We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal in the Great Room”
Review of The Great Room

The Great Room
Ranked #16 of 53 Restaurants in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Resort guests, visitors to Tofino and local residents are welcomed in the Great Room and during the summer on the SandBar Bistro patio. Long Beach Lodge Resort offers inspired cuisine with inspiring Pacific vistas 7:30am to 10pm daily. The Resort's location on the edge of Cox Bay, offers breathtaking ocean views from the wild and beautiful west coast that is unique to Vancouver Island. Equally spectacular is the impressive interior architecture of the Great Room. The open concept enables uninterrupted views of nature while the modern furnishings, wood accents and fireplace features provide the warmth and feeling of a living room setting.
West Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great meal in the Great Room”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Go to the Great Room and enjoy the comfort and view while sipping from a great selection of wines and dinning on some of the best food in Tofino.
They will create some wonderful Vegan dishes for you as well. We always have a least one dinner at the Long Beach Lodge. Over the years has been consistently good. You can always count of them.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FergusVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    125
    40
    21
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, great view.”
Reviewed 27 March 2012


Great food and service. Right on the beach with spectacular views.

It was nice to see Alderlea wines on the list.

My dinner was cooked perfectly and it was nice to see many fresh local products on the menu.

Dessert was well executed as well, and our server had many friendly helpful suggestions not just about the menu, but about our stay in Tofino.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PassionatePeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowichan Bay, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Splendid”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

THE FOOD WAS AMAZING AND THE SERVICE WAS EXCELLENT. I highly recommend experiencing this restaurant at least once. During our stay at Long Beach Lodge Resort we decided when we come back to Tofino it will be to this resort and to this restaurant. The experience was superb and the view was to die for.
Thank you to the staff at Long Beach Resort for making all of our holiday a great experience.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichelleM167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Squamish, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing sunset dinner”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We loved everything...the food, the setting and the service!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank ccharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Amazing view...too bad about the food”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The room is lovely, the view of Cox Bay is out of this world, and the service is pretty good too. But the food is an ongoing disappointment...really underwhelming. Missed opportunity by the hotel for sure....but I do recommend this spot for a sunset cocktail before heading out for dinner elsewhere. The setting is worth a visit...and they do a cool spin on Ceasars.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SusieQpacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Great Room also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to The Great Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing