We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This was our 4th stay here. The rooms are newly renovated and we were impressed . You can't beat having a room right on MacKenzie Beach.We BBQ one of our dinners there ,There are 2 large BBQ on site. Your close to Tofino and Long Beach. We find Ocean Village always has good rates and a great location.

Room Tip: Any room on the beach .38,40
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,009 - 1,015 of 1,259 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

Ocean Village was our choice for a quiet 'storm-watching' weekend in November. Who would have thought that the weather on the west coast of Vancouver Island could be so mild and peaceful? Although there were no storms we still found many other ways to enjoy this part of the world. Unit #45 is a single unit with a bedroom, kitchenette, modern bathroom, gas fireplace and Wi Fi. There is no TV and no radio, which is a plus for us since it provided fewer distractions. There is a pool on site which we did not use. The beach is wide and sandy, perfect for kids and dogs. When we were there the property was quiet with a few other guests, so if you're looking for a time and place for reflection then November is the time and Ocean Village is the place.

Room Tip: Cabins at the front are all single units - the ones at back have units up and down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IamKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We loved this place! Our one bedroom cottage was perfect for our family: two adults, a 4 1/2 year old and our giant yellow Labrador. We were met with a lovely doggy welcome package; the staff and facilities were excellent; and the beach - thank you Mother Nature!!! Despite the on and off rain, we had two campfires on the beach right in front of our cottage. Note to hikers: there is NO LIGHTHOUSE at the end of the Tofino Lighthouse Trail!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Girl-with-no-name
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at Ocean Village and had a great time! After a few friends told us about the place we thought we'd check it out next time we made it to Tofino. We're so glad we did cause we found it to be the perfect spot to kick back and relax! The location is very central with the beaches on one side and town on the other, everything seemed super close. We stayed in an Upper Studio which was well equipped, extremely clean and cozy, and had a lovely view of the ocean. The amenities on site were also great! The salt water pool and hot tub were an added bonus after a chilly surf and the BBQ area was a fantastic option to grill up a quick dinner. We're pretty laid back travellers who usually keep to ourselves but we found the staff were very friendly, outgoing and clearly hardworking. Service was very genuine and helpful, the girls at the front desk were kind enough to recommend a few local eateries which we enjoyed thoroughly. Check in and out were a breeze which is appreciated after a long journey and when you're headed back to catch the ferry. We would definitely stay here again and will be thanking our friends for the recommendation, as well as telling others!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderer130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My Wife and I were looking for a nice 2 day getaway for Thursday, November 14th and 15th 2013. I called Jamie at Ocean Village on Wednesday mid afternoon to enquire about rates. I asked if they had vacancy for the dates requested which they did. I mentioned that we had a hypoallergenic small indoor dog and was also looking for a friends and family rate or best rate available since they had rooms to sell. She wasn't sure what she could do for us. I gave her our phone number and asked her to please let us know. I did not receive a call back and the following day we headed out for Tofino. We arrived at the Information Centre in Tofino and they called Ocean Village for us. Apparently they had an 8 hour power outage and she wasn't able to call us back, however, she didn't even remember me calling ?? After negotiating rates back and forth with her, she offered us a rate of $119.00 plus tax which included our pet instead of charging the $20 per night pet fee. We accepted and drove over. When we arrived, Jamie said that she could not offer the room without charging the $20 pet fee. The rate she offered was $124 plus $20 pet fee. The internet rate was $119.00. I felt taken advantage of and the staff there didn't seem to care. I had managed hotels for 21 years plus and I have never encountered this before. We quietly left and stayed elsewhere enjoying our 2 days at another Beachfront Resort who valued our business during the shoulder and or off season. I'm sure that if we were treated fairly, we would have stayed and enjoyed it very much. The Beach and views are spectacular. One word of advice for the staff, if you offer a rate to your guests, you should stick to it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
5  Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanejon, General Manager at Ocean Village Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review, I'm really sorry to hear about your experience. I'd like to point out that our receptionist Jaime is a fantastic employee. I regularly receive positive feedback about her efforts from guests and staff alike.

Ocean Village offers some of the most affordable beachfront rates in Tofino. Like most resorts we have non-negotiable pet fees regardless of size and coat. I'm sorry if that wasn't communicated clearly to you at the information centre, and I apologize for any confusion over the nightly rate.

We certainly value our guests, no matter what time of year.

Again I do apologize about your experience, if you would like to continue this discussion please feel free to contact me directly at shane@oceanvillageresort.com

Regards,
Shane Richards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This was our third stay in about four years. It was a family event for our wedding and booked six one bedroom cabins for our adult children for varying amounts of time. Our stay was ten days. These are great little cozy cabins and you can't find anything much closer to the beach in Tofino. No TV and that's just fine. Maybe bring a radio to listen to Long Beach radio (90.1 FM) - a gem of a small town radio station. The cabin is not what you could call "plush" but it lacks nothing- clean and comfortable and fully equipped kitchen set-up. If you want plush, check into a Fairmont for big dollars, I guess. Ocean Village is priced right and everyone we hosted was very happy with their stay
Friendly, attentive hard working staff. Beautifully maintained grounds. The public barbecue area has two large commercial type barbecues which we didn't use but will try another time. One disappointment - tried to reserve for a week at Christmas but no 1BR cabin available. Darn!!!
WE WILL BE BACK FOR SURE.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was one of the highlights of our 2 month trip to Canada. We were in a 1 bedroom cabin situated right on the beach and had the most amazing view. It was very cosy, particularly on a cold rainy evening sitting on the couch beside the fireplace and looking out at the ocean. The cabin was very comfortable and quiet and located a short drive from the village and a number of tourist activities and also handy to hiking trails within the national park. Would recommend it for a quiet relaxing getaway or base for hiking the trails in the area

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.2 km away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
3.2 km away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
2.0 km away
Meares Vista Inn
Meares Vista Inn
#13 of 16 in Tofino
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
328 reviews
0.8 km away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,083 reviews
2.6 km away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Village Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Village Beach Resort

Address: 555 Hellesen Drive, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tofino
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#2 Family Hotel in Tofino
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
Price Range: $147 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Village Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled comfortably on beautiful MacKenzie Beach, minutes from the picturesque village of Tofino. Our property is ideally located for guests to enjoy all of the activities this breathtaking area has to offer. Unobstructed views and direct beach access from your oceanfront cabin. Renovated and updated for maximum comfort, our iconic “beehive” cabins are available year-round at affordable, family-friendly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Village Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Village Beach Hotel Tofino
Ocean Village Beach Resort Tofino, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing