We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, friendly service just far enough from Tofino not to be crazy busy. ”

Jamie's Restaurant and Lounge
Ranked #18 of 57 Restaurants in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

We choose Jamie's when planning our trip. Based on reviews and location. We were completely satisfied.
I started with the Thai Chowder and if you only go for that you will be blown away. The family shared chicken wings and actually placed a second order as they were so good. West coast spaghetti, special of the day (Halibut) and the regular fresh salmon feature rounded out the entrees.
The spaghetti is a bit spicy for kids so steer them away from that.
The salmon and specials were amazing. The one starter salad was a nice fresh variety which included beets for a nice flavour touch.
Never got near dessert. Portions were perfect.
Highly recommend a stop and there is lots of parking.

Thank Freemikejs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamiesRainforestInn, Host at Jamie's Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Excellent! Your group tried a good variety and had some very thoughtful comments. Great to hear that you were so satisfied. We take pride in having meat on our flavorful chicken wings. We hope you'll come again and definitely try some of the desserts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2017

Probably the best breakfast in Tofino! Friendly and cheerful staff who clearly enjoy their work and go above and beyond to please their guests. The dinner menu was excellent also in fact we did not even bother going anywhere else. That good.

Thank 1968kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamiesRainforestInn, Host at Jamie's Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Our staff represents a key part of Jamie's success so thank you for noticing. There are some great spots to eat out in Tofino, and we're happy to hear that people consistently consider our restaurant one of the best.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

We arrived today and because of some trouble and miscommunication in our hotel, we had no place to eat for dinner. Luckily we got a reservation here (we are a group of 19 people, so not your average amount of guests). The food was delicious. I had the pasta with seafood, it was very good and at a fair price! You should definitely try it when you are in the neighbourhood

Thank SofieDD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamiesRainforestInn, Host at Jamie's Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Sofie, we're glad to hear that we were able to help. We do our best to accommodate big groups when surprises like this come up. I will pass on your kind words to the chef, he works hard to keep things tasty! We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed this place. Good food with lots of choice. Well presented food and varied menu from fish to salads to burgers. Something here for everyone. Inside and outside seating. Good choice of beers and all good value. Has a nice 'local bar' feeling.

Thank Knight0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamiesRainforestInn, Host at Jamie's Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience! We certainly like being a local spot, it gives our guests a greater feeling of being a part of Tofino. Our menu adapts a little with the seasons but we try to keep a good variety, in food and beers!

Come on by next time you're in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

We had read the reviews, and although Jamie's was somewhat out of our way, we drove out from Tofino on a Sunday evening, expecting that we would either have to wait for a table or be turned away. We were somewhat surprised, on a Sunday evening, that the place was virtually empty - only a couple of other tables occupied. The view from our table was out some patio doors into a yard of some kind, with the back of sheds (?) so it was better just looking around the dining room. It was a good dining experience, but not a great one. Service was okay - she was paying more attention to the table of motorcyclists (perhaps anticipating a more tips from them), but she did get the job done. Fish and chips were okay - a lot of batter on the fish, and I'm pretty sure it wasn't fresh from the sea - perhaps fresh from the freezer. On the other hand, my wife's salmon was creative and attractive, and she said it was very good. It took a while for the check and handheld machine to arrive, so the tip kind of diminished as the waiting time increased. I wouldn't bother going back again - there are lots of better options, most with a view, in the area.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 404HappyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamiesRainforestInn, Host at Jamie's Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for sharing. We are concerned to hear that you felt your service was lacking, and will make note of that. Our patio is quite a popular spot in the summer, hopefully the sun was out for you!

If you do find yourself in Tofino again we'd certainly be happy to have another chance to show you our best side.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jamie's Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to Jamie's Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing