We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The "happiest place on Earth"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The "happiest place on Earth"”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

They say Disneyland is the "happiest place on Earth," but for my family this past Thanksgiving it was the Ocean Village Beach Resort in Tofino, BC. We gathered here, as we had before, to celebrate.

The weather, well we could not asked for better; mid-twenties everyday. Both Mackenzie Beach and Long Beach became giant playgrounds for us. A rousing game of bocce; frisbee on the OVB lawns; exploring the tidal pools nearby.

The staff at the Ocean Village Beach Resort exceeded our expectations. The first morning there i desperatly needed a cup of tea; however, the tea was in my parents cabin. I went over to the office, and seeing as how it was closed, headed back to the cabin. One of the resort employees stopped to offer his assistance. I told him my dilemma, and he led me back to the office, which he then opened, and presented me with 2 bags of tea and a package of hot chocolate. Upon checkout the staff also forgave the fact that someone had lost one of the room keys (which we later found) and that we had inadvertantly missplaced some of the dishes between the 3 cabins we were renting.

While there, we made use of the outdoor barbque and picnic area. Discovering something new at the OVB Resort is always a treat. We shall be sure to return again soon!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vancouverislandgirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    835
    254
    46
    20
    8
See reviews for
520
443
32
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We went for a vacation with some friends and had a great few nights. The cabin was really clean and comfortable with access right onto the beach. Staff were friendly and helpful with places to eat and rent surfboards. Surfing beaches are close by and the resort has a setup to rinse and hang wetsuits. I will go back to Ocean Village whenever I am in Tofino.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alisonf2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Ocean Village for a week. We had a great time, well kept cottages and amenities and friendly staff. We really enjoyed our walks on the beach, as well as our nightly campfires. Planning to go back next year.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarioL74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobcaygeon, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel for three nights, The hotel consists of two unit cabins (upper and lower) strung along a large beach some 3 kms south of Tofino. There are also a few single units along the beachfront. We had an upper unit that was very well appointed - very confortable bed and a large living area with two sofas and a kitchenette. The balcony overlooked the beach. There is a sizabe indoor pool and hot tub, as well as laundry facilities. Internet is available in all rooms, albeit it was slow at times.
The only drawback we found was the soundproofing - there was none!! Unfortunately we had three men in the lower unit who chose to get up at 0500 and talk and laugh loudly (and at one time sing) until they checked out at 0800. Hence no sleep after 0500.
The other nights we had no 'neighbours' so were able to sleep undisturbed.
Aside from this one drawback, the hotel is very good

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingjrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We stayed here in May for two nights with a great deal from a Groupon purchase.
We had a lower suite with a queen bed and two single beds.
I chose the lower suite thinking that the access out the sliding patio doors would be better for our kids rather than have them running up and down the stairs disturbing others upstairs. I am glad we chose the ground floor, however the upstairs neighbours could definitely be heard at 3am.
The salt water pool was lovely and warm and the hot tub temperature was just right.
The beach is fantastic and the sunrises and sunsets were spectacular. We had stayed at Bella Pacifica Campground before which is further down the beach. This was much more comfortable than tenting! :)
We were able to have a beach fire which was great.
We rented wet suits in Tofino and had some fun boogie boarding at Long Beach.
The internet access was very intermittent but was better closer to the office.
Check in and check out were quick and easy. The staff was pleasant and friendly.
Hopefully we can take advantage of another Groupon or Special Offer and return next year.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalkerTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

As part of our trip from the UK we had booked a 2 bedroom family cabin on the beach, there were six of us in total. The accommodation was great. We all had the best of times. It must be said the views are outstanding, the beach is beautiful, the sunsets sublime and the whole experience is life enhancing. The cabin we had was great, fully equipped to meet all needs and a delight to chill out, get a great nights rest, sit and have a beer while you watch the surf rolling in. The Ocean Village will live long in our memories as one of our great family holidays. Thanks for making our trip the 'time of our life'.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stumbled across Ocean Village 15 years ago, and knew we'd be back eventually! It took us a long while but we got there in the end.

The front row of single cabins had all been booked for a wedding (which turned out to be the quietest, most discrete affair imaginable until they let off a few fireworks on the beach, but even that was only at about 9pm) so we booked an upper suite.

The resort has gone very pet-friendly in recent years, and there were lots of dogs on the beach. Probably because of the large wedding group, there didn't seem to be so many around the resort. Unfortunately one of my kids is severely allergic to pet hair, and therefore hasn't had much interaction with pets, so he was rather nervous with all the animals around. The upper suites are NOT pet-friendly however, so we were all able to breathe quite happily :0)

Being boys, our kids thumped around a fair bit, despite our reminders not to leap about inside. We did at one point apologise to our downstairs neighbours only to hear the sweet words: "we were just commenting how nice it was not to constantly hear kids crashing about upstairs". The soundproofing is better than we thought!

The kids slept on day beds in the lounge area ( very quick to convert from day to night), and our bed behind the half-height wall was very comfortable. We appreciated having a fridge, microwave, oven, coffee machine etc. There were sharp knives, chopping board, saucepans, washing up liquid, even salt and pepper. Crockery came from IKEA - just like home.

One son was up at 8am to borrow a skim board, the other enjoyed making domino tracks with a set he found in the office. There was also a couple of life jackets, sand toys, and some toasting forks to make your smores on the beach in the evening.

The pool is warm, salt water. Plain rectangle, no toys, slides, diving boards etc. Probably 3 ft deep at one end, to maybe 5 ft at the other. If you need a life jacket, swim noodle, float etc you'll need to bring your own. Hot tub was HOT :)

There are two BIG industrial size BBQs available to use, each with 6-8 burners, but no lid to close, so they didn't seem to get particularly hot.

Ocean Village is the kind of place we love. No crystal glasses i'm scared the kids will break, clean and comfortable cabins with practical furniture ( no antiques to scratch!), plenty of grass for the kids to kick a ball in but small enough we could turn the kids outside without worrying about them getting lost or getting into too much trouble.

Hopefully it will be a lot less than 15 years before we're back again....if only it wasn't quite so far, and the ferry wasn't so expensive :(

Room Tip: we stayed in #41. one of the four duplexes in the front row behind the office. great beach view fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squ1zz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.8 km away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
0.2 km away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
3.2 km away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,049 reviews
2.6 km away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
1.1 km away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Village Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Village Beach Resort

Property: Ocean Village Beach Resort
Address: 555 Hellesen Drive, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tofino
#2 Family Hotel in Tofino
#2 Green Hotel in Tofino
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Village Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled comfortably on beautiful MacKenzie Beach, minutes from the picturesque village of Tofino. Our property is ideally located for guests to enjoy all of the activities this breathtaking area has to offer. Unobstructed views and direct beach access from your oceanfront cabin. Renovated and updated for maximum comfort, our iconic “beehive” cabins are available year-round at affordable, family-friendly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Village Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Village Beach Hotel Tofino
Ocean Village Beach Resort Tofino, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing