We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
“Great escape”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

If you want to relax to the sound of the surf this is the place to be. With no tv, radio or phone, Ocean Village is the place to go and relax. Staff are very friendly and helpful, and we were fortunate to get a great deal on our 4 night stay. We were glad to return to this resort and will hopefully be back next year.
The room was arranged so we would have been comfortable for 4 people but it was nice for a couple getaway.
(And if want to bring some reality with you there is WiFi.)

Room Tip: We have in the past stayed in the 1 bedroom but the studio was very nice too. Although the studios a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    838
    255
    46
    20
    8
See reviews for
524
443
32
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We just got back today after a 2 day stay and loved it so much we wanted to write a review straight away. We got a deal, 2 night for $120 and were excited to visit Tofino for the first time. We had a fantastic lower studio which was perfect for us...we didn't need anything more. We noted we were bringing a dog and were really chuffed that they left dog bowls, poo-bags, dog treats and a dog towel! The toiletries provided were fantastic and both locally made and "all natural". I couldn't fault it at all and we'll definitely be back but maybe in the summer when we have a chance of seeing some sun!!

If you're used to 5* hotels, this isn't for you. Go next door to the Wic. If you enjoy something cute and quaint and just want to enjoy the amazing views/scenery - do it!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrishyLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I want to write another review on our recent revisiting of this wonderful resort. Again 4 of went to Tofino for a two night stay in February in Tofino which is fast becoming (if not is already!) one of my very favourite places. We were able to take advantage of a very generous deal offered to us by Ocean Village Resort which was if we booked (online) the lower cabin we got the upper cabin free. What a great deal. However, with or without this deal we would have gone anyway. We had the best weather of the winter (eleven degrees on the Saturday!), sunny and beautiful. We all enjoyed the tranquility and calm of the OVR - no TV what a joy! The cabins are well appointed, spotlessly clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. I cannot say enough about this place. We are looking forward to our next trip.
Thank you Ocean Village you really do make a difference!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artifacts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Stay here! Spent two nights with my dog in February. It was hard to leave.Saw wonderful storms coming in and sunshine too. So beautiful. Shopping, good food, beaches and rainforest walks are within 5 minutes drive. Tofino truly is magical.
Ocean village is "pet friendly".They had a dog bowl and "poop" bags and dog treats in the room. Nice to see.
I would stay here again. Fair price for this wonderful cottage.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wannatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We have been visiting Tofino for the last 15 years, at least 11 of those years we have stayed at Ocean Village Beach Resort. Our family, husband, me, and our two boys who are now grown,,, have been coming since they were very young. This is our fav place to stay, the staff and owners are friendly and make you feel at home, it is dog friendly now which is excellent for those visits when we need to bring our dogs, the cabins are super cozy, clean and great to stay in. You have everything you need in the cabins if you want to bring food or drink and you can hear the ocean from your deck door or just sit on a chair outside the room and sip a glass of wine watching the sun go down when it is there. The beach is beautiful and so accessible, you dont need to really go anywhere else if you dont want to,, and having a beach fire at night is the best, even in February when it is not raining too hard. Tofino is nearby as is Pacific Rim National Park, and if you need some groceries you dont need to look too far,, as Beaches grocery store is a walk from the room. In recent years under new ownership there are lots of gift items in the office, board games, and i have heard childrens activities in season. And did i mention that the staff are the best. The pool is great and after a cool rainy day walking the beaches and stunning forest trails, there is always a soak in the hot tub , an opportunity to chat with other guests from far away places, and sometimes from your own city.

All in all, i have to say that we love Ocean Village, and it is my favorite place to get away from it all, sometimes i think the perfect life would be to just move into one of the cozy beach cabins and stay forever....

Room Tip: we prefer the lower cabin rooms as it is ground level and like having two rooms sort of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2012

First time staying at Ocean Village. Had such a wonderful stay. Great people all around, and the suite my girlfriend and I stayed in was so perfect. Kitchen to make coffee and breakfast in, and the MacKenzie Beach to surf in only steps away! And, all at a very affordable rate.

Many thanks to the people of Ocean Village, and we will absolutely recommend this place to anyone visiting Tofino. Cheers.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeADavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed in a lower suite with easy access to Mackenzie Beach. Our dog was warmly welcomed. The kitchen was well laid out & functional for meals. Service was friendly & attentive. We recommend this resort for a winter retreat! We'll be going back.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sulliva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.8 km away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
0.2 km away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
3.2 km away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,051 reviews
1.1 km away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
313 reviews
2.6 km away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Village Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Village Beach Resort

Property: Ocean Village Beach Resort
Address: 555 Hellesen Drive, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tofino
#2 Green Hotel in Tofino
#2 Family Hotel in Tofino
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Village Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled comfortably on beautiful MacKenzie Beach, minutes from the picturesque village of Tofino. Our property is ideally located for guests to enjoy all of the activities this breathtaking area has to offer. Unobstructed views and direct beach access from your oceanfront cabin. Renovated and updated for maximum comfort, our iconic “beehive” cabins are available year-round at affordable, family-friendly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Village Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Village Beach Hotel Tofino
Ocean Village Beach Resort Tofino, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing