We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome Back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We have stayed at the Ocean Village Beach Resort every other year for almost two decades. As usual we were extremely impressed by the cleanliness and comfort, coupled with the recent upgrades to their beach double and signal bedroom front cabins.

The weather was fantastic for early June this year... we only had one damp day out of seven, so we ventured on down to Ucluelet to experience their new Aquarium.

We feel that the Ocean Village Beach Resort provides the best value for our vacation dollars. We travel there from Central Alberta every other May/June primarily to experience one of the most majestic views of the Pacific Ocean, supported by a very clean beach.

It is wonderful to sit in your cabin or on the new lawn chairs and watch the tides roll in and out.

Spectacular visit - thank you OVBR for another memorable stay! See you in 2014.

Room Tip: We highly recommend cabin numbers 43, 44 or 45... they provide the best unobstructed view of the Pac...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thediplomaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,198)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Village Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,034 - 1,040 of 1,198 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

When we had mentioned to friends that we were going to stay at Ocean Village Beach Resort. most of them who had visited Tofino had either stayed there before or knew exactly the place we were talking about. The easiest description was "those rounded cabins on the beach". We chose Ocean Village for a number of reasons. The first and second were the location and they had a pool. We stayed in a lower unit with a queen size bed separated by a half wall, two day beds in the sitting room, a small kitchen and bathroom. It was a perfect cabin and did not include TV. I for one was very happy not having a TV and the kids got used to the idea pretty quickly. The beach was wonderful and when the tide went out we went looking for starfish and sand dollars. The weather for us wasn't the warmest being May, but we went knowing that the weather was not allowed to be a factor. We were prepared with fleeces, rain boots and jackets. The resort grounds were kept neat and tidy with flowers and greenery throughout. The cabins are slowly being renovated. We stayed in one that still was a little tired looking, but we didn't really care as we enjoyed the rustic feel. The staff were quite nice and helpful.
They quite often have specials on the internet and I believe if you stay for a few nights you get a discount as well.
We would highly recommend Ocean Village Beach Resort to all of our friends and look forward to our next holiday there on the coast.
We would recommend eating at Sobo in Tofino and having the Salmon Chowder for starters.
Also, if you plan to buy groceries we found the prices at the grocery store in Uquelet to be cheaper than in Tofino.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marcusCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Enjoyed our 2 night stay there, well situated on the beachfront, fabulous sunset spot, clean and comfortable cabins well outfitted with everything you needed, super friendly staff/managers/owners?, liked the selection of board games you could borrow too. Would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jubaanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

On Mackenzie Beach, close to National Park and Tofino it is a good location. We were in the top of a unit with an unrestricted view of the ocean (#3). The bed was comfortable but the couch was not. As the weather was cool (10 ) we spent a fair bit of time there and so a comfortable sofa would have been better. There is a BBQ and people were cooking up their steak or fish. Overall this is a good place to stay in. There is a nice big indoor pool.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank escarpmentlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We went in a family group for four days from 23 to 26 May and had a great time. We were very lucky with the weather - the sun shone every day and we got sun burned! The single storey chalet was comfortable and clean and provided everything we needed. We had a memorable time and hopefully we will be back one day soon. Everyone enjoyed their visit and there were over 20 in our group ranging from small children to 65 year olds.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leicestersaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed in a Lower Studio Cabin which featured a bed, bathroom, small kitchen, table and two couches which would convert to two twin beds. The cabins provide great value compared to the other resorts in Tofino and the location on MacKenzie beach can not be beat.

They were obviously in the process of updating the kitchens and bathrooms in all the units.

We stayed with our two large dogs. Their pet charges were extremely resonable and we had no issues with our pets. MacKenzie beach and adjacent Chesterman beach are the ultimate off-leach park. The laid back atmosphere makes it perfect for anyone travelling with pets.

The pool facilities are a little dated and lack-luster. The hot tub was in need of a cleaning when we stayed - but not that important when in such a spectacular beach location!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arohof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Stayed at a beachfront unit with wife ,mother in law and dog. Great view and easy access to beach . Very functional with good beds for a casual holiday. Beach is sheltered and not particularly long so would be good for families and dogs who don't need long walks.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimaVictoria_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.2 km away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.8 km away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
3.2 km away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,067 reviews
1.1 km away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
321 reviews
2.6 km away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Village Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Village Beach Resort

Address: 555 Hellesen Drive, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tofino
#2 Family Hotel in Tofino
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
Price Range: $150 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Village Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled comfortably on beautiful MacKenzie Beach, minutes from the picturesque village of Tofino. Our property is ideally located for guests to enjoy all of the activities this breathtaking area has to offer. Unobstructed views and direct beach access from your oceanfront cabin. Renovated and updated for maximum comfort, our iconic “beehive” cabins are available year-round at affordable, family-friendly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Village Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Village Beach Hotel Tofino
Ocean Village Beach Resort Tofino, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing