We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Friendly Hostel”
Reviewed 11 October 2015

Stayed here 3 nights in high season. Booked in advance as it's popular. Staff welcoming & knowledgeable. We had family room at back so no views. Amazing views at front tho'. The scenery,mountains ,ocean & islands is stunning. Tofino is a laid back place.

Room Tip: arrive early if you need a car space
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank totnesjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    59
    14
    7
    7
See reviews for
24
41
61
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2015

Visiting again for the second time, I always remembered this hostel as one of the best I've stayed in around the world - it still is. Comfortable beds, great clean facilities and a real communal atmosphere. The view over the bay and Lone Cone Mountain is truly relaxing - nothing beats unwinding in the lounge after a full day exploring watching the sun set over the bay.

  • Stayed September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2015 via mobile

Clean, bright and well priced accommodations in Tofino...leaves you cash to spend on all the wonderful activities instead!
Great location with amazing views from the main room. Quiet time after 11pm means a restful sleep. Large kitchen with lots of tools to prepare your meals.
Highly recommend to those on a budget!

Stayed June 2015, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank NINmistress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2015

I stayed here as part of a tour group on a recent trip to Tofino. The staff were fantastic, very friendly and helpful! The facilities, kitchen, common area, a sauna! were well maintained. The views from the common area across the harbour were amazing! I could have spent the whole evening just watching the water and the mountains. The rooms were decent sized and very well kept as were the washrooms. The only downside was the wifi would cut out in the room but when you're in Tofino why would you be on the internet? Highly recommend Whaler's.

  • Stayed September 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2015 via mobile

I love love love this hostel. It is gorgeous, clean, has a huge kitchen and the best staff ever and super sexy. I believe they have new management. On Friday nights in the summer they had random live music bands which was so cool. I stay here every time.

Stayed September 2015, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2015 via mobile

My boyfriend and I used to make a point of staying here every year we made our road trip out to surf in Tofino, and we've always found the staff amazing, the location perfect, and the atmosphere incredibly friendly and relaxing, but this year management changed and the changes that followed were sadly disappointing. There were new "composts" in the kitchen that were simply uncovered buckets swarming with fruit flies; and in an attempt to contain this mess, some dinner plates were thrown on top. Fly paper was hanging over the stovetops with dead fruit flies stuck all the way down, which was a very unappetizing way to cook a meal. All the times spent out and about Tofino were wonderful, but coming back to the hostel was always the biggest disappointment of the day. And it seems they have now decided that the free wifi they offer is shut off at 11:00. A new friend we did make there was offered a space to sleep in the games room on the floor and charged $40/night, and at the prices they charge now for private rooms, you are far better off at a local B&B or even a hotel, because you're paying pretty much the same for a far inferior experience!

Stayed July 2015, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2015 via mobile

Great hostel experience! This place is nestled on the shores of the sound and provides excellent views of the water and mountains. The staff is professional and knowledgeable of the area - a wealth of information. Community areas are clean, lodging rooms are spacious, and bathrooms provide full size showers! Thank you for the great experience. I highly recommend this place to those traveling on a budget.

Stayed September 2015, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank n2n8ture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
2.6 km away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
3.6 km away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
0.7 km away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Maquinna Lodge
Maquinna Lodge
#15 of 16 in Tofino
134 reviews
6.0 km away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
2.2 km away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse

Property: HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse
Address: 81 West St. | P.O. Box 296, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are interested in surfing, fishing, whale watching, storm watching, beach combing or just which to explore Tofino and its exciting arts, culture and restaurant scene, we offer the best value around. Spend your money on adventure not your accommodation. At the end of each day, enjoy a hot drink or a cold brew next to the fireplace in the comfort of our great room overlooking the Sound, or relax in our cedar wet sauna before shooting a game of pool in our games room! Choose from our spacious private suites (2 - pc bathroom), private rooms or shared dorm style rooms, all with 9 ft ceilings and many with breathtaking waterfront views. We look forward to making your experience memorable! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whalers On The Point Guesthouse Hotel Tofino
HI-Tofino - Whaler’s On The Point Guesthouse Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing