We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (261)
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveller rating
110
82
37
16
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
82
37
16
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrocky beachstudio roomadirondack chairsnice balconywatch the sunthe sofa bedan amazing viewmini fridgeview from the balconyon the rocksupper floorlong weekenddowntown tofinoliving areabeautiful locationbald eaglesstayed for nights
Filter
Updating list...
198 - 203 of 261 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2012

bring your tent and clean up in a gas station bathroom...you'll save $380/night with no difference in quality.

pros: nice view, close to tofino. Pet friendly (but it resembles a kennel, so this makes sense).

cons: too much to list here, but here is the short version. Room quality is like an abandoned squat that you stumbled upon while looking for crack. Dirty carpeting that gets progressively and mysteriously wetter during your visit. Leave your flip flops on the deck...and a nocturnal creature scurries off with them. Enough dead bugs in the window sills and light fixtures to fill a shopping bag. Cabin is next to the grey waste water that dumps into bay and runs over the beach directly in front of the deck about 6 times/day. Light switch covers broken and exposing live wires. Linens have got to be garage sale 50 cent items, but at least they are brown to hide the hairs, beetles, and dirt. Staff is nice but very unprofessional...like a bunch of kids just doing enough to stay in business.

The worst and most expensive place i have ever stayed in Canada. This place cost more than the Banff Springs, Jasper Park Lodge, or the Empress. TOTAL RIP-OFF.

Room Tip: stay away at all costs...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank 12FootDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The Duffin Cove was not a fancy resort, but is well priced and has a good location. The six-plex overlooks the ocean and was both clean and quiet. The customer service was polite and timely. Some of the rooms have kitchettes and there is a co-op grocery store just down the street. A pharmacy and post office are around the corner. If you plan on being in Tofino to see the Whales, chances are that you won’t be spending much time in your hotel room, so reasonably priced accomidations may be what your looking for. I would stay at this location again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Family sent us to Tofino for our 40th wedding anniversary. Spent 2 nights here. Went to Meares Island to walk around the hugh trees. Had a wonderful dinner out. Missed the floatplane ride we were suposed to go on, as the weather turned foggy that day. Overall a great weekend.
Our cabin was in a small bay, that you walked down to. It was clean, but the building itself needs some work. Windows need replacing , balcony needs work, roof needs work. Rustic, but clean. Sat on the balcony for 3 hours watching the sun go down, waves crashing. I also think they should provide the cabins with firewood, we had to climb the 40 steps and bring it down ourselves. Airtight stoves would be better, as what they have just burns everything too quickly.
Regardless, I would stay there again, but my husband says no. I believe the place is up for sale, so hopfully any new owner would put some more $ into it, and it would be wonderful!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ria3896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Spent the day on Vancouver Island and ended up driving to Tofino on a whim, in search of sandy beaches. We were not expecting anything more than a clean bed and room and weren't disappointed: the room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The view was beyond expectations! Was actually a welcome change to NOT have hotel bedding and towels-made it seem more like home. Our intent was to get some sleep and explore the area in the a.m. We could hear the crashing waves when we checked in (approx 10p) but it wasn't until dawn that we could see the real beauty. Perched above a small cove, nestled in rainforest-like beauty, we were very pleased. At check-in, the young lady told us she had rain jackets for us to use in the morning. In the morning, another young lady showed us how to access all the beaches-the ones with the shortest walk to access as it was pouring rain outside. The room was typical of cabin decor. A loveseat, 2 nightstands, and a small desk/ table with only one chair. The balcony had 2 adirondack chairs. The bathroom had a deep soaking tub although water pressure was sorely lacking, hot water was abundant, Wish we would have had more time to explore the area because it is highly unlikely we will ever return to British Columbia. The ride to Tofino, on Rt 4-the only road in or out was very beautiful. No phone or internet and we didn't miss having either!

Room Tip: Great off-season rates
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimplieJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We spent a couple of nights in one of Duffin Cove's oceanfront cabins. It was a nice little A-frame perched just above a rocky beach in small steep-sided cove overlooking the water. It was very private, accessible via a 50 step staircase and boardwalk, with only one other cabin nearby. We picked it at the last minute because it was pet friendly ($20 extra per night), had a kitchenette, and was available.

The queen bed was smallish but comfy, the place was warm and cozy, and our view through the glass front of the cabin was very picturesque. There was a wood stove and a propane torch thoughtfully provided to help get it started. A really sharp ax, a chopping block and a plastic bin full of split, dry logs were located just outside on the deck.

The interior of the cabin was dated--it reminded me of pretty much every family cabin I've ever stayed in--everything was functional, but had a mismatched, second-hand kind of look. You could call it charming, or run down depending on whether you're a glass half-full or half-empty kind of person.

Some the light fixtures were missing bits and there were a number of small repairs and fix-ups that could be done to spruce the place up a bit. Certainly a mat for your muddy boots and coat rack for wet jackets by the door would be great convenience for off-season visitors like us.

The location in relation to the town of Tofino is super! Duffin Cove is essentially right at the end of the main drag, so it's a short walk to the Co-op, the Fish Store and everywhere else you might want to go. If you've ever stayed out at Pacific Sands or Wikininnish you'll know how you have to drive to and from the town, or cab it if you want to raise a few at one of the local watering holes.

All in all we had a short, but very pleasant stay. Dined and drank at Shelter on our first night (and were able to leave the car and walk home). The next night we boiled fresh crab from the Fish Store on one of the outdoor grills, and had a sumptuous indoor picnic on gourmet meats and cheese we picked up at the Co-op--all while enjoying the panorama of wind swept trees and crashing waves provided by the floor to ceiling windows at the front of the cabin . Would we stay here again? In a pinch for sure, or happily with friends who'd take the loft and share the cost. ; )

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews