We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs an update, but even a cleaning would help.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2012

The floors were not swept, there were ring marks left on the coffee table. I asked for dish soap and they told me to go get some from the Coop. The bedding was clean and comfortable and it is a nice location being right on the ocean, and walking distance to town. I told my kids to leave their shoes on when they were inside the unit. The deck would have been nice if it wasn't covered in leaves and spiderwebs. I won't go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jolene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2012

bring your tent and clean up in a gas station bathroom...you'll save $380/night with no difference in quality.

pros: nice view, close to tofino. Pet friendly (but it resembles a kennel, so this makes sense).

cons: too much to list here, but here is the short version. Room quality is like an abandoned squat that you stumbled upon while looking for crack. Dirty carpeting that gets progressively and mysteriously wetter during your visit. Leave your flip flops on the deck...and a nocturnal creature scurries off with them. Enough dead bugs in the window sills and light fixtures to fill a shopping bag. Cabin is next to the grey waste water that dumps into bay and runs over the beach directly in front of the deck about 6 times/day. Light switch covers broken and exposing live wires. Linens have got to be garage sale 50 cent items, but at least they are brown to hide the hairs, beetles, and dirt. Staff is nice but very unprofessional...like a bunch of kids just doing enough to stay in business.

The worst and most expensive place i have ever stayed in Canada. This place cost more than the Banff Springs, Jasper Park Lodge, or the Empress. TOTAL RIP-OFF.

Room Tip: stay away at all costs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank 12FootDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

The Duffin Cove was not a fancy resort, but is well priced and has a good location. The six-plex overlooks the ocean and was both clean and quiet. The customer service was polite and timely. Some of the rooms have kitchettes and there is a co-op grocery store just down the street. A pharmacy and post office are around the corner. If you plan on being in Tofino to see the Whales, chances are that you won’t be spending much time in your hotel room, so reasonably priced accomidations may be what your looking for. I would stay at this location again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Family sent us to Tofino for our 40th wedding anniversary. Spent 2 nights here. Went to Meares Island to walk around the hugh trees. Had a wonderful dinner out. Missed the floatplane ride we were suposed to go on, as the weather turned foggy that day. Overall a great weekend.
Our cabin was in a small bay, that you walked down to. It was clean, but the building itself needs some work. Windows need replacing , balcony needs work, roof needs work. Rustic, but clean. Sat on the balcony for 3 hours watching the sun go down, waves crashing. I also think they should provide the cabins with firewood, we had to climb the 40 steps and bring it down ourselves. Airtight stoves would be better, as what they have just burns everything too quickly.
Regardless, I would stay there again, but my husband says no. I believe the place is up for sale, so hopfully any new owner would put some more $ into it, and it would be wonderful!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ria3896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Spent the day on Vancouver Island and ended up driving to Tofino on a whim, in search of sandy beaches. We were not expecting anything more than a clean bed and room and weren't disappointed: the room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The view was beyond expectations! Was actually a welcome change to NOT have hotel bedding and towels-made it seem more like home. Our intent was to get some sleep and explore the area in the a.m. We could hear the crashing waves when we checked in (approx 10p) but it wasn't until dawn that we could see the real beauty. Perched above a small cove, nestled in rainforest-like beauty, we were very pleased. At check-in, the young lady told us she had rain jackets for us to use in the morning. In the morning, another young lady showed us how to access all the beaches-the ones with the shortest walk to access as it was pouring rain outside. The room was typical of cabin decor. A loveseat, 2 nightstands, and a small desk/ table with only one chair. The balcony had 2 adirondack chairs. The bathroom had a deep soaking tub although water pressure was sorely lacking, hot water was abundant, Wish we would have had more time to explore the area because it is highly unlikely we will ever return to British Columbia. The ride to Tofino, on Rt 4-the only road in or out was very beautiful. No phone or internet and we didn't miss having either!

Room Tip: Great off-season rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimplieJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We spent a couple of nights in one of Duffin Cove's oceanfront cabins. It was a nice little A-frame perched just above a rocky beach in small steep-sided cove overlooking the water. It was very private, accessible via a 50 step staircase and boardwalk, with only one other cabin nearby. We picked it at the last minute because it was pet friendly ($20 extra per night), had a kitchenette, and was available.

The queen bed was smallish but comfy, the place was warm and cozy, and our view through the glass front of the cabin was very picturesque. There was a wood stove and a propane torch thoughtfully provided to help get it started. A really sharp ax, a chopping block and a plastic bin full of split, dry logs were located just outside on the deck.

The interior of the cabin was dated--it reminded me of pretty much every family cabin I've ever stayed in--everything was functional, but had a mismatched, second-hand kind of look. You could call it charming, or run down depending on whether you're a glass half-full or half-empty kind of person.

Some the light fixtures were missing bits and there were a number of small repairs and fix-ups that could be done to spruce the place up a bit. Certainly a mat for your muddy boots and coat rack for wet jackets by the door would be great convenience for off-season visitors like us.

The location in relation to the town of Tofino is super! Duffin Cove is essentially right at the end of the main drag, so it's a short walk to the Co-op, the Fish Store and everywhere else you might want to go. If you've ever stayed out at Pacific Sands or Wikininnish you'll know how you have to drive to and from the town, or cab it if you want to raise a few at one of the local watering holes.

All in all we had a short, but very pleasant stay. Dined and drank at Shelter on our first night (and were able to leave the car and walk home). The next night we boiled fresh crab from the Fish Store on one of the outdoor grills, and had a sumptuous indoor picnic on gourmet meats and cheese we picked up at the Co-op--all while enjoying the panorama of wind swept trees and crashing waves provided by the floor to ceiling windows at the front of the cabin . Would we stay here again? In a pinch for sure, or happily with friends who'd take the loft and share the cost. ; )

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Stayed in a suite with 2 rooms and a separate living area (kitchen/lounge) with my husband and 3 friends. The rooms were comfortable and the hotel is in a great location - the views are absolutely amazing with a private walkway down to the cove, and only a short walk into town. Unfortunately, when we arrived the was a power outage that lasted until10pm so our idea of cooking dinner at the resort (oven and microwave in room) was not going to happen. We did find this place rather expensive at $313 for 5 people sharing one suite, especially since we didn't have any power until after 10pm (no cooking, no hot drinks, no lights, no hot water and no discount off the price either).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
2.4 km away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
5.8 km away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
2.6 km away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
3.7 km away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
335 reviews
0.7 km away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging

Address: 215 Campbell Street, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range: $114 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hugging the west coastline of Vancouver Island, Duffin Cove Resort boasts an air of rustic charm and West Coast flavour with waterfront cabins, studios and suites nestled in a remote rainforest setting...yet only one block from downtown Tofino. The unique character setting and location allows the quiet solitude to relax, explore the shoreline and enjoy West Coast living...Yet only walking distance to dining, shopping and other interesting adventures. Get away from civilization and into the quiet lifestyle of West Coast living. You will find us at "The end of the road!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duffin Cove Hotel Tofino
Duffin Cove Tofino
Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging Tofino, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing