We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding - a true home away from home.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding - a true home away from home.”
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

I have to say, this hotel manages large groups impressively well. We were a group of 33 from Royal Roads University and we had an absolutely fantastic time here.

The common area is warm and honestly feels like home. Big stone fireplace, great music and comfy couches, a nice place to put your feet up after hiking the near by trails.

The kitchen is spacious and easy to move around in and is very well stocked with a large fridge. The patio was a nice touch but my favourite was the free muffins every morning straight out the over - a little nice touch that really goes the extra mile.

The rooms are very clean and fantastic bedding. I did find the mattresses a little worn in but still very comfortable. Bathrooms were clean and well maintained.

Above all, the staff were some of the best staff I have encountered in years. They were very welcoming and approachable, they are very knowledgeable of the area - the best source for visitor information in town. (Thanks for the info on hiking trails!)

Overall I would recommend this option to any budget conscious traveller as well as budget group travellers. You will not be disappointed.

Stayed March 2017, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    59
    14
    7
    7
See reviews for
24
41
61
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

This is the most spectacular location with water views and it is also an easy stroll to the centre of town. I saw a seal as I had my coffee the other morning (see location pic below). Highlights include: amazing service and the sauna! Everything is very clean and properly maintained. Beautiful fireplace!

Stayed February 2017, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank SusiHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2017

What a great place to stay! I was here in summer and it was a great location right on the water. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the price was reasonable.The kitchen was very nice and easy to cook in. Also the common area was had a great atmosphere and had amazing view over the water. The activities the staff recommended were good priced and great fun. Overall It was a clean and fun hostel :)

  • Stayed May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheekyTraveller243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights in early December. Even though it was quiet I had a full room each night. But ir didn't mater as the rooms are big enough for everyone to have their own space. With the mist comfy hostel bed I have ever slept on. The staff were super friendly as Yale us some good advice on things to do. The Kitchen was really well stocked and the common areas were really cosy. I honestly think this was the best hostel I have stayed at and I would Def recommended it to anyone passing through!

Stayed December 2016, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ricky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

We booked initially for 5 nights and ended up extending another 4. The staff were super friendly and helpful, the position is beautiful overlooking the bay from the dining room and it has to be the cleanest, most well maintained hostel I have ever stayed in. The kitchen was always clean and well equipped and the staff made delicious muffins every morning. They helped us organise a last minute tour to the hot springs which I definitely recommend doing, especially in winter when it's a lot less crowded and a bit cheaper. This is Definitely the best budget accommodation option in Tofino.
Thanks to everyone there that made our stay very enjoyable.

Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hope G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

Maria and I stayed at the hostel 3 nights. We decided to extend our visit because this is the *best* HiHostel we've ever seen. Prime location, ocean view, clean cozy rooms. Front desk girls were helpful, friendly and really got involved with the guests. We had several group activities in a few days, Halloween one of them, Sunday family dinner, pumpkin carving, free brekky muffins and lots of hanging out. Can't wait to visit everyone again!! Great experience :) xo

Stayed November 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Carolina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed here in the busy month of August. Definitely book ahead
Stayed here for just over a week and had an awesome time. So close to everything in town. Your view is incredible. You can whale watch while your eating a fresh baked muffin and drinking your morning coffee. They host art night, bbq, games nights, live music. When you dont know what to do the staff goes above and beyond to help you find something. You get additional discounts around town for staying here. Its clean. Friendly. And affordable.

Stayed August 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Alana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
2.6 km away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
3.6 km away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
0.7 km away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Maquinna Lodge
Maquinna Lodge
#15 of 16 in Tofino
134 reviews
6.0 km away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
2.2 km away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse

Property: HI-Tofino - Whaler’s on the Point Guesthouse
Address: 81 West St. | P.O. Box 296, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are interested in surfing, fishing, whale watching, storm watching, beach combing or just which to explore Tofino and its exciting arts, culture and restaurant scene, we offer the best value around. Spend your money on adventure not your accommodation. At the end of each day, enjoy a hot drink or a cold brew next to the fireplace in the comfort of our great room overlooking the Sound, or relax in our cedar wet sauna before shooting a game of pool in our games room! Choose from our spacious private suites (2 - pc bathroom), private rooms or shared dorm style rooms, all with 9 ft ceilings and many with breathtaking waterfront views. We look forward to making your experience memorable! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whalers On The Point Guesthouse Hotel Tofino
HI-Tofino - Whaler’s On The Point Guesthouse Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing