We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we stayed here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Alberta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
495 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 464 helpful votes
“Glad we stayed here!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The newly renovated cabins were a delight to stay in. The bed, full kitchen and bathroom were all great. Being right on the beach was wonderful. We had a main floor room and the ocean view was perfect. The Resort doesn't support TV, radio or clocks (although the stove clock served us well). There is Wi-Fi available, but the signal is very week. If you need to contact someone by e-mail, there is just enough strength to receive and send your e-mail. We were close to the main office, so I assumed the signal would be strong enough, but I was wrong. There wasn't a closet in our room, so the hooks and nails where sufficient to hang your clothes (bring your own hangers). The beach was wonderful and being so close to Tofino and other beaches made this a wonderful two night stay!

Room Tip: I think every room gives you a great view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wbsAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    833
    254
    46
    20
    8
See reviews for
518
443
32
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tofino, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

I've stayed in Tofino many times but this was my first time at Ocean Village. We were looking for a cheaper room and got our top floor studio for $100. We didn't have high expectations for that price but were pleasantly surprised by our beautiful room. It was spacious with vaulted ceilings a very nice bathroom and a comfortable couch that pulled out into a bed if needed. We loved our patio and kitchenette as well. Of you book a room here, make sure to get a top floor suite as their nicer.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MissAxiom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We had an upper studio with an amazing view on the beach. The room is spacious and cosy with many wooden elements. We also used the swimming pool and jacuzzi, which were both enjoyable. The staff were very helpful with recommendations and booking a whale watching trip. The town is very close (by car) and hence staying on this beautiful beach is better than in the town itself (especially that it's not busy at all at night). Sitting on the deck while watching the sunset is unforgettable!

Room Tip: A room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weeboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Loved everything about is place. Was here 30yrs ago and loved it then. Was not enjoying all the dogs on the beach. They now allow pets. Great for dog owners not for the others. Staff were great and we lucked out with beautiful weather. Would recommend. FYI there are no phones, TV or clock radios in the room, total relaxation.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdimond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My wife and I spent our honeymoon in an upper studio on the waterfront. The hotel gave us a nice postcard and a bottle of wine for our occasion. The room smelled wonderful like a wood cabin. The shower and bed were so comfortable... and those are really the most important parts when finding suitable accomodations. There is a small but full kitchen. Coffee maker microwave and toaster all worked great. Our studio was on the waterfront we had a great view of the ocean. The beach is only a few steps away which made for great pictures. The area was very quiet and enjoyable. Tofino is only minutes away. The pool is large and perfect temperature and a nice sized jacuzzi tub.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return kn our anniversary

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpeters8604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

For so many reasons...when we decided to renew our wedding vows (after 10 years of marriage, almost 16 together) we knew we wanted to have the ceremony in a place that would be symbolic of all we have overcome as we have celebrated life's ups and triumphed over the downs, and an injury to a family member (one we are grateful wasn't fatal). We knew the ocean and all it's powerful glory would be the perfect partner in our vows, and the vibe in Tofino would help make the whole event more than memorable. But where to stay? Camping, not a good choice since a wedding dress came along for the trip. We stumbled upon Ocean Village online...how to express how glad we are that serendipitous discovery happened!? Driving onto the property is magical, to see the quaint little cabins all lined up with the ocean waves crashing on the beach just mere footsteps away!!! Everything was so clean, and the lawns so beautifully kept, the natural beauty of the area is perfectly blended with how the buildings are laid out...the kids (10 and 9) were besides themselves when they finally saw the building with the pool and hot tub!
To the front desk we go, and there we meet Kim! Who was so patient while we hoped to be able to move from a garden view to an ocean view cabin. Not only was she patient, but she made it happen! Cabin #8 became our home for the next few nights! We arrived quite a bit before the 3pm check in time, and were quite content to wander by the ocean until our room was ready, we certainly didn't expect anyone to have to rush because we were anxious. But Kim took our cell number, and said she'd call when our cabin was ready. We walked by cabin #8, and were so happily surprised to see a lovely young lady already working on getting it ready for us. We walked along the beach for what was less than a 1/2 hour, and our cell rang, our cabin was ready! Above and beyond customer service to say the least!
Walking into the cabin was all I hoped for! Big bed for us, two pull out style beds for the kids, a beautiful bathroom, with a huge tub, complimentary shower products, lovely towels, and room to spread out our own toiletries. Full kitchen stocked with all you'd need for meals (equipment wise) and some very yummy coffee! Our dog even had some treats waiting, and a dish, and a towel which became his place to dry off from the ocean side walks. On the table for us, a complimentary bottle of wine and a congrats card for our vow renewals. Cabins are so clean, nice laminate floors that are easy to sweep, and electric heat!!! The location, out of town while simply being a quick drive into town is quite the appeal as well!!!
The emotions of the trip for us ran high, our vow renewals were significant in recognition of all we went through, Kim helped tie a beautiful bow around it all, with how much she simply seemed to care that we were well taken care of. The kids spent so much time in the pool, they loved it!
Thank you Ocean Village for allowing us all the memories we hoped would be created by this trip.
PS: reading this back to my hubby he simply said "Kim is so awesome, I can't say enough"
For us, Ocean Village offered it all, family friendly surroundings, perfect customer service and memories that for lack of a better cliche will last a lifetime. Even for our little shih tzu, who while running on the beach got to practise being a real dog!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Ocean Village is the perfect place for our family getaways! The recent renos on the cabins make them cozy, inviting, and have all the amenities we need. The staff is super friendly and keep the cabins and grounds clean and well maintained. Plenty for the kids to do with the pool, hot tub, and the beach just steps away. A bonus is the BBQs that are available for guests to use. We have stayed at Ocean Village 4 times in the last 3 years and I can't see us ever staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Any suite or cabin is great but the front row is heavenly! Steps from the beach. Definitely worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.8 km away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
0.2 km away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
3.2 km away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,047 reviews
2.6 km away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
1.1 km away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Village Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Village Beach Resort

Property: Ocean Village Beach Resort
Address: 555 Hellesen Drive, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tofino
#2 Green Hotel in Tofino
#2 Family Hotel in Tofino
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Village Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled comfortably on beautiful MacKenzie Beach, minutes from the picturesque village of Tofino. Our property is ideally located for guests to enjoy all of the activities this breathtaking area has to offer. Unobstructed views and direct beach access from your oceanfront cabin. Renovated and updated for maximum comfort, our iconic “beehive” cabins are available year-round at affordable, family-friendly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Village Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Village Beach Hotel Tofino
Ocean Village Beach Resort Tofino, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing