us with feedback on your recent stay at the Wickaninnish Inn. Feedback from you, our guest, provides us with the insight needed for continual improvement.
While we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, we were most disappointed to read that the view from the guest room initially reserved for you was not as you were expecting. It is our standard to clearly describe all room types and their specific views to guests during the reservation process. We apologize if this did not happen in your case. We were, however, pleased to learn that our team was able to offer you a guest room which met all of your expectations.
We were most pleased to read that you enjoyed dining at The Pointe Restaurant. It is our goal to provide each and every guest with a culinary and service experience that meets and hopefully exceeds their expectations. We are pleased you felt we had succeeded in this respect.
Thank you for advising you particularly appreciated the amenities provided, such as the guest room bath amenities, hot chocolate and rain boots. We try to anticipate our guests’ needs and provide items which we feel would enhance their stay, we do apologize however that the Front Office was unable to immediately locate boots in your husbands size but pleased that an appropriate pair were returned in time for your walk.
Again, we are truly sorry that your original guest room was not to your satisfaction and on behalf of Charles McDiarmid and our entire Wickaninnish Inn team we thank you for your Review. We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant again!
Sandy Stocker
Guest Relations Coordinator
Wickaninnish Inn & The Pointe Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

The view was beyond amazing! The bed was super comfortable. In room tea and coffee were delicious. Basically they thought of everything.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wvanthiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofino
1.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
2.7 km away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
1.4 km away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
0.9 km away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
201.5 km away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant

Property: Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Address: 500 Osprey Lane at Chesterman Beach, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tofino
#1 Green Hotel in Tofino
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wickaninnish Inn, a Relais & Chateaux property since 1997, overlooks the Pacific Ocean from a rocky point on Vancouver Island’s rugged west coast, near the eclectic town of Tofino and Pacific Rim National Park. Two contemporary cedar buildings, set against a backdrop of ancient rainforest, boast an extensive local art collection (complemented by the neighbouring wood carving shed), and all rooms and suites offer ocean or beach views, gas fireplace, soaker tub and individual balcony. Uncompromising service, including a Clefs d’Or Concierge team, is a standard. The sole resort on Chesterman Beach, Tofino’s longest at 2.5km/1.5mi, the Inn is home to refined West Coast cuisine at The Pointe Restaurant and naturally-inspired treatments at its intimate Ancient Cedars Spa. Tofino’s McDiarmid family welcomes you to this locally owned, world renowned sanctuary offering Rustic Elegance on Nature’s Edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wickaninnish Inn And The Pointe Restaurant Hotel Tofino
The Wickaninnish Hotel And Pointe
Wickaninnish Inn And The Pointe Restaurant Tofino, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing