We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (262)
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveller rating
111
82
37
16
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
82
37
16
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rocky beach studio room bed frame adirondack chairs watch the sun nice balcony short walk mini fridge bed was very comfortable two nights an amazing view view from the balcony long weekend on the rocks tide pools upper floor downtown tofino
Filter
Updating list...
208 - 213 of 262 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2011

I gave two points for this hotel mainly because of the price-quality ratio. The property is not bad in general, but it's rather a motel with a beautiful view than a resort, the name is certainly misleading. And so is the price. There are studios with a kitchen, single, separated cabins, and rooms. We stayed in a room, which was located in a six-room motel-like building with two floors. The rooms are small and the walls are very thin - you hear everything from the rooms around you, luckily the people near us were quiet types. Inside there is a (rather small for two people) bed, a sofa, a small table and a wooden cupboard hiding a TV, a fridge and a coffee maker, and two drawers (in each one there was a large extra pillow so no space to put your things anywhere). The clothes one has to hang on an open rack above another tiny table (only short clothes of course, long ones like dresses would obviously not fit). The bathroom was small and rather basic, with a bath tub and a very bad shower head spitting separate streams of water - not very handy for washing long hair, and perhaps not handy at all. It was impossible to adjust it.
The only bonus was a large balcony with a small table and two rattan chairs and a wonderful view over a bay at the end of the village.
Another minus was the overal feeling of shabbyness: the wooden boards leading to the building were falling apart and needed painting and reparation. The parking was not existent (enough for a few cars only). The two separate cabins, while in an absolutely beautiful location down at the bay, surrounded by rocks and vegetation, looked as if they were going to fall apart. In fact, the first time we saw them, we thought they were old and forgotten storage units before we realized that people were actually staying in them!
Also, as someone already remarked, the bed-sheets are dark brown, which does not help, and the towels are dark blue and gave a strange mouldy or cigarette-like smell. I did not feel good using them, however they might have been clean. White towels and sheets would certainly give a better impression.
The room service was symbolic: the bed was made up and the toilet paper end was folded - the rather useless part of the room service. While the more essential parts were left undone - the coffee cup was not cleaned, some of the garbage were not removed and the towel was not changed - as I had a feeling it was not clean (because of the strange smell), I left it on the bathroom floor in a puddle of mud (it was not easy to have a shower without splashing some water on the ground) in hope it would be changed, but in the evening I found it back on the rack. Who would pick up a dirty towel from a mud puddle and put it back again without changing it??? I then requested a new one and got it without a problem. The smell was the same, so perhaps it's the place they dry them or keep them - it's quite humid and mouldy all over the property and the room had a faint mouldy smell too. The climate is to blame of course, but not only.
The breakfast was not provided, which I found surprising considering the price - it was the same as at the Best Western in Tofino, which has a pool and probably cleaner rooms...
So again, the location is great (in the center of Tofino village, near the shops and cafes), the view is fabulous, but the rest is overpriced and shabby. For a price of a motel it would be fine, but the name 'resort' and the price do create some expectations...

Date of stay: August 2011
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Priya777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Tofino sure has changed in the last 10 years. The restaurants have all gone up-market, the real estate prices are out of this world, there are new resorts everywhere, and BMWs now outnumber VW camper vans. So how to review a place that has not followed the trend? Duffin Cove Resort is probably the easiest place to find in Canada - take Highway 1 west. Get on a ferry and heep going west. When you can't drive any further, get out of your car and check in. The property is right at the end of the main street in Tofino, but is surrounded by trees and overlooks the ocean, with a view of islands and rocks and not much else. There are three kinds of accomodation. Two A-frames sit near a rocky beach in a little cove. There is a six-roomed complex like a mini-motel, each unit with a balcony that overlooks the ocean view. And finally a set of self-catering suites a little higher up. Based on what we saw, we would recommend the A-frames for a larger group and the little motel-like units for couples. That's where we stayed. In addition to the balcony and a fabulous view, the room includes a fridge, coffee and tea making supplies, reasonable amount of drawer space, no closet space, and a bathroom. Decor is Motel 6 from the 1980's, but who cares - the bed is comfortable, the fridge works, and the room is clean. Better still, you can open the balcony door and go to sleep to the sound of the waves on the rocks below, and get up in the mroning and watch the eagles while you have your coffee. It is incredibly peaceful.
The location is very convenient for exploring Tofino - shops, restaurants, and tour boats within a five miniute walk. Best of all, none of the nouveau riche from Vancouver want to stay here, so it's a nice mix of foreigners and more down-to-earth Canadians.

Room tip: Best views are from the upper rooms in the six-roomed complex overlooking the ocean
Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank old-jogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We made an internet booking for 5 nights - noting that recent reviews seemed to indicate it was worth a stay. However, as soon as we arrived and saw the room we realised we had made a mistake and didn't even stay one night. The room was just not up to scratch and whilst the view was good, it couldn't make up for the tired decor and lack of facilities - none of my family wanted to stay! Thankfully we managed to find alternative accommodation - of infinitely higher standard and at a cheaper rate. We lost our first night's deposit - but it was worth it to not have to stay here.

Date of stay: July 2011
Trip type: Travelled with family
9  Thank Andy_in_Salisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2011

On our four week trip around British Columbia and Alberta we spent three nights in Tofino on Vancouver Island. As we looked for accommodation on fairly short notice (one week in advance) we weren't surprised that pretty much EVERY B&B or hotel was booked.

The Duffin Cove was the only place we could find which had vacancies and having stayed there we now know why. Although I had read the bad comments on Tripadvisor we thouht we'd give it a go and it was SO NOT WORTH IT!

Firstly, the room was in rather poor condition. The furniture was worn and old and there was an awful smell in the room which we couldn't get rid of although we tried. The view is very nice but it certainly doesn't make up for the room. Everything seemed a bit dirty and not well kept at all. It's also important to know that it's NOT a B&B as there is no breakfast available.

The biggest disappointment was the price though. We paid far too much for this room. It was our 8th B&B/Hotel on our trip and never had we paid so much for so little. As a comparison: We had stayed at the Shangri-La Hotel in Vancouver the nights before which is a top-range hotel and at 265 CAD we only paid 80CAD less for the Duffin Cove. The Duffin Cove certainly doesn't deserve RESORT in its name!

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
8  Thank Co-Pilotin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2011

This place is a triumph of marketing over quality. It's the most expensive place we've stayed in Canada and also probably the worst - a motel would be better than the garden studio we stayed in. We arrived to find half the blinds missing in the window, with a family in a tent outside so we we were completely overlooked. Th plumbing is very noisy, the bed tiny, the bath is tiny and not marble...
The best I can say is that the owner gave us a generous refund when we said we were not happy. We moved out after one night. We've now found a nicer place in a b&b that is one
third the price.
To try to make this constructive I would say that the following needs improving
-make all double beds queens - our bed was the smallest we've stayed in;
-make sure you have good blinds, or even better, curtains, in all rooms, when guests arrive;
-check rooms to make sure they're ok before guests arrive - ours was not!
-Clean places properly, ours was dirty;
- sort out the noisy plumbing;
- you need hooks for towels etc...

But thank you for the refund, very much appreciated.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stb313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews