We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Pure magic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pure magic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Tofino and Wickaninnish Inn are the highlight of our Canada/US west coast road trip and probably one of the most cherished memories of 2016.

The staff are warm and welcoming and somehow know just the perfect thing for all occasions: recommendation for a quick bite before a whale watching trip, detailed directions to wherever you need to go and a glass of port in your room to warm up after a few hours on the stormy ocean.

The room (Deluxe on the third floor of the Wickaninnish at the Pointe) was cosy and fitted out to perfection: rain coats and umbrellas for beach walks, a fire place (albeit gas) and some great nature books for a cosy evening indoors plus a balcony to watch the waves crash against the ragged coast with your morning coffee. The double soaking tub set against a picture window and the glass enclosed shower with ocean views were just icing on cake.

The coastline and the surrounding forests are breathtaking (the best morning run I've had in ages) and the hotel restaurant takes full advantage of that: beautiful setting! The fact that the food is also good almost feels like an added bonus.

In summary, a simple, rustic, no frills hideaway that does everything it set out to do to perfection. This is one of those rare finds around which I would be willing to plan my next trip.

Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Posian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    933
    143
    53
    27
    14
See reviews for
176
773
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here as part of the New Years Eve package that the inn offers, and were absolutely blown away. It exceeded our expectations in every way. We stayed in the main building (the Pointe building) and our room had exceptional views of "Secret Cove", over which we got to watch the sun set every evening. The hotel was quiet and extremely cozy, with fireplaces in every room. The restaurant was expensive (but what do you expect?), but well worth eating in at least once to experience the beauty of the dining area, which has a panoramic view of the water. If you are traveling to Tofino, I can't recommend this gorgeous hotel enough.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying 4 nights in this welcoming inn on Chesterman Beach at Tofino. Room was cozy with gas fireplace and view of rocky point and small deck with chairs to watch crashing waves. Room came with full rain gear - heavy rain coat, pants & boots - suitable for long walks in changeable December storm weather. 'The Pointe Restaurant' affords a panoramic view of beach and crashing surf. Excellent cuisine and service with selection of seafood eg. local sablefish, lingcod, oysters, scallops, mussels, etc. served elegantly and simply. Also enjoyed a visit to the spa which is on lower level and opens onto the point and has an outside component, including a small outdoor massage room/ building. Staff are helpful and skillful. Also have exercise room in beach(Driftwood) building. Particularly enjoyed long walks on beaches, watching surfers and accessing local Frank island at low tide...Front Desk staff are very helpful for planning local excursions and services which are plentiful. Truly a wonderful and surprising way to spend a winter vacation!

Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank NDF848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Can't say enough about this spot. Was on a solo two day trip to see storms and it was perfect. Rooms are wonderful and fit the environment with thoughtful touches like radiant heat on bathroom floors, a window to see out through the room when in the tub, rainwear to take in the scenery, a lovely balcony, cozy blankets to wrap you on balcony or by the fire....I could go on! Food is amazing. Service throughout is top notch. Had the best fish dish ever for dinner in the sablefish, with great beet salad to start. Tofino in the winter is just as magical, just quieter and colder. It's pricey but worth the splurge. In the past we stayed elsewhere but always came for at least one dinner. Crazy drive in a ton of snow back to Victoria! Can't wait to go back.

Stayed December 2016
Helpful?
Thank Babs621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, WA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great place! Cozy spot to watch the waves and storms, then this morning was bright and sunny. Super rooms with fireplace, view, and an oversize tub. We had an adventure when the power went out. They had a generator to keep the kitchen running and the wifi up. Waves were crashing on the rocks and we had a candlelit breakfast. Also had a couples massage that was beyond super. Expensive, but more than worth it.

Room Tip: All good, arranged so all rooms have a view.
See more room tips
Green Features: exceptionally environmentally aware! They take great care to inform guests about the fragile beach
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbieMac421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Road
Level Contributor
387 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I think the fact that people rave about the Wickaninnish Inn had, perversely, put me off of it. I'm not sure if I thought it would be disappointing, or over-the-top, or snooty, or what. Having now stayed for several nights over Christmas, I can confirm that the reason people speak so highly of it is that - unsurprisingly - it's really great.

The staff with whom we interacted - mostly front desk staff, but also housekeeping - were uniformly friendly. The buildings are lovely and the setting is sublime. The artwork, both indoor and outdoor, deserves special mention. Even though we had opted to not have the Christmas package, we still received a stocking full of baking from the hotel on Christmas Eve.

The workout room was better than average: a selection of good-quality cardio machines (the elliptical didn't have any incline adjustment), dumbbells that went up to 45 pounds, a couple of Swiss balls, and the ubiquitous multi-gym.

If I were to mention a couple of very picky points, I'd suggest that they might perhaps have someone curate their DVD selection (though how many hotels even offer a complementary DVD library?), and I couldn't get our room cool enough, even with the door wide open and the thermostat turned all the way down.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WandererOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We came here for Christmas Eve and Christmas Day supper / weekend Wow great service and great staff Very pleased with our weekend get away I recommend anyone to go there Great food nice rooms with great views.

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kenh921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofino
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 53 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant

Property: Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Address: 500 Osprey Lane at Chesterman Beach, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#1 Green Hotel in Tofino
#1 Family Hotel in Tofino
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wickaninnish Inn, a Relais & Chateaux property since 1997, overlooks the Pacific Ocean from a rocky point on Vancouver Island’s rugged west coast, near the eclectic town of Tofino and Pacific Rim National Park. Two contemporary cedar buildings, set against a backdrop of ancient rainforest, boast an extensive local art collection (complemented by the neighbouring wood carving shed), and all rooms and suites offer ocean or beach views, gas fireplace, soaker tub and individual balcony. Uncompromising service, including a Clefs d’Or Concierge team, is a standard. The sole resort on Chesterman Beach, Tofino’s longest at 2.5km/1.5mi, the Inn is home to refined West Coast cuisine at The Pointe Restaurant and naturally-inspired treatments at its intimate Ancient Cedars Spa. Tofino’s McDiarmid family welcomes you to this locally owned, world renowned sanctuary offering Rustic Elegance on Nature’s Edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wickaninnish Inn And The Pointe Restaurant Hotel Tofino
The Wickaninnish Hotel And Pointe
Wickaninnish Inn And The Pointe Restaurant Tofino, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing