We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Staff & Amazing Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Staff & Amazing Location”
Reviewed 9 September 2016

What isn't to love about Tofino? And the hostel? If you said nothing then you read my mind. Spent Labour Day weekend 2016 here with 2 friends & were immediately impressed with the staff & how knowledgeable they were on the area and you could definitely tell they enjoyed their jobs & interacting with guests. Having worked in Hospitality and hostels in the last 8 years myself I'm always impressed when I find a spot like this thats complimented but staff like at HI-Tofino! Bathroom & dining/Cooking areas were kept very clean, and even free freshly baked muffins to kick off your morning. Prime location right by the waters edge and offering lots of options for eating & drinking around down with several discount coupons for restaurants in the area. Definitely a must stay when visiting Tofino!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room- you wont be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    59
    14
    7
    7
See reviews for
24
41
61
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

The hostel has an amazing location and good, clean facilities however we had quite an unpleasant few nights in a very noisy room. The first night I asked to move room however I was told this was not possible without even looking at the reservations. I put up with the noise for another night and then asked another member of staff to move and they spent time to swap us around into another room which was hugely appreiciated. There is quiet time at 11pm however the location of the dorm room between the kitchen and pool room is ridculous.
Unfornetly the customer service was pretty awful as you constantly felt like an inconvinance to the staff. It seemed to be more of a party pad for the staff rather than a hostel. Apart from two Male staff members that were really helpful.
This is such a shame because the location was just perfect.

Stayed August 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Pixie896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI-TOFINOHOSTEL, General Manager at HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse, responded to this review, 8 September 2016
Thank-you for your review Pixie896. We appreciate you taking the time to reach out and we always appreciate customer feedback. We are reviewing ways in which to better accommodate guests in that room and are now considering alternative uses for it as its proximity to the common area can present a problem if other guests decide to stay up late and be less than considerate. We apologize for the inconvenience and we are happy that we were able to find you another room.

We hope to win you back on your next visit to Tofino as we have received accolades for our customer service however we are at the end of very busy season, and the staff do need a reminder on how to stay guest-focused for these last few weeks of high season! We apologize if you felt as though we could have been more helpful and we have had a staff meeting recently to address your concerns. We hope that you give us another chance and would like to offer you a discount on your next visit. Please email me at manager@tofinohostel.com with your Trip ID and I will send you a voucher.

We hope you had a good time in Tofino overall, and wish you all the best in your travels. Please feel free to call me if you have any questions.

Wendy Hainstock | GM
HI TOFINO, Whalers on the Point Guesthouse
Toll-Free 1.855.725.3443
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

So as stated. Clean lovely location, just seemed only a few people working there took pride in there job. And I'm a firm beleiver your business is as good as your staff. Was a real shame because clearly other member work hard for a good reputation.. ow well won't be returning to this hostel next year.. (had to ring the bell a few times at reception to get greeted by a intoxicated staff member :-/ female)

Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI-TOFINOHOSTEL, General Manager at HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse, responded to this review, 8 September 2016
Hello Samuel,

Thanks for taking the time to review, and we always appreciate customer feedback.

We apologize for not meeting your expectations and we hope to win back your favor on your next visit to Tofino!

We have been working hard towards improving all aspects of the operations and customer service is always a focus, however at the end of a very busy season we are having to remind our staff about maintaining our excellent reputation for friendly and efficient service. We have recently had a staff meeting to address your concerns and I am certain that if you give us another chance you will be glad that you did! As we are a smaller independently owned hostel, our staff wear many hats and may have to take their attention away from the Front Desk to assist guests elsewhere in the hostel which can take time, from changing a bed, flipping laundry, renting out a bike etc. So hopefully your wait time wasn't too long, but just know we greatly appreciate your patience and are looking at ways next season to increase staffing to curb any guest dissatisfaction.
I can assure you that any staff member that greeted you 'intoxicated' as you say, was not in fact working (as all of the staff live on site), and was being a good Samaritan in helping out their fellow staff member while they were assisting other guests.

We hope that you do return to us, and if you do we would love to offer you a discount on your next visit. Please send us an email to manager@tofinohostel.com with your TripAdvisor ID and we will send you a discount voucher.

Feel free to call me if you have any further questions, and I hope to see you in the future.

Safe Travels,

Wendy Hainstock | GM
HI TOFINO, Whalers on the Point Guesthouse
1-855-725-3443
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libertyville, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2016

We spent one night of our vacation in Tofino and were traveling with a family of 7 including guests. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean, beds were comfortable, the people were friendly and it was a short walk into town for dinner. Parking is limited so you need to give the desk your keys. Views from the gathering room are lovely. If you sign up for dinner - you can get dinner here instead of going in town. Coffee shop a short walk away. You do need to remove the bedding before you check out. Price was reasonable. Yes, this is a youth hostel not the Marriott, but we had fun staying here.

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JSkoog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innisfil, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at whalers and for the most part enjoyed our stay . It's quite expensive for the Amount you get with your experience . For example there's not much property or much to do in the hostel . so the room is all they have to offer so for $50+ a night we would have preferred to stay elsewhere.

Stayed August 2016
Helpful?
2 Thank munshaw12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 6 Contributor
558 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

We booked a suite for 4 persons. It was just a very simple room with bunk beds. There was not even a shower in the room. This is a youth hostel with all the rules of a youth hotel. Compared to the other accommodation we visited this one was one of the most expensive for definitive a minimum comfort. Even for the towels we had to pay an extra fee. The hostel was not very centrally located either. The view from the living room was beautiful, but if you use hotels only for sleeping this is not a big advantage.

Stayed August 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip_Bolster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

Beautiful location. Great staff. Comfy chairs and sofas. Great place to watch a sunset. Everything about Tofino is fantastic except the fog. Lack of parking spaces is a problem, though. The kitchen is small. Small community. Only one coffee shop that I found.

Stayed August 2016, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfred K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
2.6 km away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
3.6 km away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
0.7 km away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Maquinna Lodge
Maquinna Lodge
#15 of 16 in Tofino
134 reviews
6.0 km away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
2.2 km away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse

Property: HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse
Address: 81 West St. | P.O. Box 296, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are interested in surfing, fishing, whale watching, storm watching, beach combing or just which to explore Tofino and its exciting arts, culture and restaurant scene, we offer the best value around. Spend your money on adventure not your accommodation. At the end of each day, enjoy a hot drink or a cold brew next to the fireplace in the comfort of our great room overlooking the Sound, or relax in our cedar wet sauna before shooting a game of pool in our games room! Choose from our spacious private suites (2 - pc bathroom), private rooms or shared dorm style rooms, all with 9 ft ceilings and many with breathtaking waterfront views. We look forward to making your experience memorable! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whalers On The Point Guesthouse Hotel Tofino
HI-Tofino - Whaler’s On The Point Guesthouse Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing